We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fish 'n Chips”

Lake Ferry Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #17 of 29 Restaurants in Martinborough
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Wanganui
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Fish 'n Chips”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

So many people said we should stop here for fish and chips. So we did. It was a pleasant experience, the fish was lovely and presented in a basket. It was good value for money.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank locatelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    61
    20
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Was relying on my navigator to choose somewhere to eat and when I saw the Lake Ferry Hotel's location I was not sure what we would find. Remote and no passing traffic so I suppose they have to be good to survive but even so I was pleasantly surprised. They had obviously had a busy service but we were welcomed and the food was very good. Service was ok but you got the feeling the kitchen was going to close as soon as we were done. Would recommend.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank britinnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
555 reviews
313 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Pub food at the end of the road”
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful surprise to find this place in such a remote area. We had been on a drive with a Japanese visitor and were hungry so stopped for a meal. The staff were friendly and helpful. All meals on the menu looked good. Meals for 5 of us were less than $100 which we thought was good value. The meals arrived quickly after working out we had to order at the bar. The views were wonderful and overall the experience worth the drive.Our Japanese guest enjoyed the whitebait fritter and my fish was very fresh.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alipa50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Amazing views, cute restaurant”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

The food wasn't great, but the views were amazing. Sit outside for ocean and lake views. The food took awhile, so be patient. It's worth it to just sit and enjoy the views.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Spontini11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Old school bar and great food”
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Really classic NZ bar and staff :)
We arrived for lunch on Saturday and there was one local in the bar. It was drizzling but we sat outside under the huge porch at trestle tables and had a great home made steak pie and sea food chowder with wine. Great sea and lake views. A short walk away is a fishing spot frequented by many locals. Great kiwi atmosphere, be prepared to do the ordering at the bar there is no table service.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank aasalmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Ferry Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Martinborough, Wairarapa
Martinborough, Wairarapa
 
Martinborough, Wairarapa
 

Been to Lake Ferry Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing