We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for two nights”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Claremont Motel & Apartments
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Martinborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed in a motel room which was fine. Location is quiet on the edge of town. A bit too far to walk to a restaurant. Room is good and the decking and lawn outside is very pleasant. We felt that the cleaning was not up to the usual high New Zealand standards. WiFi worked fine.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlesLesleySmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina D, Owner at The Claremont Motel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdviser. The Claremont is 1300m from the town centre. This around a 10-15 minute flat walk or a 1 minute car trip. I am sorry you didn't find the accommodation up to our usual very high standard. Unfortunatly I cannot find a booking under your name so cannot be sure which room your were in, maybe it was booked under a different name. We would be very interested to know what the problem was with your room so that we may address the issue. If you have time we would appricate an email from you letting us know how we let you down on cleanliness. host@theclaremont.co.nz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 184 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

My parents and I stayed here last Friday night. We had previously stayed many times at Parehua but decided it was time for a change and wanted specifically a 2 bedroom unit. Claremont has that and while slightly different to our other stays in that it didn't have the luxury, the second bathroom or the space it certainly made up for it in price and service. The unit was very clean and had everything we needed. The owners were helpful and attentive even while seemingly doing everything else at the same time. The grounds are beautifully looked after and the Claremont dog is also a friendly and well behaved ambassador. We will be back for sure. Just wish there was a walk in shower for my over 80 yo parents.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erena_fenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina D, Owner at The Claremont Motel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review The Claremont on tripadviser. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We were travelling around the South & North Islands of New Zealand as part of a months vaccation and spent one night here. The motel is located of a residential road but once you enter the grounds it is like a differant place. Very tranquil. We received a very friendly and swift check-in and our apartment could not of been better. We had parking space right in front of where we stayed which was very useful for transfering our luggage. There was a small area in front where we had our own decking area and entered by means of a patio door. The room was very spacious with a small seating area where there was a sofa a coffee table and a unit which housed the large colour flat screen tv. We had a kitchette with a fridge, sink, micro-wave and oven. Everything that you could need in a kitchen for a short stay. The bathroom had a very large walk in shower, large sink and toilet and the free products were Natural Earth and contained Active Manuka Honey and had a label proudly confirming that they were 100% made in New Zealand. A nice extra luxury. We had a very comfortable nights sleep and would loved to have stayed for a few more nights but due to a tight schedule we were unable too. We would most definately recommend this place, well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Our room was number 13 an end unit, which was also geared up for disabled use.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redkaz_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina D, Owner at The Claremont Motel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Claremont. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and truly appriciate your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I love this place, so peaceful, and on the edge of a lovely quiet village. It's not your usual motel, but a series of different buildings, each offering different types of accommodation, spread around park-like gardens. We had our usual unit (it's fully accessible with an adapted bathroom), modern, stylish yet very comfortable. And at night, silence.

It's a three-minute drive into the village centre. There's all the hype and nonsense you get with a wine industry, but you can ignore that and just enjoy the traditional, friendly village atmosphere. Take the half-hour drive to the remote ocean beach where the waves crash on the shore below the cliffs.

And all this an hour or so from Wellington!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UKPeripatetic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina D, Owner at The Claremont Motel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thank you for your kind words. It was an absolute pleasure to host you once again at The Claremont. We are looking forward to your next visit to New Zealand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We decided to stay here at the last minute. The hosts Brett and Tina were so lovely. Excellent place and the two bedroom apartment is perfect for two couples or a family. The spa bath is excellent. A great place to relax before we hit Wellington. It was only an hour drive in the morning. We hope to be back. Thank you.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toptraveller123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina D, Owner at The Claremont Motel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review The Claremont. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our 2 nights here. Nicely appointed units with a mezzanine level for the main bed. Yes, they could do with a blind over the skylight window but we are early risers and it didn't really bother us.

We had asked for a quiet room when booking and we were given an end unit which was thoughtful.

Would we go back - yes, but would probably look at upgrading rooms as the standalone units looked really nice.

Just a bit out of the main town but not a big deal.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shardlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina D, Owner at The Claremont Motel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review The Claremont Motel. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We always try to accommodate our guests requests and were pleased to be able to offer you an end room although we really don't have any problems with noise at The Claremont. We always appricate constructive feedback.
About 18 months ago we put blinds into all our one bedroom standard units upstairs on the North/East side where the sun arrives first and we heavily tinted the South West opening skylights. This seems to have fixed any morning light issues.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I have stayed several times before and found the motel very comfortable. This comfort could be improved with the provision of fans/ cooling for each room as this time it was very hot and sleep was not possible. The environment is lovely but the cigarette butts in the garden are not. Had to shut the door in the morning due to staff smoking outside the next room. Would also be great to see duvets with no stains. The shower is good but not easy to stand in the bath without slipping. The addition of a non slip mat would help.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Svenskafru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina D, Owner at The Claremont Motel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Thank you for submitting feedback regarding your stay at The Claremont Motel Ltd. We are delighted that you have chosen to stay with us several times in the past. However we are very dissappointed that you did not feel the quality of service and cleanliness during your most recent stay was up to our usual very high standard. I understand that you stayed during one of the hottest weather weeks that we have had for years. Most rooms have fans and all have opening windows with security latchs for peace of mind. I know our staff were handing out fans to those who asked at reception during the very hot period. The housekeeping staff have been spoken to regarding smoking around the units and this will not happen again. Our duvets are laundered after each stay. I was not here at the time of your stay but our staff are always here to rectify any problems and would have happily changed your duvet for you as you were not happy. Bath mats are available at reception should any of our guests require them. We value each and every customer who stays with us at The Claremont and would like the oportunity in the future to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martinborough
0.6 mi away
The Martinborough Hotel
The Martinborough Hotel
#2 of 4 in Martinborough
232 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
#3 of 4 in Martinborough
128 reviews
20.3 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Wharekauhau Country Estate
Wharekauhau Country Estate
#1 of 1 in Featherston
130 reviews
10.1 mi away
The White Swan
The White Swan
#1 of 3 in Greytown
171 reviews
1.3 mi away
Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Peppers Parehua Martinborough
#1 of 8 in Martinborough
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Claremont Motel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claremont Motel & Apartments

Address: 38 Regent St., Martinborough 5711, New Zealand (Formerly The Claremont Martinborough)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Martinborough
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Martinborough
Price Range: $91 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Claremont Motel & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Claremont Motel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing