We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious accommodation, utterly charming, and lovely hosts - perfect in very way.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Old Manse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Old Manse
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Luxurious accommodation, utterly charming, and lovely hosts - perfect in very way.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

We spent three perfect days in Martinborough in the New Year, and our stay at the Old Manse made our holiday wonderful. It is a beautifully restored house; the rooms are luxurious and restful. The hosts Sandra and John are kind and charming; they provide an excellent breakfast to order, and most memorably, drinks and canapés in the early evening, a highlight really, as it was most convivial. I am only sorry we don't live closer. I would love to return. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzesonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    14
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
96
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset, UK
Level Contributor
94 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Staying at the Old Manse was a real treat thanks to the outstanding hospitality of our hosts, John and Sandra. The canapes and wine tasting at 6pm are a lovely touch. Whilst we were there we were lucky enough to meet not only fellow travellers but also friends of John and Sandra who live locally and as a result we were privileged to have some very special canapes on the first night!

It is hard to get across how obliging John is. He offered to run us to the vineyard restaurant on the first night and he also lent us his bike for our tour of the wineries. When we got back from the restaurant he had, as promised, left us some chocolates in the kitchen.

The whole property is beautiful and there is a well equipped kitchen where you can make yourself drinks. The bedrooms are beautifully decorated and although not particularly large, the high ceilings give a sense of spaciousness. There isn't a lot of hanging space for clothes but I suspect most people stay for 1 or 2 days so this isn't likely to be much of a problem.

Breakfast is prepared by John - superb egg benedict with a perfectly poached egg was one of the cooked options.

Overall we had a wonderful stay here and my only regret was that we didn't stay longer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JB37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

A delightful turn of the century homestay on the edge of lovely Martinborough. Rooms are light, bright & airy. High ceilings add to the feeling of space. Bathrooms are well supplied with lovely local toiletries. The welcoming owners host a wine hour in the lounge/ deck area every evening at cocktail hour-a good chance to compare notes on your day with fellow guests from around the world. Breakfast is served family style in the dining room- lots of delicious hearty choices. Spa pool was not operational when we visited- a pity because the garden has restful views over the adjoining vineyard.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CassiusCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

We have stayed numerous weekends in this lovely house. It was a the residence of a minister in bygone days, was totally rundown (photos on the walls, before and after!) and has been beautifully restored by the current owners. The rooms are very big, comfortable and the hosts are just great. They live in a separate house in the huge grounds. The building is classic large villa on the outside but with an up-to-date, beautifully appointed interior,as clean and as comfortable as you would expect. The rate includes evening 'Happy Hour' when mine host, John, dispenses local wines, canapes and lots of chat, plus he took us in his own BMW to our restaurant instead of booking a taxi. Next day a superb cooked and/or continental breakfast. Location is on the edge of town which makes it quieter, but still only a few mins walk or drive to the centre, the adjacent wineries etc. There are 5 big double rooms available at this B&B. Enjoy!

Room Tip: You really need to book in advance as they are justifiably busy, especially when events are on
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savigny, Switzerland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Very nice B&B. John takes pride in making an excellent breakfast : continental, american, or even the healthy version. The guests are invited for drinks (wine tasting ) and snacks every evening.
It is very well situated within walking distance from town and restaurants. They are great hosts, with interesting conversation and a traditional sense of hospitality.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isis1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
128 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Have stayed at this B&B multiple times and would always return. Hosts John and Sandra are natural hosts being friendly, informative and interesting and provide 5 star plus service offering canapes and wine in the evenings on arrival, and delcious cooked and continental breakfast with multiple hot options served promptly at a time to suit individuals on fine china and with juice & accompanients in fine cut crystal. The Old Manse is a relaxing "home" with its point of difference attention to detail in personal approach and room detail. Good linen and local complimentary bathroom items enhance the stay. John offers to transport guests to and from restaurants to enable them to enjoy the local wine experience.

Room Tip: All rooms are well appointed and provide privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Great location near town and next door to a vineyard with views across.
Very clean and well maintained.
Big lounge and kitchen area.
Lovely large gardens.
Wine and nibbles provided in the evening.
Lovely hosts who enjoyed a chat.
Breakfast was good but not a stand out.

Room Tip: Avoid the yellow room. It's right off the lounge and kitchen so you get a bit of noise. All the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahDawnHoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martinborough
0.4 mi away
The Martinborough Hotel
The Martinborough Hotel
#2 of 4 in Martinborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
#3 of 4 in Martinborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
22.5 mi away
Wharekauhau Country Estate
Wharekauhau Country Estate
#1 of 1 in Featherston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Claremont Motel & Apartments
0.7 mi away
Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Peppers Parehua Martinborough
#1 of 8 in Martinborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pinot Villas
Pinot Villas
#3 of 8 in Martinborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Manse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Manse

Property: The Old Manse
Address: 19 Grey Street, Martinborough 5711, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Martinborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Martinborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Old Manse 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1876, The Old Manse was the Presbyterian Manse of Martinborough for 80 years. Restored in 2000, this cosy property now offers a full breakfast and rooms with garden views. Free parking and free Wi-Fi access are both provided. The heated guest rooms are equipped with electric blankets, an in-room safe and satellite TV. The en suite bathroom offers free toiletries and a hairdryer. There is a guest lounge with an open fireplace. Guests can enjoy views of a vineyard and a large garden lawn from the verandah. A cooked/continental breakfast is served in the gazebo or in the dining room. The Old Manse Martinborough is a 2-minute drive from Martinborough's town centre and the Martinborough Wine Centre. It is a 3-minute drive from Palliser Estate Winery and a 6-minute drive from Martinborough Golf Course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Manse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing