We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Tapas”
Review of Micro Wine Bar

Micro Wine Bar
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: A boutique wine bar serving a wide range of Martinborough and International wines.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Delicious Tapas”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

This was our second time to this wine bar and will be happy to return again when visiting Martinborough. There was a really good selection/variety of tapas available which were all promptly delivered to us and were most delicious. The male staff member was extremely friendly, helpful and knowledgable and added to our enjoyment of the evening.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TandJInv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    24
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“lovely”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Great relaxed place to sample some local wines. Racksof 5 samples of white and pinit noir. Very yummy.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank hannah c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
244 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Roger 1278”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

After all the local recommendations we were interested to visit this rather small bar/eatery.
We were very pleased we did so. A great wine list with local, regional & overseas choices.Complimented by small food plates essentially tapas & for sharing.
The lady serving was both knowlegible & friendly.
The environment is good both inside & out.
A great pre dinner venue or for the connoseur try the 5 flight option for either white or red.
A must visit whilst in Martinborough.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger1278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Always call into Micro for a vino or a beer”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Micro Wine Bar is a magic find in Martinborough, whenever we are in Martinborough we always call into to say hello to the friendly team. They have great little plates and a great selection of wine. The boys were also happy with the selection of beers on hand. Lots of wine by the glass so you can try the Martinborough vineyards wines.
Nice way to finish a day in Martinborough.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaye F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
438 reviews
242 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Great tasting small plates, very small premises”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Opens from 4pm, come very early to secure a spot (they don't take bookings) in these tight premises (approx. 20 sq m); we came in a group of 10 so were seated in the equally small courtyard - it was cool and we were given blankets to cover our legs was was thoughtful. The gas heater did'nt work - poor organisation! Lovely flavoursome small plates (like tapas), they also do a small red ($22) or white ($19) tasting flight -a selection of 5 local wines to try. Time to find some bigger premises is my recommendation as you havea "winning formula."

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Skin197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Micro Wine Bar also viewed

Martinborough, Wairarapa
Martinborough, Wairarapa
 
Martinborough, Wairarapa
 

Been to Micro Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing