We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Brackenridge Country Retreat
Nearby Hotels
$187
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Martinborough Hotel(Martinborough)(Great Value!)
$112
$103
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Claremont Motel & Apartments(Martinborough)(Great Value!)
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The White Swan(Greytown)(Great Value!)
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Greytown Hotel(Greytown)
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$81
$67
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Masterton Motor Lodge(Masterton)(Great Value!)
$81
$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$78
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (120)
Filter reviews
120 results
Traveler rating
75
36
6
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
75
36
6
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbedroom cottageopen firethe cottagesfresh eggsteam buildingspa poolunderfloor heatingwellington citydeep tissue massagebreakfast ingredientsconference roombook a spa treatmentfarm eggssmall fireplacefree range eggselectric blanketsfriends wedding
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 120 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed in a two bedroom cottage and it was perfect. Id go back in a second.
The cottage was spacious, the beds were comfortably - loved the featherdown duvet.
Our favourite was the fireplace with unlimited firewood which warmed the place up. A very romantic place to visit.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank emmanorman28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Whenever we need to escape the hustle and busy of Wellington we head over to Brackenridge Country Retreat. You can't beat the place, it has everything there, you just take food and drinks and sit back and relax. Being self catering keeps costs down and enable us to light the fire and enjoy our stay. BBQ is provided so when the weather is good, the men do the cooking outside and we eat al fresco. We usually go over with our adult family members and book a two bedroom cottage. We all enjoy a swim in the heated pool, some have a workout in the gym or we go for a walk along the country road before breakfast. And when planned, we often book a massage and/or facial treatment. As I say, it has everything there... we just love staying at Brackenridge. In fact we all love the venue so much our daughter and son in law had their wedding reception on site a few years ago.

Room Tip: They have a variety of 'cottages' or studio apartments. Just make sure you ask for one with an open fire - summer or winter an open fire is so relaxing.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ingie272014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

In February, stayed with others in a 2 bed cottage at this resort making it reasonably priced. Close to the lovely village of Martinborough and all the wineries, the area was peaceful and lovely. Walks in the countryside one can acknowledge the cows and sheep making it a retreat with a great rural feel. The cottage was well equipped, clean, comfortable and the staff friendly and attentive. Fresh eggs, milk and juice daily if required. Very good pool and fitness centre. So hard to beat New Zealand in its beauty and facilities even though can be a bit expensive due to currency exchange rates - obviously depending from where you come.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gracie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We attended a family wedding at Brackenridge and stayed in a 2 bedroomed cottage.It was absolutely lovely.The venue for the wedding was perfectly located in a rural setting.The staff were fantastic.We shared with another couple in the cottage($360 for 4) which was large and so well equipped ,.Fresh Milk and eggs,juice coffee,beans,cereal,bread,jams,butter, even Berocca!The décor was so nice with every attention to detail you could wish for.We have every intention of returning for a winter weekend just to drink wine in front of that fireplace!Happily pay the price for that quality.

Room Tip: I think the cottages were perfect but the studios looked great too.Cottages are better value if there is more than 1 couple.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Staffydog55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stumbled upon this lovely little spa just outside the town. From our unit we could see the cows grazing at the fence but had privacy from our neighbours. The unit was high end with lots of luxury items. Worth visiting the pool and spa.
The eggs for breakfast were delicious.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: I cannot imagine a 'bad' room at this location
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 130,731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews