We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but could do better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Brackenridge Country Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2012

The facilities were good in the cottage but needs more heating options. We stayed in June on a very cold night - there is an open fire & one econoheat panel heater. The cottage is open plan & on the night we stayed even with the fire banked right up & the panel heater on it was still uncomfortably cold. It needs a heat pump or extra heating available. The fire soon went out after we'd gone to bed & it was like a fridge in there. They also need darker curtains in the bedrooms to keep out the light.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 116 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2012

I booked a 2 night weekend package which included dinner and transport to/from Tirohana Estate and a spa voucher which turned out to be very good value. I requested a studio with fire place and bath which was allocated to us - the room itself was spacious and comfortable and the fireplace was great!

We booked 2 hot stone massages which were very relaxing, we also used the spa and pool and were impressed with all the facilities.

The breakfast provided on both days is worth mentioning - good selection and well catered.

Overall, a great stay!

Room Tip: If you go for a studio, request one with a fireplace. We had no. 8 - it was close to the spa too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suegri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Lovely place to go for a girls weekend. Really enjoyed the quiet, countryside surroundings, nice and cozy lounge with fire, breakfast provided, and spa treatments.

Short 10 minute walk into the town =)

HIghly recommended

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed at Brackenridge as part of a yearly AGM with our car club. We shared a 4 bedroom (3 bathroom) cottage with 3 other couples and we couldn't fault the place. They provide everything you need for you to make your own breakfasts, which is great, as theres no time to stick too. You can also have a massage (slightly overpriced, but still good), manicure, pedicure, etc at the day spa, which is on site. It's not far from the township of Martinborough, which has some very "yummy" restaurants and cafes.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColleenBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We have stayed at Brackenridge twice now and will definitely return. Great value for money with all the amenities you need, pool, jacuzzi, spa treatments etc and located amongst Martinborough's vineyards and farms - very peaceful. Very dog friendly which is great, ample space to run around. We stayed in a two-bed cottage which was spacious and well equipped with BBQ, wood burner, 2 bathrooms and open plan lounge dining area. Big enough for two couples or a family (has a pull-out couch as well so could sleep 6). Nice tv too.
A great place to relax...

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank idgitte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Stayed in the studio unit. Not as good as the cottages but there was only two of us so couldn't justify that expense. The spa treatment was great and the pool handy for a bit of lap swimming. A little far from town if you want to drink in the village but overall a nice quiet couple of days.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

The two bedroom cottage was well equipped, spacious with a relaxing view of farm paddocks. Very quiet, well kept and we got a great deal from Wotif.com. Hope to come again soon.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolynWellingtonNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Martinborough hotels
1.3 mi away
The Martinborough Hotel
The Martinborough Hotel
#2 of 4 in Martinborough
242 reviews
1.9 mi away
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
#3 of 4 in Martinborough
128 reviews
1.9 mi away
Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Peppers Parehua Martinborough
#1 of 8 in Martinborough
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Pinot Villas
Pinot Villas
#4 of 8 in Martinborough
165 reviews
1.9 mi away
Margrain Vineyard Villas
Margrain Vineyard Villas
#5 of 8 in Martinborough
101 reviews
1.3 mi away
Martinborough TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brackenridge Country Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brackenridge Country Retreat

Address: White Rock Road RD2, Martinborough 5782, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Martinborough
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Martinborough
Price Range: $101 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Brackenridge Country Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Brackenridge Country Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing