We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheese platter without the crackers in these gluten free times!!!”
Review of Vynfields

Vynfields
Attraction details
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cheese platter without the crackers in these gluten free times!!!”
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Family and I were having a lovely day until we experienced the cheese platter and staff at vynfields. Beautiful setting beautiful house but terribly expensive and unjustified. We each ordered a bowl of soup which came with a hot bread roll. We also opted for the$39 cheese platter to share. The soups arrived as did the bread rolls and the platter. I enquired as to where were the crackers. I was told I needed to pay extra for rolls as these were not included Nd in these gluten free times they never knew what people wanted with these cheese platters! I suggested crackers... And even the owner agreed yes she does find it odd to get a platter of cheese and nothing to put it on except dried peanuts !!! Come on Vynfields sharpen up or lower your prices.

Helpful?
1 Thank Michellejanewilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    12
    5
    5
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“sunny romantic lunch”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We just loved the organic feel of this place. the homestead is so very picturesque and on a sunny day sitting outside with other bike riders for a long lunch with a fabulous selection of their wines we spent a good few hours. Also enjoyed meeting others in the garden

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank toni b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauchope, New South Wales, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Pleasant surroundings”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

On a sunny spring day this boutique winery was the perfect place to sit and taste their organic wines and eat. The tables and umbrellas are situated in front of the gorgeous historic house, which was moved to this site. (Photos of the move can be seen in their album in the foyer.) We had three tasting wine in our party and it was cheaper to go with the $25 tray of 5 half glasses of different wines to share. (All given a tasting glass.) An antipasto platter for two was $39 and bread rolls to go with it another $2 each. Soup and cake was also available.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sue Russell K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful wine!”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

My partner and I visited Vynfields for the second time on a weekend getaway to Martinborough. The first time we visited we took my partner's mother who was visiting from the UK and had lunch as well as a wine tasting. The food was fabulous - we had an antipasto platter which ticked all the boxes, and lovely hot rolls of bread were the perfect accompaniment. The wine is just fantastic - particular favorites are the sparkling riesling and the well awarded pinot noir. Not only has the food and wine been great on both our visits, we were also made to feel very welcome by the very friendly and informative hosts. The gorgeous cats who also call Vynfields home added real character - they are more than happy to join on on your wine tasting and demand cuddles. We will definitely be returning, and now that we have found a consistent Vynfields stockist in Wellington we can enjoy the wines even when we are not in Martinborough.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Leanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Picturesque colonial farmhouse set amoung the vines”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

A favourite stop for those wandering around the vineyards of Martinborough. This vineyard is just a few hundred yards in front of the wonderfully eccentric Haythornthwaite cellar door.For a small fee the visitor is provided with a beautifully presented array of wines to taste together with informative instructions. Cheese platters are also available and accompany the wine well.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Restraining
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vynfields also viewed

Martinborough, Wairarapa
Martinborough, Wairarapa
 
Martinborough, Wairarapa
Martinborough, Wairarapa
 

Been to Vynfields? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing