We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice wee cinema”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Circus Cinema

Circus Cinema
Attraction details
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A nice wee cinema”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Looking for something to do in the evening in Martinborough, The cinema is the obvious choice. Good wholesome food and friendly service. But the multiplex cinema but rather a friendly arty films. Don't expect hollywood blockbuster. Its just nice and simple

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ian Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    11
    4
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Our own personal cinema!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

We enjoyed being served coffee while we waited for the cinema to become free, and when we were ushered in we were the only three people in the audience! Very comfortable little cinema and friendly service, there seems to be a good range of films on.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank AngieDeakin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A trip to the cinema”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Very nice cinema, just a bit of noise coming through the walls from the restaurant next door. Very comfy seats and amazing staff.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank thevegetarians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
509 reviews
293 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Civilisation in Martinborough.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

What a joy for regular visitors to Martinborough as well as locals. Two small, well- equipped little cinemas with a nice range of arty as well as mainstream movies. Sensible restaurant and wine list with great pizzas. Arrive early and have a glass of wine in the courtyard garden. Try a glass of the local prosseco.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank AllanJGJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“a gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

How fortunate are the locals in Martinborough to have this wonderful cinema with 2 small screening rooms, and a great choice of films. I felt like I was attending a private screening. You can eat before or after the film, in the dining area. Food was delicious and very reasonably priced. A very enjoyable and memorable night out!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank oenophil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Circus Cinema also viewed

Martinborough, Wairarapa
 
Martinborough, Wairarapa
Martinborough, Wairarapa
 

Been to Circus Cinema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing