We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cool spot in a beautiful town.”

Cool Change Bar & Eatery
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Why Cool Change? Cool change came to fruition for a number of reasons. Having frequented this stunning region for some years to escape the hustle & bustle of the city life at every opportunity, we saw a window to taste the Wairarapa life as residents & business owners. Hence why we thought it would be a Cool Change. We stumbled across the chance to convert one of the most ornate, beautiful buildings in the Wairarapa into a warm, comfortable, unique hospitality concept. The name derives from one of our greatest passions - music. Throw in the fact that we are vulnerable to the odd occasional southerly blast & fondness of "The Little River Band" Cool Change was born. Our facility consists of 1 private function room, seats 12 people. Our dining room features booth seating, open fire, period & deco lighting and retro wallpaper. The bar greets you on entry with a warm ambiance; sky TV when required & a wine list to tempt those taste buds. Cool Change cuisine will not disappoint as our Head Chef Rachel Priestley has weaved her magic around the globe - Italy, Switzerland, Austria, United States, France, Finland, Sweden, Taipei, Hong Kong, China - Shanghai. Her cuisine is Italian inspired food, using the freshest ingredients including using her own italian salumi. Food and wine was her life and Rachel worked for 10 years in Italy. She produces all sorts of Italian salumi products from happy pigs in New Zealand, she has opened six Italian restaurants in Italy, taught Tuscan chefs how to cook Tuscan cuisine better, taught male chefs from Puglia in the South of Italy their own cuisine. Rachel ran a truffle shop in Florence, opened a wine bar in Bormio for Amaro Braulio, a restaurant by the sea in Gaeta in a 14th century pharmacy, a restaurant in Naples for the Camorra - the Naples Mafia. And now she is back in New Zealand to supply you with fine Italian food and wine, cooking here at Cool Change Bar & Eatery.
1 review
“Great cool spot in a beautiful town.”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

If in Martinborough, don't leave without paying this place a visit. Enjoy a drink and relax in retro arm chairs out on the street. Friendly staff. Cool place. Great pics inside.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WayDownUnder2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    80
    33
    10
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Cool Change is definitely Cool!”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

This is probably the best restaurant in the town. With its funky decor and prime location in the square it has presence and style. The bar is a great meeting spot before dinner where you can relax over a drink and meet plenty of the locals.

The menu with its italian infusion and local produce is a treat. The cured meats platter is a wonderful starter with flavours that simply melt in your mouth. The risotto cakes are also a star. It is hard to pick a favourite from the mains but for us the twice cooked pork belly and the Scotch Fillet were outstanding. Good portions and wonderful presentation. The restaurant has a superb selection of wines with a good selection of local Martinborough wines as well as varietals from other regions and overseas.

You simply cannot go past Cool Change when in Martinborough!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and atmosphere”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

This was my second time at Cool Change and the team here are very helpful and accommodating. We were a group of 9 woman and although I needed to change the number coming for dinner a few times they were both patient and accommodating. Food was great all round, pork belly was a huge hit! It was very busy and a bit rowdy due to a beer festival being on in Martinborough that day, but the staff were very friendly and professional. My favorite place to dine in Martinborough!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CatherineWatson70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Yum, yum!”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Great service, good seating, attention to customer comfort (breeze, seating), wine selection great, food fanatastic! Pork belly's reputation had got about and I verify that; lamb succulent and well-flavoured - oh and the entrees of arancini (Italian rice balls) and breads and dips tasty and well-sized. Loved reading the dessert menu but left room for the next day's "long Italian lunch". We'll be back again for pudding!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruth898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinborough, New Zealand
1 review
“Roosters”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

I had a great experience the other night at CC, the services was superb even tho they were solid, great food and great soup, I recommend this place to any roosters!!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peacock2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cool Change Bar & Eatery also viewed

Martinborough, Wairarapa
Martinborough, Wairarapa
 
Martinborough, Wairarapa
Martinborough, Wairarapa
 

Been to Cool Change Bar & Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing