We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Gluten free menu”

Circus Cinema, Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 30 Restaurants in Martinborough
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Gluten free menu”
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Having recently being advised not to eat gluten or dairy I was happy to see a good selection of GF food. When i asked for dairy free this wasnt a problem for the chef. Food was lovely.
However due to the lack of staff to serve cinema goers and restaurant patrons my husband had to wait a long time for his coffee and we ended up getting into the film just in time, after i had to queue to pay my bill with people buying cinema tickets. Customer service was good but would be better with more staff.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NZSaffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    30
    8
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Great eating and movie experience”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We recently had a meal and watched a movie at Circus and the whole experience was lovely. Great service, food beautifully cooked and presented, and very friendly staff directing us to the right theatre. We'll be back!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome again”
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I highly recommend a visit. We have been many times and have always enjoyed great food at a reasonable cost. Service has aways been very good with friendly staff. The stylish garden area is an excellent place to enjoy a drink in the sun. Add a movie if you wish!
Will definately be back...soon.

Helpful?
Thank Nigel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Hutt, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Circus Cinema and Restuarant Amazing Food and Service”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We went two nights in a row for a meal and a movie. First night I ordered a steak (well done to my liking and it was so so tender) and my husband had the Fish meal who said it was absolutely delicious. Also ordered dessert - this was exquisite. The second night we ordered pizza and wedges - scrummy. The staff were polite and friendly and the service was fantastic. We also went to the movies both nights and the staff brought in our coffees while watching the movie. We normally go around 4 to 6 times a year and the staff are consistent in whatever they do. Also the first night we were talking to one of the staff and said we were interested in the movie playing the following day and she said that it was filling up fast and that she took our name so that we wouldn't miss out on the movie - that is what I call going the extra mile.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
92 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The food was good, but the service killed it”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We had dinner in Circus Cinema, but we certainly won't be back. It wasn't the quality of the food (actually pretty good), but the service that killed it for us.

First we made a reservation earlier that day, but upon arrival (5 min after the agreed time) we got told there were no tables available. We waited for a table to come free. After ordering dinner and drinks, it took very long to get our starter (cold assorted platter to share). When we complained about the reservation and the wait, we initially got accused of turning up too late for our reservation (not true) and that we ordered very late (not true either). After some discussion we were offered a free drink or desert. Later we ordered another drink, which again took ages to be brought out, despite being the only guests left.

When we paid, there was no apology and no free drink either (we realised later doing the math). Appalling service!! A lot to learn about hospitality!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EBinNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Circus Cinema, Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Martinborough, Wairarapa
Martinborough, Wairarapa
 
Martinborough, Wairarapa
 

Been to Circus Cinema, Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing