We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World famous fish and chips”

Lake Ferry Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 29 Restaurants in Martinborough
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“World famous fish and chips”
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Delicious fish and chips ( and other choices on the menu) in a back road country hotel, overlooking the sea. Slightly slow service on a busy day, and they can obviously seat even more. We would come again.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank copim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    61
    20
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Feilding, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A great country pub with a sunset view and good food”
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

You don't normally expect Wellington level service or food in such an out of the way place. Be prepared to be surprised. The fish n chips meal was delicious, perfectly cooked fresh fish. The service was very friendly and helpful, good ol' country pub style. When we realised the charge was less than we expected for our meal it turns out the small fish n chips was ordered but a quick message to the chef and the full meals were served.
The garden bar and views were lovely and the sunset stunning. Thank you team, well be back.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nuttykiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“not worth the drive”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Some friends said we should try this restaurant out - don't know what we have done to upset them but must of done something bad to get recommended to go here.
The hotel lunch was appalling. Waited nearly an hour for food to arrive and that was with us clearing and cleaning our own table as we saw other users doing. My mussels tasted "off", the rest of the chowder was cold, the pan fried fish was rubbery. And there was a swarm of flies in the kitchen and more than a dozen flying round the restaurant, meaning I had to be swatting them away every 5 second while trying to eat...they did have one of those electric fly swat light boxes but doesn't look like it has been maintained along with other areas and it wasn't on. Not somewhere we would return to

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sues09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Gorgeous lookout and good beers on tap”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

More than what you'd expect from a pub, but with a gourmet restaurant and stunning seafood menu in the restaurant. Unfortunately we were a little late to eat in the restaurant, but the bar menu was sufficient. The lady working the bar was delightful and very friendly, and the view sitting out the front was stunning. Definitely worth driving further down to where the outlet from the lake meets the sea, quite impressive.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nickliveshere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not just a pub....”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Me and my wife took what was supposed to be a day trip over the hill last weekend. We stopped in at the visitors centre in Martinborough for a bit of travel advice and one of the ladies suggested taking a drive out to Cape Palliser and stop at Lake Ferry for Lunch on the way home. After a lovely drive out to the Cape we pulled into the Lake Ferry Hotel. There were cars for miles and what seemed like about 100 other lunch guests. Before ordering the wait staff advised us that there may be a bit of a wait (30-40 mins), we weren't in a hurry so this wasn't a problem. We sat out in the garden bar and ordered the seafood chowder to share as a starter, I ordered the Fish of the day (snapper) and my wife the Nelson scallops. Well....the chowder came out 15 mins after we ordered and was close to the best I've ever had, packed with seafood and flavour with crispy croutons on top. 30mins later and our mains arrived. My snapper was superb! Just cooked through and the accompanying sauce just delicious. My wife also enjoyed her scallops and commented that there was no way we could get a dish of equal quality in Welly for anything near the same price. We shared what was supposed to be one bottle of Murdoch James Sav, but instead turned into 3! It was that hard to move when we were enjoying the food, sun and scenery (the sea, lake, mountain views) so much. Needless to say we could no longer drive anywhere so we ended up staying the night! The hotel is clean and comfy and we had a great night in the bar playing pool and watching the AB game on the big screen and after blowing our food budget on lunch we opted for fish and chips and a lamb burger off the 'pub menu' for dinner, which were very good. I can not say enough about how much we enjoyed our stay. The service wasn't in anyway 5 star but was friendly and genuine and a nice break from the slightly pretentious stuff we're used to in Welly. We will be back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Ferry Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Martinborough, Wairarapa
Martinborough, Wairarapa
 
Martinborough, Wairarapa
 

Been to Lake Ferry Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing