We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing platter”
Review of Bloom Restaurant - CLOSED

Bloom Restaurant
Price range: $9 - $22
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Bloom Restaurant is located just south of the beautiful Martinborough Wine Village at Murdoch James Estate vineyard, one of New Zealand's most highly regarded Pinot Noir producers. Just 10 minutes drive from the town square and located in a stunning elevated setting with panoramic views, Bloom offers a range of dining options, or just a coffee and/or a glass of wine to relax with after an afternoon exploring nearby vineyards. Sit on the deck in the summer months and watch the river trickle by at your feet and the grapes growing nearby. Or, in Winter, sit indoors by the crackling fire, and enjoy a slow, relaxing meal. Our cuisine is always sourced locally and only the freshest ingredients are used. For a sample of our menu, check our website, or call for more information.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Again, this was one of the places talked up by the locals in Martinborough, but I wasn't impressed.
We ordered a tasting platter which sounded nice, but ended up being mostly bread, a tiny bit of cheese, some sun-dried tomato, gerkins, 3 bits of salami, some sausage and olive oil (apologies if I've missed anything, but it wasn't impressive).
If you go here I would try the mains instead and skip the platter.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LittleBlondeAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (69)
There are newer reviews for Bloom Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 45 of 69 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2013

Having now visited Bloom now several times over the past 3 years both my wife and I enjoy returning to great food wine and service from Michael in relaxed surrounding. The food experience is as good as one could wish and is always one to look forward to. It is also great seeing the garden development over the time with the garden area promising to to be even more stunning in years to come which will add even more to the relaxed beautiful environment. We look forward to more return visits

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank RodG93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Visited recently on a Saturday. The weather was perfect; the lunchtime was almost over, so thre were tables available. The atmosphere aims to be French bistro style, spacious and sunny. Service professional, friendly, not intrusive but attentive. Food very good standard, ingenious in presentation. Good wine list - mostly wines of the hosting winery, Murdoch James (although this is run independetly) -but also a decent selection from Martinborough and beyond. Prices are reasonable. Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GaborLeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloom_New_Zealand, Owner at Bloom Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Thank you very much for the great feedback. We really appreciate it and the team takes great satisfaction from knowing we have it all together.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We had an outside table on a lively sunny day. The food was very nice we ordered glasses of wine which we had bought at the wine tasting for $20 for the bottle. When the bill came each glass was $12. It is a short season, but even so the mark up is impressive, as they will not be charged the retail price!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Coylum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiwi_Wine_Freak, Manager at Bloom Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

“ Thank you for the feedback and it is great you rated us so highly on all your experience, other than the wine costs. We do understand the price comparison you make, however do feel you are being a little tough on us. I would make the comparison of a retail wine shop versus a quality restaurant. You would not expect to pay the same in the restaurant for wine you can buy for less in a retail store, bearing in mind all the extra services and costs a restaurant has to bear compared to a wine shop. That is the same for Bloom, which is an independent restaurant, located at Murdoch James winery, but not run by them. And we buy our wines from them as would any other restaurant customer, so please do understand that our wine costs are not low because of the winery connection. Thanks again for the feedback – as you can see we always take any review aboard, consider it carefully and to respond. Happy to discuss further if you would like. Kind regards, Michael, Owner, Bloom Restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I was tasked with organising a special all expenses paid, weekend away to Martinborough for a group of 6 after a competition win at work. Lunch was our first meal out together, after reading several reviews my first choice was Tirohana estate but they were fully booked two weeks out, so I asked for a recommendation and we ended up here.

The location was nice, it was a beautiful sunny day and we had a great table under shade outside with a good view. Things were looking good ... until we met our waiter and duty manager, Michael H. I have travelled internationally extensively over the last 25 years, and I thought I had experienced the best and worst service by now. This experience is by far the winner of the "worst service" award. Sadly some of the potentially best dining experiences can be let down by poor service, what's most disappointing and embarrassing is that this happened in my own country.

Michael was abrupt, rude, sarcastic and inattentive. This went beyond an individual having a bad day. It was not busy by any means so he was not run off his feet. Michael would be much better suited to a career as a parking warden and should stay far away from anything to do with customer service. When asking for recommendations I got sarcasm, we were not asked how our food was, if we needed any more wine (we had to ask), and even when paying I did not get the typical "how was your meal, I hope you enjoyed it, hope to see you again etc etc ...."

The food was good, as was the pinot gris and rose, however I would not consider coming back unless there was a change in staff, or if someone took a course on customer service followed by some good reviews reflecting the change.

One surprisingly disappointed organiser.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jason T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiwi_Wine_Freak, Manager at Bloom Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

We are taking this opportunity to respond to this feedback as we are very proud of the positive reputation Bloom has built with our thousands of guests over the years, and we feel our high percentage of repeat visits underscores that.

We work very hard to deliver a high level of professional service at all times; as many of the other Trip Advisor reviews of our restaurant highlight and we value constructive comments so that we can work on any issues a guest feels might need attention.

That this review highlights service so far off the high level that we strive for concerns and disappoints us. We have followed up directly with the guests involved and have reviewed the feedback to look at the matters raised and what we need to do to ensure no repeat.

One of the things that made reviewing this complaint difficult was that it was published a long time after the date of the visit, so it was hard for us to check all the detail. As a general observation, we much prefer that any guest who believes they have had a below par level of service raises it on the day, or as soon as possible afterwards, so we can take appropriate action based on full and recent information. Rest assured we would take it on board in a positive manner.

On behalf of the Team at Bloom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bloom Restaurant also viewed

Martinborough, Wairarapa
Martinborough, Wairarapa
 
Martinborough, Wairarapa
Martinborough, Wairarapa
 
Martinborough, Wairarapa
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing