We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our favourite Place...not just a B&B......Amazing Hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Old Manse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Old Manse
Certificate of Excellence
Kapiti New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our favourite Place...not just a B&B......Amazing Hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2010

Each year we stay at The old Manse with Friends....5 couples.....Sandra and John , the owners attend to every detail....happy hours with wonderful canopes, and delicious silver service breakfast. Sandra and John will arrange dining experiences around Martinborough as well as providing transport if necessary. The bedrooms are stunning with attention to every detail. Lounge and kitchen facilites are beautiful....but more importantly the hosts are exceptional.......wining next to the vineyard is a real treat....roll on March 2010.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GozKapiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    14
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
96
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2009

I am sorry that the previous reviewer was not happy. We had a lovely stay at The Old Manse. Sndra and John were very hospitable and very helpful. There were no problems about using the kitchen and they afforded us lots of privacy.
We were going to dine at one of the vineyards and it was more than just a walk. John very kindly offered to drive us there and said that the vineyard would see us home. We didnt take him up on this as I dont drink very much, if at all (my husband found that a great benefit when touring vineyards!). My only possible negative is that I would not want to stay there more than one or two nights as there is no real hanging space.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Val-Director
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2009

We went to a wedding at this venue. The venue was lovely. You couldn't ask for anything more - great setting and lovely gardens. We stayed in the house as the Wedding Party had a spare room but we could not access our room when the sun went down. The owners had control of the keys so we couldn't destroy the home! Who was paying to stay there I might ask? The property is a B&B and there is a lovely big kitchen but you were not allowed in the kitchen. It was out of bounds. I found this a bit odd. We were even frowned upon when wanting to put something in the fridge. We have stayed in many other b&b's in Martinborough and would not recommend this one at the top of our list.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwitravelar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2009

A beautifully and tastefully converted manse - the photographs of the original structure are on the wall, and the current owners have thoughtfully restored the building to its former glory. The rooms are spacious, high ceilinged, cool and airy; the bed comfortable, and the linen spotless. We were treated less like guests and more like family, and given the opportunity to wander about at all times of the day and night.

Our hosts held a 'happy hour' outside, under the awning, with endless supplies of wine and interesting canapes, and we met and chatted with a selection of very interesting people. We watched the sun go down over the distant mountains, and then dined at one of the several restaurants in the immediate area. Our host would even have collected us from there, had there been a need. And the next morning, Martinborough even laid on one of its twice yearly fairs in honour of our stay!

We heartily recommend The Old Manse - a real treat.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Farseer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2007

This gorgeous old house is now a B&B and is set amongst the vineyards in NZ's wine country. Just 10 minutes walk from Martinborough centre with its excellent restaurants.
The hosting couple were v friendly and held an informal 'Happy hour" with free wine and nibbles to chat to their guests so we could meet each other - a lovely touch. Clean, well equipped rooms though a bit chilly in the morning as the Kiwi's aren't into central heating! In the evening we were able to help ourselves to hot drinks from the kitchen and go out into the garden to enjoy the most beautiful night sky I have ever seen. We all sat together for a completely delicious breakfast too. Amazing hospitality, I can't recommend it enough.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
Thank IntrepidFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martinborough
0.4 mi away
The Martinborough Hotel
The Martinborough Hotel
#2 of 4 in Martinborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
#3 of 4 in Martinborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
22.5 mi away
Wharekauhau Country Estate
Wharekauhau Country Estate
#1 of 1 in Featherston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Claremont Motel & Apartments
0.7 mi away
Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Peppers Parehua Martinborough
#1 of 8 in Martinborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pinot Villas
Pinot Villas
#3 of 8 in Martinborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Manse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Manse

Property: The Old Manse
Address: 19 Grey Street, Martinborough 5711, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Martinborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Martinborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Old Manse 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1876, The Old Manse was the Presbyterian Manse of Martinborough for 80 years. Restored in 2000, this cosy property now offers a full breakfast and rooms with garden views. Free parking and free Wi-Fi access are both provided. The heated guest rooms are equipped with electric blankets, an in-room safe and satellite TV. The en suite bathroom offers free toiletries and a hairdryer. There is a guest lounge with an open fireplace. Guests can enjoy views of a vineyard and a large garden lawn from the verandah. A cooked/continental breakfast is served in the gazebo or in the dining room. The Old Manse Martinborough is a 2-minute drive from Martinborough's town centre and the Martinborough Wine Centre. It is a 3-minute drive from Palliser Estate Winery and a 6-minute drive from Martinborough Golf Course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Manse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing