We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place in wine country.”
Review of The Old Manse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Old Manse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We had the opportunity to stay just one night while on a motorcycle tour, and found the Old Manse completely comfortable with fantastic hosts. John and Sandra were perfectly accommodating, and we particularly enjoyed their nightly cocktail party with the other guests! Easy walk to town and restaurants, and located right in the vineyards.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 132 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2014

What a refreshing place to stay! We were greeted by the lovely couple that run this B&B with wine and tasty appetizers. What a great reception after a long day driving. We were introduced to the other guests and the wine kept pouring. We had a comfortable, clean room in this interesting old house in the countryside. One does have to be aware that the walls in this beautifully converted old house tend to be thin so you may hear your neighbors. They offered us a bike to use to ride through the vineyards. Some good suggestions were made for restaurants. We were given a checklist for a made to order breakfast. The house was separate from where the owners stayed offering the convenience to use the kitchen, sitting area and deck at our leisure. The next evening we met up for drinks and excellent appys again. Nice people, quiet country setting in a very well run B&B.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seaorski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

This was our first stay in a B & B and we could not fault it. The house has been lovingly restored. The owners John & Sandra obviously love this home and made us feel very welcome. Each night we had drinks and nibbles in the lounge room which was lovely to be able to met the other guests and also learn more about John and Sandras beautiful home. Restaurants in the village were lovely and only a short walk away. The vineyards are also within walking distance. A great relaxing 2 days pity we couldn't stay longer

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine1709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

The Old Manse has been lovingly restored, is full of character and charm. We had a lovely double room and large bathroom with walk in shower cubicle, all spotlessly clean. The lounge, dining room and kitchen areas which guests have full use of have been tastefully furnished but with a homely feel. We looked forward to wine and hors d'oeuvres each evening with Sandra and breakfast with John including Sandra's delicious homemade muesli. We decided to cycle the wine trail, so borrowed John's bike and hired another from the campsite around the corner, when we told them where we were staying were given a discounted rate. We really enjoyed our stay here, made even more special by John and Sandra who are a special couple with a great sense of humour.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Val S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This gem of a property has been lovingly restored (there are "before and after" pictures on the lounge wall) to be a lovely, welcoming "home" of a B&B. The owner welcomed us warmly and made us feel immediately at home - a feeling enhanced by us being the only residents for our first night and, as the owners live in the main house in the grounds, we had the place to ourselves. The accommodation is delightfully finished in keeping with the nature of the building with excellent communal facilities. The garden, which is next to a vineyard, is also a delight and a great place to enjoy al fresco meals or to just sit and relax. For breakfast we elected to go for the "full English" which was superbly cooked and, along with cereals, fruit juices, toats and jams, set us up admirably for the day. A large, fully equiped kitchen meant we could do self catering if we wanted to but it was only a short walk into town for a selection of restaurants. If we are ever in Martinborough again this is definitely where we will stay!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We picked this B&B based on TripAdvisor reviews and the fact it was only an hour out side of Wellington. The area is also loaded with wineries. When we arrived, we went to the Wine Center in town. The lady there gave us a map and suggested several wineries we should visit. They were all very close to town. We ended up buying a bottle of wine at one winery and having a snack and wine at a second. We then proceeded to The Old Manse to check-in. We were met by John, who lives next door. He showed us to our room which was just off the lounge. Since we were the only ones staying that night, we treated the lounge as part of our room. It had a large TV, coffee and tea making supplies, a fire place, several couches and chairs. We had free WiFi and It was nice to spread out and relax. John and Sandy came over at six with wine and horderves. We had a pleasant discussion about politics, health care and of course the weather. We were presented with a list of breakfast choices that included many options including Eggs Benedict. I was temped but settled for fried eggs, tomatoes, bacon and baked beans.

Our room was a little on the small size but the bathroom was good size, modern with a great shower. I know it is silly but this toilet is our first in New Zealand with a wooden seat. All the others have been plastic. Our bed was comfortable and had an electric blanket which was muc appreciated. We did not sleep well, however, not because of the bed or room, but the wind. It started to blow about 10:00 and did not let up until after midnight the next day. I have never experienced wind like that before. At 8:00 the next morning, John prepared our breakfast which also included orange juice, fruit and coffee. It was delicious.

The Old Manse has a long history which is told in pictures on the walls and through a written history provided in the guest information booklet. It is hard to believe what it once looked like when you see it today. It is a beautiful place to stay and relax. John and Sandy are great host.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rrobbinsCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

If you are looking for somewhere quiet, pretty and comfortable to spend the weekend, this could well be it. Hosts are very welcoming. Within walking distance of the town for restaurants etc.

The only minor thing they could do is make it clearer where you are supposed to go on arrival.

Room Tip: I am guessing that the room off the lounge could be a bit noisy if people watching TV late at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah_Haigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Martinborough hotels
0.4 mi away
The Martinborough Hotel
The Martinborough Hotel
#2 of 4 in Martinborough
233 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
#3 of 4 in Martinborough
128 reviews
0.7 mi away
Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Peppers Parehua Martinborough
#1 of 8 in Martinborough
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Swan House
Swan House
#3 of 8 in Martinborough
20 reviews
0.2 mi away
Martinborough TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.5 mi away
Pinot Villas
Pinot Villas
#3 of 8 in Martinborough
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Manse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Manse

Address: 19 Grey Street, Martinborough 5711, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Martinborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Martinborough
Price Range: $163 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Old Manse 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1876, The Old Manse was the Presbyterian Manse of Martinborough for 80 years. Restored in 2000, this cosy property now offers a full breakfast and rooms with garden views. Free parking and free Wi-Fi access are both provided. The heated guest rooms are equipped with electric blankets, an in-room safe and satellite TV. The en suite bathroom offers free toiletries and a hairdryer. There is a guest lounge with an open fireplace. Guests can enjoy views of a vineyard and a large garden lawn from the verandah. A cooked/continental breakfast is served in the gazebo or in the dining room. The Old Manse Martinborough is a 2-minute drive from Martinborough's town centre and the Martinborough Wine Centre. It is a 3-minute drive from Palliser Estate Winery and a 6-minute drive from Martinborough Golf Course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your The Old Manse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing