We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Promised so much, delivered a lot less”
Review of Tirohana Estate

Tirohana Estate
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $43
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Overlooking the boutique vineyard to the hills beyond, enjoy lunch or dinner in this atmospheric and elegant setting complete with original New Zealand artwork and evocative music. A roaring fire in the winter and doors thrown open to the warm breeze in the warmer months, a sunny terrace and outdoor seating. Large groups and corporate clients welcome by arrangement. Seasonal menus utilising the best of the local produce with an emphasis on organic and sustainable produce. Special diets catered for.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Promised so much, delivered a lot less”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

We arrived on a busy Saturday night and were seated next to 3 large and very noisy groups. Wait staff were attentive.

Our food was average at best and for the first time in my life, I sent the main course back to the kitchen. The Angus beef hot pot was served luke-warm and looked suspiciously like left over roast in gravy. The meat was tough and bits were grisly. I was offered a replacement meal but by then it was too late.

The set menu was unimaginative with some dishes unavailable/changed. We felt the large groups stretched the kitchen's ability to cope.

The front of house staff did their best in trying circumstances.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    78
    23
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
NZ
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere....needs to iron out a few kinks though.”
Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

We were recommended Tirohana from a friend who had previously had an enjoyable meal there. The service was impeccable and we felt very welcomed. My only food complaint was the vegetarian schnitzel that I ordered was very tough and dry, I was almost going to ask for a steak knife to make things easier. Another guest dining with me felt the same way.
On leaving I was waiting to pay our bill, however, the man at the counter obviously was friendly with a couple in front of us & happily carried on a lengthy conversation. We waited for about 10 minutes and I eventually told my family to go wait in the car. Was hoping this would catch his attention, but no, I continued to wait. Eventually I was seen too - no apology given so a bit of a disappointing way to end the evening.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank welly5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St Edmunds
Level Contributor
94 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very expensive but VERY good”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

The place to say, and the place to drink Voss Wine as they used to be based here.
They still run a good tasting room and are very welcoming. Go on a bike from the town on your tour.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tirohana, Manager at Tirohana Estate, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments.

We are glad that you enjoyed your visit to our Cellar Door and Tasting Room.

Just to point out though that we no longer stock Voss wines and obviously all of our wines made from our vineyard are the Tirohana Estate label.

We hope to see you back on another occasion when you are next in New Zealand.

Best wishes,
Management
Tirohana Estate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just perfect”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Fabulous service.
Pleasingly, they cook steak to the chef's liking and don't kill it. Everything cooked to perfection

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Apeman2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
185 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We returned again and were not disappointed. Toby and Saranne and all of the staff are extremely friendly, the food and service is great. A must place to visit and the wine is jolly good too. They also offer a taxi service which we used this time..brilliant! Look forward to returning soon.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DAFYDDHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tirohana Estate also viewed

Martinborough, Wairarapa
Martinborough, Wairarapa
 
Martinborough, Wairarapa
 
Martinborough, Wairarapa
Martinborough, Wairarapa
 

Been to Tirohana Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing