We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”

Poppies Martinborough
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

This is an outstanding place for lunch. The food is great, is the decor is very cool and of course the wines to die for!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bruce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    58
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caterham, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely spot and very nice platter and wines”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We had lunch on a very sunny day so all tables outside had gone but it was lovely inside as well. Food platter was wonderfully varied and wines were all lovely. We did the tasting as well and ordered a bottle of pinot gris. Poppy was very charming and shared lots of information about the wines. A great experience - if in the area you should definitely go.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joandgav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing place, great staff, highly recommended”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Wow, what can I say! This place was amazing!!!!! We had originally booked in at Vynfields for a bachelorette lunch, had arrived at Vynfields (with a booking) only to discover they were closed! Poppies quickly came to our rescue by setting up a table for a big group of girls at last minute - thank you Poppies!!! Cannot recommend the platters enough, they are delicious, the staff are amazing and the setting is superb. Well done Poppies, we'll be back for sure!!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carla T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington NZ
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Birthday Lunch”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We could not decide between here and Pinocchios in town and in the end went to both. We are not generally big fans of platters but the vast range on the plate made it very enjoyable. The service was very warm and friendly. Shane and poppy are obviously very passionate about what they do and this is reflected in the wine and the food. Slight niggle is paying extra for bread.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwiTraveller063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We arrived just before Shane was going to close the kitchen as he had a wedding in the evening, he organised us a gourmet platter while we had wine tasting with his wife Poppy. These two are very passionate about their vineyard and it shows the service was awesome, the platter fantastic and the wine was good too!!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine1709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poppies Martinborough also viewed

Martinborough, Wairarapa
Martinborough, Wairarapa
 
Martinborough, Wairarapa
 
Martinborough, Wairarapa
Martinborough, Wairarapa
 

Been to Poppies Martinborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing