We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for a night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Claremont Motel & Apartments
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Martinborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one night during our 3 +weeks in NZ.It wasn't the best for the price, nor was it the worst.The room was OK.Read previous reviews to form your own opinion.We had a master bedroom upstairs...not great if you get up during the night.We had a very nice porch.Martinborough center is very small.We were there on a Sunday and most things were closed.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bucket-Listers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 184 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2012

My wife and I spent one night here as part of a 3 week tour of New Zealand. The travel agent arranged the itinerary and booked the accommodation - so we get to compare and contrast lots of places, but can't comment on value as we paid a package price.

The Claremont accommodation was fine. I think calling them apartments is a little misleading - they are more chalets or cabins than the block of apartments I expected.

The Claremont is on the edge of Martinborough - a small town / large village - but a quick drive or easy walk into the central area of shops and restaurants. The site is pleasantly laid out, parking outside each unit. No restaurant and I didn't notice if they had a pool or laundry or whatever. Pleasant, welcoming hostess.

The unit we had: enter through opaque glass door into kitchenette/lounge with bathroom immediately to your left and a staircase up to bedroom to your right (NB if your party has anyone with a disability). There was a single bed in the lounge also. Accommdation was not enormous but not too cramped. Everything was clean and tidy - and the kitchen was well supplied.. No air con but there was a fan in the bedroom - which we needed as the heat building up during the day had risen to the upper portion of the unit.

Frustrations: internet was chargeable; you had to turn the light on (so you didn't fall down the stairs) if you got up to go to the loo in the night - thus waking your husband or wife. Our bathroom had a loose tap and the plastic shower curtain was a bit clingy.

In case you were unaware, Martinborough is a foody, winey sort of place. There's a number of nice restaurants in the town and others (I understand) in the neighbouring vineyards. We weren't aware and arrived fairly late in the day after a long drive just wanting something quick and easy to eat. At that stage the town and restaurants seemed quite 'full': I would recommend that you consider booking to make sure you not waiting a long time or end up disappointed. However we went to the town takeaway - it doesn't look prepossessing but we had a lovely meal of fish and chips cooked as we wanted as we waited. Lovely.

So as I say - Claremont Apartments are fine and might be just what you want.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dai_the_Welshman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

we booked an executive studio for 2 nights, the thursday, friday before the martinborough fair.
The room was huge with an outside sitting area. The bed was also big and very,very comfortable. The room also came with a tv and dvd player and small kitchen area and fridge. This said you can cook yourself a meal quite easily if you want to stay in.
The rooms are modern, Clean, airy and have everything you need when trekking around New Zealand.
Next to reception is a laundry area with washing machines and dryers for use at about 2/3$. Whats also handy is there is an iron and proper ironing board in your room.
The bathroom is also big with a lovely shower. The rooms have parking right outside so you dont have to drag your luggage far.
The Claremont is set on the edge of Martinborough but it still just a nice 10 minute stroll to the square. Due to it's location it's very peaceful and relaxing and theres also a seperate bbq area for guests to use as well.
The couple who run the place where excellent hosts, very helpful, understanding and knowledgeable. We hired bikes for the day so we could do our own wine tour at a very resonable price. They was a great choice of dvds, books and magazines at the reception for guests to use.. Would definitely stay again. Thanks for a wonderful stay and advice about the fair

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wood1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Great location - quiet, secluded but not too far away from the main street etc.
Our accommodation was spacious and a little quirky being on two floors. Perhaps the bathroom could do with an upgrade but other than that we had a relaxing couple of days there.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loopylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We booked this place through the Martinborough I-site visitor centre quite late in the day. We did not realise that there was a special wine tasting event on that w/end and that most of Wellington were due to arrive, so considered ourselves very lucky to have got anywhere at all. The accommodation was just on the outskirts of the village but still within walking distance of the village square with all it's eateries and bars. It was a delightful room with a good sized decking area which had honeysuckle all over the trellis dividing us from the next door room. The smell was wonderful! We stayed for two nights and went to several wineries which were all within walking distance but could easily have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank intrepiddu0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We booked this venue really late and was so surprised at the standard of the accomodation for the price. The apartments (standard) are bright and spotless, with good furnishings and a really good kitchen area with good facilities. They hire bikes out cheaply at the apartments, which mean you can cycle around the local vineyards and taste the wines. Its a lovely way to spend a day in the sunshine. Really good apartments - we would go back!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Poopyscoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

With another couple, we stayed for one night in a two bedroom unit (one of two available at Claremont) and thoroughly enjoyed it. These are separate cottages, each with a good sized patio, and access to a secluded garden with a barbecue. Both units are new, and are nicely furnished, with generous kitchen, dining and lounge areas, and are well equipped for four (there is a dishwasher, but only one bathroom). We were very comfortable. WiFi was a very expensive $5/hour, and you once you started to use it, you couldn’t stop the clock (a bit bizarre, even for NZ!). The unit we stayed in was a good deal at $250 a night (but it was for sale for $325,000, so someone could buy it and stay for free). We would definitely go back to one of these units at the Claremont.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hermes99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martinborough
0.6 mi away
The Martinborough Hotel
The Martinborough Hotel
#2 of 4 in Martinborough
233 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
#3 of 4 in Martinborough
128 reviews
22.4 mi away
Wharekauhau Country Estate
Wharekauhau Country Estate
#1 of 1 in Featherston
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa
1.3 mi away
Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Peppers Parehua Martinborough
#1 of 8 in Martinborough
612 reviews
0.8 mi away
Martinborough Mews
Martinborough Mews
#2 of 8 in Martinborough
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Claremont Motel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claremont Motel & Apartments

Address: 38 Regent St., Martinborough 5711, New Zealand (Formerly The Claremont Martinborough)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Martinborough
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Martinborough
Price Range: $101 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Claremont Motel & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Claremont Motel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing