We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The wines we were allowed to taste were good, but....”
Review of Schubert Wines

Schubert Wines
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A world search, which also included France, Germany, North and South America as well as Australia for the ideal area with perfect conditions for viticulture, especially for Pinot Noir, brought Kai Schubert and Marion Deimling, graduates of the German Viticulture and Oenology University in Geisenheim to the Wairarapa, New Zealand. Schubert vineyards are closely planted and the unique climate produces low yields and internationally award winning wines with intense and complex character; predominantly exported to currently 25 countries.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

All of the wineries I visited in Martinborough had $5 per person tasting fees. I do not object to this especially if they refund the fee on purchase of wine. They all do. Maybe I'm being picky, but if I pay a tasting fee, then I want to be able to taste all of the wines and not be told that their best is too exclusive for me as was the case at Schubert. At the very least they could inform you that some wines are not on tasting at the outset. It contributed to why I found Martinborough (with the notable exception of Ata Rangi) less visitor friendIy than Central Otago.

1  Thank Herm0ine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchubertWines, Owner at Schubert Wines, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Dear Herm0ine,

Thanks you very much for your review and I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your visit at our tasting room. Indeed we have introduced a tasting fee as well and probably were one of the last vineyards to do so. Both Christine and Robert who conduct the tastings usually inform all visitors specifically about the wines available for tasting. Due to limited availability or the sheer fact that some wines may be sold out it is pretty much impossible to have all wines available for tasting. My apologies if this was not clearly communicated to you beforehand. I hope you will give us another chance on another visit to Martinborough so we could contribute to a hopefully otherwise very enjoyable visit to our small & friendly region.

Regards,
Kai Schubert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 41 of 56 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2013

The Schubert wines are extremely good, but not in our opinion the best in Martinborough. However, the chap running the tasting session was outstanding. He was not just knowledgeable but engaging as well. It helps if you know a bit about wine, which we do, as he will the get you to participate you in the discussion by getting you to guess the varieties in some of their wines. It was a fantastic 45 minutes.

1  Thank TravelNutBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchubertWines, Owner at Schubert Wines, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Dear TravelNutBristol,

Thank you very much for your kind words about our wines. I am very glad you enjoyed your visit at our tasting room. We always try to engage people in what we are doing; after all we are quite enthusiastic about our work and wine in general. Thanks again so much for letting us know about your joyful visit. Hope we will have the pleasure seeing you in Martinborough soon again.

Kind regards,
Kai Schubert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Well worth a visit if you want to discover fine wines that are small batch, hand made stuff. Christine at the cellar door is warm & welcoming, and very knowledgeable. The original vineyard site is right on the doorstep and you can literally look outside and see where your wine comes from. Favourites were the soft, tropical sav blanc & ALL of the Pinots!!

Thank Jodi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchubertWines, Owner at Schubert Wines, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear Jodi B,

Thank you very much for your kind words!! We are very glad you enjoyed your visit and the wines so much , in particular the Sauvignon blanc and all Pinots. And yes, our Christine is most knowledgeable!! Thanks again and hope to see you back at our tasting room soon again.
Best regards,
Kai Schubert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

A short visit, but a very knowledgeable staff - I took him for Mr. Schubert but did not ask - and excellent wines! Definitely recommended.

Thank GaborLeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchubertWines, Owner at Schubert Wines, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Dear GaborLeo,

Thanks very much for your kind words! I will forward your feedback to Robert to whom you most probably talked to in our tasting room. And of course we are very glad that you enjoyed our wines. Thanks again & kind regards, Kai Schubert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Great little boutique winery in Martinborough. Whilst there were only 3 wines on tasting here, all three were fantastic! Their 2009 Syrah is absolutely superb! The staff was helpful and informative and there is no pressure to buy unlike at other wineries. It is a shame we can't get their wines commercially here in Australia. Highly recommend one drops in if one is in the area!

Thank Cheryl810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchubertWines, Owner at Schubert Wines, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Dear Cheryl810,

Thanks very much for your kind words. I am very glad you enjoyed your visit and tasting the wines; in particular the Syrah. We are also working on our distribution in Australia; but of course being a small winery our wines will always only be available in a few spots; hopefully one will be close to where you live. We are looking forward to welcoming you back at our tasting room. Kind regards, Kai Schubert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schubert Wines also viewed

Martinborough, Wairarapa
Martinborough, Wairarapa
 
Martinborough, Wairarapa
Martinborough, Wairarapa
 

Been to Schubert Wines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing