We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful - would definitely go back”
Review of Petit Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Martinborough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Petit Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Martinborough
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“Delightful - would definitely go back”
Reviewed May 12, 2011

We were staying in Martinborough for a wedding and were thrilled with the Petit Hotel.

I was a little apprehensive about the 'non manned' hotel but I got a call from the woman who takes care of the place the day before with the access codes and I had her mobile number in case we needed anything.

The hotel was very easy to find - write in the heart of Martinborough.

When we arrived - the room was presented beautifully in French style. Several things I particularly liked about the experience:

- underfloor heating in the bathroom - its a gorgeous big bathroom with a clawfoot bath and generous shower so it was nice to be able to take our time in the bathroom wtih the heating underfoot.
- shoe polish kit in the draws
- mineral bottled water in the fridge
- high end finsh to all furnishings/furniture etc gave made for a luxurient stay

We are looking forward to going back and booking a different room to try!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbbyBurns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    6
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
17
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed April 25, 2011

we had a lovely stay at the Petit Hotel.
it was beautifully clean, fully equipped with what you would expect from a modern hotel, yet kept its charm of a boutique hotel
we will certainly return

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lee255115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2011

Reading earlier reviews I was unsure what to expect when my husband and I recently stayed at the Petit Hotel. We were very pleasantly surprised as the accommodation well exceeded our expectation. Our room (The Provence) was well appointed and very clean. The bathroom was very generously sized with lovely character fixture and fittings including a deep clawfoot bath as well as a separate tiled shower. The bed was very comfortable and fitted with good quality linen. The hotel is handy to cafes and other amenities as it is situated right by the square. I would highly recommend this accommodation to anyone visiting Martinborough and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathc1511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2007

We had tried to book the Martinborough Hotel, but ended up staying here instead as it was full the night we were in town. We did not share the experience of the previous reviewer. We also noticed the "for sale" sign, but the hotel either seems to have been bought by the people who run the Martinborough Hotel next door or they are temporarily managing it. Either way, it seems they have fixed some of the issues. We stayed in the "Devon" room, which was beatifully furnished, comfortable and clean. The hotel's location is great, just off the main square. Overall though, if you can get into the Martinborough Hotel it is probably a better bet, but this is not a bad second choice at all.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank vlasska10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2007

We stayed for four nights in the petit hotel in martinbrough on our month long trip round NZ (see other reports). This was the only less than satisfactory stay we had.
We were aware that the hotel was unattended so that was not a problem, it is a lovely old historical building and the decor inside is very nice, somebody definately worked through the design books but quite frankly the for sale sign on the front says it all. The room was not properly cleaned, dirty glasses on arival, spiderswebs to beat lord of the rings, stains on the bedcover, a shower that was broken, a cracked coffee jug, lights that did not work, cupboard doors falling off, etc, etc, etc.
Basically lack of care and attention that you expect for the price and the area, the next door hotel (Peppers!) is vastly superior.
We did report the faults in writing immediatly and had the coffee jug replaced but that was the only action over 4 nights, I could have fixed 75% of the faults in a couple of hours with a screwdriver and some spare bulbs but no effort was taken.
I sincerely hope that the next owner gets it right because the hotel is situated beautifully and has vast potential.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon Pepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martinborough
0.0 mi away
The Martinborough Hotel
The Martinborough Hotel
#2 of 4 in Martinborough
212 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
#3 of 4 in Martinborough
128 reviews
9.5 mi away
The White Swan
The White Swan
#1 of 3 in Greytown
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Wharekauhau Country Estate
Wharekauhau Country Estate
#1 of 1 in Featherston
120 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Claremont Motel & Apartments
0.4 mi away
The Old Manse
The Old Manse
#1 of 8 in Martinborough
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Hotel

Property: Petit Hotel
Address: 3 Kitchener Street, Martinborough 5711, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Martinborough
Amenities:
Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Martinborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Petit Hotel is a delightful turn of the century Victorian property close to the square in the heart of picturesque Martinborough Wine Village. The hotel provides boutique accommodation with just four rooms each tastefully and luxuriously decorated in separate themes. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing