We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful relaxed and private place”
Review of Petit Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Petit Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Martinborough
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel for our honeymoon night. The room was beautifully furnished, fresh flowers were sitting on a table, a bottle of mineral water in the fridge and good coffee provided. The bathroom was huge and the shower had the most fantastic pressure. I only wish we had time to enjoy the bath also. The bed was very comfortable and the feather pillows soft and cosy. We will definately be back to celebrate an anniversary at some stage.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (23)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 23 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2012

The Petit Hotel is not a hotel with services rather 4 serviced rooms occupying the upstairs area of an old historic building in the main street of Martinborough. We stayed in the Provencal Room which was located at the front of the building. The room was lovely; well appointed with a comfy bed, luxury linen and a spacious bathroom with the added attraction of a clawed bath. However I do have a couple of negative comments to make regarding this accommodation; firstly the cleaning of the bathroom needs to be of a higher standard with regard to the bath and the shower screen both were in need of a thorough clean to remove built up soap scum! secondly unless you are a very heavy sleeper I would recommend one of the back rooms away from the street below because it can get quite noisy at times. Other than that it's a great location.

Room Tip: Back rooms would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noslen2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

The Petit hotel is not your conventional hotel,it consists of four lovely rooms in an old building in the middle of Martinborough. As a group we booked out all four rooms and the hotel suited our needs perfectly. It is well positioned in the centre of town. The rooms and bathrooms are well appointed and very comfortable. There are no other facilities in the hotel itself. The management team are readily available and happy to help.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baron31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Now under new management, the revitalised Petit Hotel gave us some fantastically warm hospitality. Right in the heart of Martinborough in a beautiful historic building, it was a very relaxing experience. Thorughly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TARKennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

The building looks nice and fits in with the Martinborough image. I don’t think it can be called a hotel if there is no staff to look after the guests. To me a hotel is an establishment providing accommodations, meals, and other services for travelers and tourists.

We were phoned the day before and given a code to let ourselves into the building and our room. No staff in attendance but a mobile phone number to call if any problems. I do not expect to have to pay for a mobile phone call if I have a problem, they should have at least had a Free Call number for their guests. This was a surprise as no mention of no staff on their website.

The bedroom was OK and had a wall mounted fan heater that took the chill off but the problem was it was on a timer that had to be re-set every so often, a real pain during the night. The motor of I assume the fan heater from the room next door could be heard and was annoying in the night.

There was a large bathroom with heated floor. No bathrobes or slippers were provided, I would have expected them at the price charged.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waiheke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

My biggest gripe is that hotel didn't respond to my list of complaints - A simple "sorry we'll try harder next time" would have avoided this review. My main complaints were that the manageress phoned the door access codes to the house at 9:15am - We had left at 9! She just happened to visit the place when we arrived so major panic averted.
Also wine glasses were dirty and only 1 coffee sachee supplied (besides the tea).
And bed was rock hard - Stayed at the White Swan the next night & had a better sleep.
On a postive note, rooms are fantastically decorated including the bathroom.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnzacPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2011

We were staying in Martinborough for a wedding and were thrilled with the Petit Hotel.

I was a little apprehensive about the 'non manned' hotel but I got a call from the woman who takes care of the place the day before with the access codes and I had her mobile number in case we needed anything.

The hotel was very easy to find - write in the heart of Martinborough.

When we arrived - the room was presented beautifully in French style. Several things I particularly liked about the experience:

- underfloor heating in the bathroom - its a gorgeous big bathroom with a clawfoot bath and generous shower so it was nice to be able to take our time in the bathroom wtih the heating underfoot.
- shoe polish kit in the draws
- mineral bottled water in the fridge
- high end finsh to all furnishings/furniture etc gave made for a luxurient stay

We are looking forward to going back and booking a different room to try!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AbbyBurns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martinborough
0 mi away
The Martinborough Hotel
The Martinborough Hotel
#2 of 4 in Martinborough
233 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
#3 of 4 in Martinborough
128 reviews
9.5 mi away
The White Swan
The White Swan
#2 of 3 in Greytown
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Claremont Motel & Apartments
19.5 mi away
GateWay Motor Inn Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Peppers Parehua Martinborough
#1 of 8 in Martinborough
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Hotel

Address: 3 Kitchener Street, Martinborough 5711, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Martinborough
Amenities:
Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Martinborough
Price Range: $128 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Petit Hotel is a delightful turn of the century Victorian property close to the square in the heart of picturesque Martinborough Wine Village. The hotel provides boutique accommodation with just four rooms each tastefully and luxuriously decorated in separate themes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Petit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing