We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic platters for lunch”
Review of Poppies

Poppies
Book In Advance
More Info
$203.33*
and up
Private Full-Day Martinborough Wine Tour From Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Poppies Martinborough is the tasting room cellar door for our wines we serve a simple but beautiful vineyard platter for lunch that we believe will enhance our wines
Sale, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic platters for lunch”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Poppie herself explained her wines and showed us around their lovely premises. We felt so welcome and thoroughly enjoyed her wines. Would love to taste this years vintage.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank KathDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    13
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
East Maitland NSW
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Elegance all the way!”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

On my brief visit to Martinborough recently, it was recommended by 2 local businesses that I visit the relatively new Poppies. From the meet and greet at the door by Pip, followed swiftly by the warm welcome from Poppy and Shayne, I was hooked! The wines were elegant and refined, service was warm & friendly and the venue itself was just beautiful - gorgeous venue for a wedding!

Can't recommend their wines enough - definitely a stand out from anything I had tasted before and I have been in the wine industry in the Hunter Valley for nearly 10 years. I was very impressed and would (and have already) recommend them as a "must see' in the region. Keep up the great work guys!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A relaxing lunch”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

A highlight of our wander around the Martinborough wineries - and our tour of NZ! It's a little way out of town if you're on foot but well worth the effort.
A lovely warm welcome, an informative talk by the enthusiastic winemaker (Poppy) and a VERY relaxing lunch on the terrace (summer platter to share followed by lemon and coconut tart - both wonderful - with a glass of our choice of the wines we'd tasted). We didn't want to leave!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank EmT28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is a new venue with a very limited menu i.e, a platter or a platter. But is was excellent. Wine tasting friendly with an informed smile. Very busy over Easter weekend. Attentive staff and a passionate owner called Poppy Hammond

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ian Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminyak, Indonesia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice little boutique vineyard /café only recently opened so not yet on the tourist maps.”
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Despite only a small selection of wine and a limited menu, we enjoyed a very tsty Mediterranean style meal along with a wonderful young Pinot Gris.
Unfortunately our unsophisticated palates did not really "get" the Martinborough specialty - pinot noir. Or possibly this is a case of the Emperor and his special new suit of (invisble ) clothes?
Anyway we enjoyed the food and wine at Poppies and would recommend including this venue on your tour of the area.
Not yet on the local tourist maps hence this recommendation.

Helpful?
Thank effbeezw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poppies also viewed

Martinborough, Wairarapa
Martinborough, Wairarapa
 
Martinborough, Wairarapa
Martinborough, Wairarapa
 

Been to Poppies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing