We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Poppies

Poppies
Book In Advance
More Info
$197.74*
and up
Private Full-Day Martinborough Wine Tour From Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Poppies Martinborough is the tasting room cellar door for our wines we serve a simple but beautiful vineyard platter for lunch that we believe will enhance our wines
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We had a great visit on Saturday. The venue is gorgeous, and Poppy was most welcoming and friendly to our group of 7 ladies - to us the service you get at a celler door is almost as important as the wine, and this ticked all the boxes. Beautiful tasting glasses too. Next time I come to Martinborough Ill be stopping here for a lunch platter. Shame they sold out of most of their wine, but I guess that means that they're popular! Very impressed with the venue - I can see this place becoming quite popular with weddings. Was one of our favourite stops of the day. PS - sorry again about the tree!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    13
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
410 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“What a great, friendly place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Poppy herself was a wonderful hostess, and the wine tasting was unpretentious and nice. The venue is really welcoming, and we loved the concept of platter style food as the only option - no decisions required!! Lovely service, lovely simple food, and really great glassware. Well priced, and highly recommended for a friendly relaxed late lunch.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MJMCD67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikanae, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Outstanding boutique winery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

We visited Poppies because we had had a bottle of her fine Pinot Gris at Wakelin House in Greytown the night before and wanted to check out her other wines. Unfortunately everything except the delicious Pinot Noir was "sold out" but on a chilly drizzly afternoon we settled in by the warm fireplace and had one of their terrific "Vineyard platters", a collection of delicious salmon, grilled and sun-dried vegetables, relish, tapenade, etc and glasses of the wines available. Enjoyed the friendly and lively atmosphere with lots of other visitors and will be looking out for Poppies wines in future. Great function centre too.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sale, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic platters for lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Poppie herself explained her wines and showed us around their lovely premises. We felt so welcome and thoroughly enjoyed her wines. Would love to taste this years vintage.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank KathDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Maitland NSW
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Elegance all the way!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

On my brief visit to Martinborough recently, it was recommended by 2 local businesses that I visit the relatively new Poppies. From the meet and greet at the door by Pip, followed swiftly by the warm welcome from Poppy and Shayne, I was hooked! The wines were elegant and refined, service was warm & friendly and the venue itself was just beautiful - gorgeous venue for a wedding!

Can't recommend their wines enough - definitely a stand out from anything I had tasted before and I have been in the wine industry in the Hunter Valley for nearly 10 years. I was very impressed and would (and have already) recommend them as a "must see' in the region. Keep up the great work guys!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poppies also viewed

Martinborough, Wairarapa
Martinborough, Wairarapa
 
Martinborough, Wairarapa
Martinborough, Wairarapa
 

Been to Poppies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing