We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUR THIRD VISIT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Claremont Motel & Apartments
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Martinborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I love this place, so peaceful, and on the edge of a lovely quiet village. It's not your usual motel, but a series of different buildings, each offering different types of accommodation, spread around park-like gardens. We had our usual unit (it's fully accessible with an adapted bathroom), modern, stylish yet very comfortable. And at night, silence.

It's a three-minute drive into the village centre. There's all the hype and nonsense you get with a wine industry, but you can ignore that and just enjoy the traditional, friendly village atmosphere. Take the half-hour drive to the remote ocean beach where the waves crash on the shore below the cliffs.

And all this an hour or so from Wellington!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UKPeripatetic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina D, Owner at The Claremont Motel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thank you for your kind words. It was an absolute pleasure to host you once again at The Claremont. We are looking forward to your next visit to New Zealand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
There are newer reviews for The Claremont Motel & Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 181 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2013

We decided to stay here at the last minute. The hosts Brett and Tina were so lovely. Excellent place and the two bedroom apartment is perfect for two couples or a family. The spa bath is excellent. A great place to relax before we hit Wellington. It was only an hour drive in the morning. We hope to be back. Thank you.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DunedinBirdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina D, Owner at The Claremont Motel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review The Claremont. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our 2 nights here. Nicely appointed units with a mezzanine level for the main bed. Yes, they could do with a blind over the skylight window but we are early risers and it didn't really bother us.

We had asked for a quiet room when booking and we were given an end unit which was thoughtful.

Would we go back - yes, but would probably look at upgrading rooms as the standalone units looked really nice.

Just a bit out of the main town but not a big deal.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shardlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina D, Owner at The Claremont Motel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review The Claremont Motel. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We always try to accommodate our guests requests and were pleased to be able to offer you an end room although we really don't have any problems with noise at The Claremont. We always appricate constructive feedback.
About 18 months ago we put blinds into all our one bedroom standard units upstairs on the North/East side where the sun arrives first and we heavily tinted the South West opening skylights. This seems to have fixed any morning light issues.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I have stayed several times before and found the motel very comfortable. This comfort could be improved with the provision of fans/ cooling for each room as this time it was very hot and sleep was not possible. The environment is lovely but the cigarette butts in the garden are not. Had to shut the door in the morning due to staff smoking outside the next room. Would also be great to see duvets with no stains. The shower is good but not easy to stand in the bath without slipping. The addition of a non slip mat would help.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Svenskafru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina D, Owner at The Claremont Motel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Thank you for submitting feedback regarding your stay at The Claremont Motel Ltd. We are delighted that you have chosen to stay with us several times in the past. However we are very dissappointed that you did not feel the quality of service and cleanliness during your most recent stay was up to our usual very high standard. I understand that you stayed during one of the hottest weather weeks that we have had for years. Most rooms have fans and all have opening windows with security latchs for peace of mind. I know our staff were handing out fans to those who asked at reception during the very hot period. The housekeeping staff have been spoken to regarding smoking around the units and this will not happen again. Our duvets are laundered after each stay. I was not here at the time of your stay but our staff are always here to rectify any problems and would have happily changed your duvet for you as you were not happy. Bath mats are available at reception should any of our guests require them. We value each and every customer who stays with us at The Claremont and would like the oportunity in the future to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed three nights in one of the "one bedroom" units. The design of the unit was quite unique, with the bedroom upstairs but not totally isolated from the rest of the unit. The room was clean and modern. The location is great as it's on the edge of Martinborough and therefore very quiet. We found it very quiet even on the one night of the three when the motel was full. The staff were rally helpful and friendly and gave us advice on restaurants and booked us on a very good wine tour.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Latimers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I must say that this motel surprised me. In an extremely pleasant way.

We stayed in one of the detached two bedroom units. These are situated in a garden setting and are very private. It also has a carport.

They have their own little deck with fantastic indoor outdoor flow. This leads to a well appointed kitchen and large living room plus dining area. The bedrooms are big.

The unit was very clean and well maintained. It had everything you would expect - and probably more.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

I would stay here again - great value and service, loved the free DVDs. Located well and lots of helpful info about the local area. Obliging about a late check out. Well equipped. Clean and comfortable, nice green garden outlook.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martinborough
0.6 mi away
The Martinborough Hotel
The Martinborough Hotel
#2 of 4 in Martinborough
224 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
#3 of 4 in Martinborough
128 reviews
20.3 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Peppers Parehua Martinborough
#1 of 8 in Martinborough
578 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pinot Villas
Pinot Villas
#3 of 8 in Martinborough
159 reviews
0.8 mi away
Martinborough Mews
Martinborough Mews
#2 of 8 in Martinborough
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Claremont Motel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claremont Motel & Apartments

Address: 38 Regent St., Martinborough 5711, New Zealand (Formerly The Claremont Martinborough)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Martinborough
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Martinborough
Price Range: $116 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Claremont Motel & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Claremont Motel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing