We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very cool”

Cool Change Bar & Eatery
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: Bar, Wine Bar, New Zealand, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Why Cool Change? Cool change came to fruition for a number of reasons. Having frequented this stunning region for some years to escape the hustle & bustle of the city life at every opportunity, we saw a window to taste the Wairarapa life as residents & business owners. Hence why we thought it would be a Cool Change. We stumbled across the chance to convert one of the most ornate, beautiful buildings in the Wairarapa into a warm, comfortable, unique hospitality concept. The name derives from one of our greatest passions - music. Throw in the fact that we are vulnerable to the odd occasional southerly blast & fondness of "The Little River Band" Cool Change was born. Our facility consists of 1 private function room, seats 12 people. Our dining room features booth seating, open fire, period & deco lighting and retro wallpaper. The bar greets you on entry with a warm ambiance; sky TV when required & a wine list to tempt those taste buds. Cool Change cuisine will not disappoint as our Head Chef Rachel Priestley has weaved her magic around the globe - Italy, Switzerland, Austria, United States, France, Finland, Sweden, Taipei, Hong Kong, China - Shanghai. Her cuisine is Italian inspired food, using the freshest ingredients including using her own italian salumi. Food and wine was her life and Rachel worked for 10 years in Italy. She produces all sorts of Italian salumi products from happy pigs in New Zealand, she has opened six Italian restaurants in Italy, taught Tuscan chefs how to cook Tuscan cuisine better, taught male chefs from Puglia in the South of Italy their own cuisine. Rachel ran a truffle shop in Florence, opened a wine bar in Bormio for Amaro Braulio, a restaurant by the sea in Gaeta in a 14th century pharmacy, a restaurant in Naples for the Camorra - the Naples Mafia. And now she is back in New Zealand to supply you with fine Italian food and wine, cooking here at Cool Change Bar & Eatery.
Wellington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very cool”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Mid century style decor, good music, good range of wines and cocktails and snacks. Bread with local oils was beautiful. Tap beer selection was a little limited but to be expected at a small bar.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank FrankieRuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    77
    31
    10
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A bit underwhelming”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for a new, casual restaurant to try in Martinborough and found this online. The service was very friendly and attentive but unfortunately I felt the food was a bit average. The beef was tasty and the rhubarb crumble went down well but the fish didn't impress - overall OK but not amazing. The atmosphere is very casual and the decor retro.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jo_Holt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
2 reviews
“This place is as it says...a cool change...from the rest!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

This place is tops! A great atmosphere, cool music, laid back and unpretentious. The owners are easy-going, enjoy a yarn, relaxed and genuinely care that you're having a good time. With a great range of local award-winning Pinot and lots of fantastic tapa's style nibbles, this local eatery has hit the nail on the head. One final thing - it's incredibly good value too! My wife and I cannot say enough good things about this place and we thoroughly recommend it to anyone and everyone! We'll be back for sure! As for some of the other reviews I've read here...I am stunned...to not enjoy this place you'd have to be either on large doses of medication or a complete w**ker.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank waka74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

I just want to thank Cool Change for providing such a great night for my husband and I! Sharon was an amazing waitress and the food was excellent as well. We had to giggle at the rather illogical review left by those before us - theres no pleasing some people!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Meganwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disgraceful!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

I am writing to confirm Sandra's review .I was one of the ladies in this group of four to visit this restaurant on the night of the Martinborough Fair...a fabulous day , met lovely people and shared laughs with friends..thank you Martinborough . Then we visited this restaurant for dinner. I was so stunned at the customer service, the barman was great but hung his head in shame when the waitress made the rude remark in front of a full restaurant!!! What a shame, but felt like going back to thank her because we had a fantastic meal and drinks at RELOAD. Best place in this town, the staff were amazing.I will never ever go back to Cool Change as thats exactly what we got a.... COOL CHANGE!!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cool_change01, Owner at Cool Change Bar & Eatery, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Debbie S...

Thank you for your feedback. Yet again It surprises me that you can leave a feedback of this caliber without actually experiencing the food and service at Cool Change.

Like I said below we have spoken to the staff member and she has told us that if she had said what you have stated above, that it would have been in jest, and nothing more. We at Cool Change pride ourselves on comical, quirky and friendly service, and if you have taken this the wrong way then we are terribly sorry. I don't think it would have been intentional.

It does make us happy that you had a wonderful experience at Reload. Martinborough has some fantastic restaurant/bar/cafes. We all work very hard to service everyone that comes to Martinborough. Thank you very much for attempting to try Cool Change, and lets hope next time you are in town you will come visit us.

Karina Hailwood
Owner / Operator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cool Change Bar & Eatery also viewed

Martinborough, Wairarapa
Martinborough, Wairarapa
 
Martinborough, Wairarapa
Martinborough, Wairarapa
 

Been to Cool Change Bar & Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing