We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet and relaxing place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Claremont Motel & Apartments
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Martinborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2012

A very friendly greeting met us at this centre of with studios and apartments. It is out of the centre of a very sleepy small town and is ideal for a quiet place to stay. Our room had a double bed upstairs and a single bed in the spacious lounge diner. It was fully equipped with 4 chairs and all the necessary items to go with that including a 2 ring electric hob and microwave cooker. Beds for 3 eating facilities for four was therefore generous.

A cool early morning was soon warmed up by the very effective fan heater. The bed was large and comfortable and I slept very well. This is not always the case when you are travelling around from hotel to apartment etc.

The room was thoroughly cleaned whilst we were out as you would expect. A good internet service was available for the usual $5 per hour and it connected to high speed broadband which allowed me to do all I needed to in the time purchased. This price is normal for New Zealand but expensive in UK terms

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank makesholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
There are newer reviews for The Claremont Motel & Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 181 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2012

Thank you so much for being so welcoming when we arrived.
the room was clean great linen on the beds, and plenty of thick and thirsty towels. great selection of products in the bathroom.
a good variety of teas and coffee and choice of milk.
the surrondings made it peacful, and you felt like you where in your own private place.
staff offered help with outings, and places to see if needed.
thank you.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Our studio unit with a queen bed was spacious, stylish, light, and comfortable, with a patio that opens on to a secluded lawn, and gets the afternoon sun. The unit was fairly new, clean, and nicely equipped with a small kitchen, a table and two chairs, a flat screen TV, and a sofa. Maid service was efficient and comprehensive. Electric blankets, heated towel rails, a heated mirror and a couple of patches of under floor heat were welcome touches. WiFi was very expensive at $5/hour, and once you started to use it, you couldn’t stop the clock (there are options that lower the hourly rate). We like the Claremont, which has a number of separate buildings in attractively landscaped grounds, and we enjoyed our stay. This was our second stay, and we would definitely return. We’d like it even more with cheaper (or free) Internet.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hermes99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We stayed at the Claremont for only one night but found the place very good. The service was great as were the rooms. We only paid 180 $ (NZ) for one night at the medium size cabin with great level of equipment. It was off-season, however, so during high-season I assume that prices would be higher. The location was good too, it only took us about 10 minutes to walk to the center of the village. I would definitely stay at the Claremont again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Same W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We spent a weekend at The Claremont Apartments, in a 2 bedroom apartment, which was perfect. The weather wasn't great but it was so cosy and snug, it made for a very relaxing weekend, just what we needed. We went to Tirohana Estate for dinner which was out of this world! Another visit is on the agenda for sure!

Room Tip: The 2 bedroom apartment is perfect for 2 couples and this is only a 2 minute drive to the main centr...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment with another couple, and our friends stayed in the executive studio units. We booked the package which included a dinner in Tirohana Estate for dinner and it was fantastic value. The Claremont is about a 10-15 minute walk from Martinborough Square but it is an easy and very pleasant walk - about 2 minutes in a car. The host was really nice and we all thought the accommodation was great. Included breakfasts kind of average but it was only breakfast and when we considered the whole package it was fantastic value. It included a transfer to and from Tirohana for dinner so was great. We all really enjoyed it so would recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank famadven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stayed in an apartment for two nigths over the Easter weekend. The photos on the hotel website are a fair representation of what the apartments offer. There were two good sized double bedrooms and a good sized bathroom with bath and over the bath shower. The kitchen had everything you would need if you wanted to self-cater (there is a small supermarket in town) with a dining table and couple of sofas in the main living area. There was also a good sized deck (but no outdoor furniture which was a bit of a shame given the lovely weather). The rooms were clean and tidy and were serviced daily. The size of the apartment is fine for two couples for a few nights stay in the area. In terms of location, it is approximately a 15 minute walk into the centre of town. The owner did advise that there was a shuttle service available from town if we wanted to use this, but given the good weather we were happy to take the flat walk home. The owner was really friendly and welcoming on arrival and had a number of tips on good places to go. The only downside we experienced were that there were a number of mozzies in the apartment in the evening (only a real problem for me as I have an allergy). Investment by the owners in an automatic bug spray would solve this though! Otherwise, was a great stay and we would be happy to stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank princess3016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martinborough
0.6 mi away
The Martinborough Hotel
The Martinborough Hotel
#2 of 4 in Martinborough
224 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
#3 of 4 in Martinborough
128 reviews
20.3 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Peppers Parehua Martinborough
#1 of 8 in Martinborough
578 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pinot Villas
Pinot Villas
#3 of 8 in Martinborough
159 reviews
0.8 mi away
Martinborough Mews
Martinborough Mews
#2 of 8 in Martinborough
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Claremont Motel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claremont Motel & Apartments

Address: 38 Regent St., Martinborough 5711, New Zealand (Formerly The Claremont Martinborough)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Martinborough
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Martinborough
Price Range: $116 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Claremont Motel & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Claremont Motel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing