We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice food, but premises a little drab.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Siam Kitchen - MOVED

Siam Kitchen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Thai dine-in or takeaways. Lunch starts from 11am - 3pm and dinner starts from 5pm - 9.30pm. BYO Wine only where corkage fee is $5 per bottle.
Wellington
Level Contributor
84 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice food, but premises a little drab.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

A big difference between the takeout prices & dine in. But the restaurant is BYO & centrally located.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    17
    11
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good as it gets”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Visting Martiniborough for the weekend and had the urge for something simple, tasty, spicy and possibly Asian. Scoured Tripadvisor and Siam was it (cool change was booked out). What a score.....what a find. I ordered the basil and chilli chicken with extra chicken. The girlie ordered basil and chilli prawn. Satay skewers for entree and bottle of Hudson Sav Blanc for wiNe. From start to finish It was spot on.....It was perfectly simple. The flavours were tasty as and the chef didnt hold back on the extra chicken. Just what the doctor ordered.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Grubar30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinborough, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best Thai south of Bangkok”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

An array of dishes were ordered to take away for our party of four. All four of us were delighted by the quality, taste and size of the dishes. The ordered was dispatched in a timely manner by a delightful staff member.
For $100 four of us enjoyed a huge dinner, a few had some bits and pieces of left overs for breakfast with enough left over for some snacks in the afternoon.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Francois C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fussy Thai eater.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

Couldn't believe how delicious and what great value.

We always get take-away, so we can't vouch for in-house dining experience, but the food is wonderful and at the requested heat (one of us likes it very hot, and the other not hot).

I look forward to it every time we go there.

10/10

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank NikkeJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
163 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Value - not flash, but good food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

We dine here very regularly, and have no expectations other than a top quality Thai meal, at very reasonable prices. Yes, it is true that sometimes the wait can be a bit long, but I have to ask, how long is too long if the food is excellent? This is good Thai food prepared by a Thai family with all attention to the right flavours and spices. While waiting, just try a bottle of one of the many Martinborough wines they have on offer. I find it amazing that for a simple restaurant/take away just how extensive the wine list is. And the wine prices are very reasonable - the place could easily become a cult wine bar!!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Siam Kitchen also viewed

Martinborough, Wairarapa
 
Martinborough, Wairarapa
Martinborough, Wairarapa
 
Martinborough, Wairarapa
Martinborough, Wairarapa
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing