We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You can stay here too in their 2 bedroom cottage...”
Review of Vynfields

Vynfields
Attraction details
London
Level Contributor
245 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“You can stay here too in their 2 bedroom cottage...”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We had spent a month travelling around NZ & we stayed in Martinborough for our last weekend. Vynfields was the perfect choice, a lovely 2 bedroom cottage looking out over the vineyard, it has it's own cedar hot tub to soak in at night & an old coal/wood burning BBQ to use. Everything was perfect. We also had a lovely lunch & tried the Vynfields wines during our stay as well (a bottle of pinot noir was waiting for us when we arrived). We couldn't have asked for a nicer more relaxing end to our superb holiday. Thanks John & Kaye for your superb hospitality!!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank NaomiBUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    12
    6
    5
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
438 reviews
124 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Lovely garden setting, outside restored historic house”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

The heading above really says it all if the weather is fine; peaceful garden setting some glasses of wine with friends looking out over rows of vines, shared platters of assorted meats, pickles and cheeses. We did the 5 wine matches which is good value considering the size of the wine glasses you get. Platters, wines, cake, coffees, came to $50 pp. They also have lovely cake for dessert. The wines (a rather interesting sparking Riesling, a Rose and 2 Pinot Noirs) are oaky but nothing stunning I thought.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Skin197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“Perfect way to spend a winter's afternoon”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is my absolute favourite place to visit in the Wairarapa. The hospitality, the wine, the delicious antipasto platters, and the beautiful homely environment are outstanding. I recommend Vynfields to all of my friends and family.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank SFO1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“Great wine, Great setting and Great People!”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Recently had a conference retreat for a few days in Martinborough and a trip around the vines was arranged by our hosts. Out of all the wineries we toured, Vynfields stood out by far with no comparison. Their organic wine is simply the best. My favorite wine sampled was the Mad Rooster followed by the Rose. Our group raved about the setting and how lovely it was to meet the owners, John & Kaye. So nice to meet genuine people who really understand how to look after guests and make you feel welcomed. Can't wait to return with family.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank MJWGTN01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“Perfect setting for relaxing break away”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

What a perfect setting for a relaxing break away from the city. My partner and I spent a lovely two nights staying at the cottage at Vynfields. We loved the big roaring open fire in the evening and relaxing in the hot tub. During the day we made the short walk into Martinborough (about 10 minutes) and visited the local cafes. On our return we sat outside the cottage with a glass of wine in hand looking out onto the vineyard. What a great setting for a few days of good wine (we especially love the Vynfield's Riesling), food and relaxing (or exploring all of the vineyards that are so close to hand). We will definitely be going back.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank JeremyandChloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vynfields also viewed

Martinborough, Wairarapa
Martinborough, Wairarapa
 
Martinborough, Wairarapa
Martinborough, Wairarapa
 

Been to Vynfields? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing