We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Martinborough Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Martinborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Beautiful heritage building with nice grounds and great rooms. We were upstairs with a spacious room with doors opening on to veranda, big claw-foot bath, wooden floors and antique fittings. Very helpful staff. Great location. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rustyjet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicoleMartb, Guest Relations Manager at The Martinborough Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Very pleased to hear you had a good stay with us! It is a very special hotel and hopefully we'll see you back with us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 232 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed in a corner verandah room for a night and couldn't fault it. The room was beautiful, a refurbished treat and we felt like we had stepped back into another century. The hotel was located in the very heart of the township, within a little walk to and from the many nearby wineries. Perfect! And the staff were helpful and friendly. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicoleMartb, Guest Relations Manager at The Martinborough Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

So pleased you had a good stay with us recently! Good news is that we intend putting a bed in that corner Heritage Verandah room (Riddiford) which will allow us to offer twin beds so that is exciting as currently we can only offer twin beds in our Garden rooms.

Hopefully you'll be able to stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We stayed two nights at this nice and historical place.we liked it , but there is some space for improvement. You hear quite a lot from the neighbouring rooms, the breakfast service in the attached but seperately run bistro is not corresponding to the level, which this title Heritage Boutique Collection indicates and one expects,nor the bistro or the restaurant in the evening, minor things are --a bit complicated Wifi system, one hook in the bathroom to hang all the towels to, and almost no space to store your clothes,
So we had to continue to live out of the suitcases on our five weeks trip thru NZ.
But Matinborough is with all the vineyards and the environment worth traveling to!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Courtmanght
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicoleMartb, Guest Relations Manager at The Martinborough Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Thank you for the feedback and for staying with us.

We are in the process of upgrading our Wifi system as we do appreciate this was not working as well as it should!

We will pass along your comments about the restaurant, do apologise we didn't deliver as expected.

Hopefully you'll visit Martinborough again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

I stayed here with a group of friends for a couple of nights. i was in a garden room which was spacious and had most of what you would need. It could have done with some plates and knives for those who choose to use the hotel grounds for a picnic or predinner snack using the garden furniture. My room had air conditioning which was great as the nights can get hot and stuffy in the Wairarapa. Others in my group had t make do with ceiling fans which probably isnt enough for the job. One person stayed in the hotel itself and was in a room above the actual bar and was of the view that if it had got much hotter she would have opened the window and would then have to contend with the noise from the bar below cos she only had a ceiling fan.

It would have been nice to have had baths in the garden rooms - there certainly was plenty of room to install one.

After my first night I ran into one of the hotel staff who asked if I needed fresh towels. I responded no as I like to reuse my towel for water conservation purposes. This seems to have been interpreted as no need to make up my room - so bed not made, toiletires not replenished, tea bags not topped up, cups not washed. Not good enough in my opinion. This was only a problem with me and it may have been a case of misinterpretation.

The bistro needs to be upgraded and staffed with people who know what they are serving.

Would be great to have a pool in the grounds.

In many respects it is a great hotel and should have everything going for it in a great tourist town - not there yet.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kowhaikiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicoleMartb, Guest Relations Manager at The Martinborough Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Thank you for the feedback following your stay with us.

You made a very good suggestion to have plates and knives in our rooms, more so for the Garden rooms.

So sorry our housekeeper misunderstood you not wanting towels as not visiting your room for a clean.

We also will pass on feedback about the restaurant to the owners.

We hope to deliver the full package and are working hard to improve all aspects of the hotel since the new owners took over in June last year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We stayed at the Martinborough Hotel this weekend. We were travelling with friends visiting from the UK and stayed in Garden Rooms.
The rooms were very generously sized, with good bathrooms and amenities. The garden was a lovely spot to sit in the afternoon sunshine.
Some rooms had air con, some fans.
Great location, with parking on site. I'm not sure what the connection is between the hotel and the bistro, but the bistro is not suitable for intimate dining and the service is not the usual NZ standard.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with Aircon in the summer and if you are a light sleeper, make sure to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicoleMartb, Guest Relations Manager at The Martinborough Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Sure your friends have long since returned, I do hope they enjoyed their time in New Zealand.
Thank you for the feedback regarding the restaurant, that has been passed along to the owners.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We loved the garden room my daughter and I stayed in. It was a large, tastefully furnished room which had two twin beds, two chairs, a small table and a lazy boy style chair and yet still felt spacious. It is possibly the most relaxing room I have ever stayed in. Perhaps because it was mid week it was also very quiet. Wonderful!
The hotel itself was very nice. The bar not so much - not a comfortable or very welcoming place and the starter turkish bread was unappetizing so we had a drink and went across to Cool Change for dinner - highly recommended.
Only suggestion - it was December when we visited so how about some beautiful Christmas decorations? Such a beautiful old hotel should have a wonderful Christmas tree as you come in the door. Martinbourgh was completely lacking in Christmas feel - except in the shops selling Christmas decorations. Even the mid week visitors like to feel welcomed!

Room Tip: A garden room is just perfect. Although the beds are soft we had a wonderful room. Twin beds availab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPLNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicoleMartb, Guest Relations Manager at The Martinborough Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

So pleased you had a comfortable stay and we certainly appreciate the feedback about the restaurant and will pass that on to the business owners.

We hope to be a little more festive come December!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Having stayed at the Hotel in Feb13 & experienced a poor night sleep owing to a noisy freezer motor located below we hoped for a better stay this visit.First night we were in the Hotel proper overlooking the garden & whilst the room was ok it was rather small. We were upgraded to a garden room where we were extremely happy.The Hotel has changed ownership since the earlier visit & the new management is extremely cordial & obliging.The Hotel location is central for touring the wineries. Continental breakfast is basic but more than adequate but note that the restaurant & bar are operated separately.We understand the new owners are looking to renovate which we feel would be beneficial particularly stressing the need for better air conditioning.We would also like to see pod coffee machines installed & in this modern age WIFI should be automatically included.A lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: Either a room on the balcony overlooking the square or garden room at the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger1278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicoleMartb, Guest Relations Manager at The Martinborough Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Thank you very much for posting feedback after your stay with us. Wonderful idea to get pod coffee machines! Wifi is included in our rate and you should have received a voucher to access our complimentary Wifi on check in, I apologise if you didn't. Pleased you had a comfortable stay in the Garden room. Thanks for the support.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martinborough
0.6 mi away
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
#3 of 4 in Martinborough
128 reviews
9.5 mi away
The White Swan
The White Swan
#1 of 3 in Greytown
171 reviews
19.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Claremont Motel & Apartments
0.7 mi away
Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Peppers Parehua Martinborough
#1 of 8 in Martinborough
601 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pinot Villas
Pinot Villas
#3 of 8 in Martinborough
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Martinborough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Martinborough Hotel

Address: The Square, Martinborough 5711, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Martinborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Martinborough
Price Range: $117 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Martinborough Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1882, The Martinborough Hotel is a historic retreat offering luxury, boutique accommodation near Wellington. At the heart of Martinborough Wine Village, one of New Zealand's finest wine destinations. Today The Martinborough Hotel offers character, comfort and classic style with personal attention to your needs, making it ideal for either romantic getaways, indulgent escapes, family vacations or unique business gatherings. Place yourself within our beautiful space and free your spirit to breathe and soar! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Martinborough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Hotel Martinborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing