We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect setting for relaxing break away”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Vynfields

Vynfields
Attraction details
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“Perfect setting for relaxing break away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

What a perfect setting for a relaxing break away from the city. My partner and I spent a lovely two nights staying at the cottage at Vynfields. We loved the big roaring open fire in the evening and relaxing in the hot tub. During the day we made the short walk into Martinborough (about 10 minutes) and visited the local cafes. On our return we sat outside the cottage with a glass of wine in hand looking out onto the vineyard. What a great setting for a few days of good wine (we especially love the Vynfield's Riesling), food and relaxing (or exploring all of the vineyards that are so close to hand). We will definitely be going back.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank JeremyandChloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    12
    6
    5
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely people, lovely setting...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

An escape weekend away from Wellington with friends was just what the doctor ordered, and we weren't disappointed when we discovered Vynfields Winery. We went late in the day for a wine tasting, and were so impressed by the attentive and interested owners and staff, that we went back for a leisurely brunch on the Sunday. Again, we weren't disappointed! Great setting, beautiful food, delicious organic wines and owners and staff that really cared about their craft and the people they met. Well done Vynfields team - we'll definitely be back :)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Quartetx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“God send!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

After a hard star to the year my partner and I escaped to Vynfields for a few nights to stay in the Vynfields cottage. Arriving at the accomodation we could see it had been decorated by a person with obvious flair for interior design. It felt warm and comfortable straight away. We quickly visited the restaurant and were greeted with a flight of Vynfield wines to savour. I can honestly say they were the best wines we tasted while in Martinborough! The owner went out of her way to come sit and and talk with us , recommending local restaurants and was incredibly knowledgable. We loved being so close to the town centre and our wineries - and hiring bikes for the day was blast.
The high light for us had to be the location really. I'll never forget lying on banana chairs with a glass of wine in hand - spotting shooting stars in the stunningly clear night sky- and then being able to jump in the cedar wood hot tub to warm up. I read in the guest book that a couple had got engaged there not long before and I can see why. Very romantic. We are looking forward to going back and will take a few friends next time as their is room for four people at least in accomodation. Thanks Vynfields for a much needed break.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank amyaotearoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pure bliss”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Great place to unwind and enjoy delicious wine and sumptuous food. Great service and location next to vines- we need more local organic producers but its great to see such a high standard of service as well as a commitment to the enviroment

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank parkecology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stylish slice of rural life”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

What a magical spot - we had a very relaxing time in the beautiful organic garden at Vynfields and enjoyed learning about the relocation of the house, the growing of the biodynamic grapes and the making of the fine wines - my favourite tastings were the rose and award-winning Pinot noir - yum yum - and a clear head the next day because there are no chemicals - would recommend -

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank OrganicWine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vynfields also viewed

Martinborough, Wairarapa
Martinborough, Wairarapa
 
Martinborough, Wairarapa
Martinborough, Wairarapa
 

Been to Vynfields? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing