We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Akrotiri Estate Olive Grove & Accommodation
Nearby Hotels
$187
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Martinborough Hotel(Martinborough)(Great Value!)
$112
$103
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Claremont Motel & Apartments(Martinborough)(Great Value!)
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The White Swan(Greytown)(Great Value!)
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Greytown Hotel(Greytown)
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$81
$67
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Masterton Motor Lodge(Masterton)(Great Value!)
$81
$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$78
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveler rating
31
7
0
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
31
7
0
1
1
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 40 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2012

The accommodation is generously sized, with two bedrooms and a large living room. You get your own breakfast, which is a little tricky without a sink.
Having read the reviews, we arrived with high expectations. However, it was disappointing. It felt a bit unloved. The towels and sheets smelt rather unpleasantly. There was a dead fly by the bed. Some of the fruit in the fridge, that we were given for breakfast, had started to go mouldy. The shower gel in the bathroom was empty and there was no shampoo.
Eating out in Martinborough on a Tuesday eveing was also a little tricky, as we had trouble finding a restaurant that was open. We had been recommended to the Thai restaurant so that was where we ate.

Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank JeffandLiz36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minkamonka, Owner at Akrotiri Estate Olive Grove & Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2012

We are sorry to hear that you had concerns during your stay. We feel sure that we could have resolved these for you, had you drawn them to our attention at the time. We believe that a successful stay relies on there being a two-way dialogue between our guests and us, so that we can ensure we understand guest needs and can meet/go beyond guest expectations.

We take great pride in doing our very best to keep our guests happy and have had many happy guest reviews, which is a reflection of the effort that we put in and the passion we have for ensuring a pleasurable experience and stay for our guests.

With regard to your points:

1) We are unsure why a sink is required to get breakfast: all cutlery and crockery is provided and the breakfast dishes are removed, cleaned and replaced each day. Rather than disturb our guests, we wait until they go out, before we come in and clear away. We do the washing up - so you don't have to. The kettle is filled each day and additional bottled water is provided in the fridge.

2) Our linen is laundered professionally. We have passed your comments on to the laundry that deals with this and they asked us to in turn to pass on their apologies to you.

3) We are located in a rural area full of livestock and in Summer, like anywhere else, unfortunately flies are a part of life. We vacuum on the morning of each guest's arrival and Marcus is fastidious about spraying prior to our guests arrival. However, a fly can enter in moments through an open door or window and it is inevitable that sometimes one will do so and will die unattended.

4) The fruit is supplied pre-packed by local suppliers. Food in NZ is not irradiated or otherwise treated to prolong shelf life. Obviously, we do not open and inspect pre-packed fruit for food hygiene reasons and apologise if there was a mouldy raspberry in the punnet: we have brought this to the attention of our supplier, who apologizes. We checked the sell by date and the fruit was still in date. The plums were picked fresh from our orchard for you. In NZ, we have to keep many things in the fridge in order to keep them fresh and this includes fruit, bread and all other groceries. If any of these things are left out in warm weather, they quickly go off.

5) We apologise if the shower gel and shampoo were empty. Had you advised us at the time we would have been able to let you have fresh supplies. However, it should be noted that inside each of the bathroom cupboards there is a good supply of toiletries, including a variety of shampoos, shower gels and things that people may forget to bring when they are traveling e.g. packaged spare toothbrushes and razors, sanitary items, deodorant, plasters, cotton wool and body lotions etc.

6) Martinborough is a rural service town that sees most of its trade at weekends. This means that many restaurants are closed Monday and Tuesday. With planning, it is always possible to find somewhere open, but granted the choice during some weekdays is not as great as at weekends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

This was a birthday surprise for my husband from his children and it couldn't have been a better choice !! From the welcome we received from Wendy to the soaking in the spa pool we found our stay very private and peaceful . This was a great location for us, as we attended the Martinborough Wine and Music Festival and after Wendy dropped us in town early Sunday we were able to get off one of the festival buses right outside Akrotiri's gate!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeaPodAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2011

My review might be a little biased because I so appreciated Wendy even before we arrived. Planning a month long jaunt around NZ with another couple was a little daunting. Wendy made several suggestions, such as a visit to Akaroa, that turned out to be among our favorite stops. Sometime after booking at Akrotiri, I received email from Wendy telling me that one of NZ's most popular rock groups, Crowded House, was going to be playing at a neighboring winery the night of our arrival. She suggested that if we wanted to experience some local color we might want to purchase tickets asap as the concert would sell out. We did so and it was one of the highlights of our trip. We're not rock concert types, but we had a wonderful time sharing food, wine and even dancing with the very friendly and inclusive New Zealanders sitting around us. We left the concert feeling like we had a dozen or more new friends. And Wendy even drove us to the concert and pointed out a walking route home so that we didn't need to hassle with parking. I think this is reflective of the extra effort the Akrotiri owners take to provide a memorable stay for their guests.

We thoroughly enjoyed the rest of our time in Martinborough. It's a good base for wine tasting and just enjoying the beautiful countryside. Akrotiri Estate was excellent for two couples. We each had a lovely bedroom and separate bath and a living room/dining room to share. The guest quarters are attached to the main house but have their own entrance and patio so it is very private. Light breakfast fare was provided and you fix your own. If I have any negatives it is that other than the night of our arrival, we had far less opportunity to interact with the owners than we did at most of our other stays. Marcus was out of town and Wendy works away from the estate, so we missed the personal touch I think is probably part of the experience when Marcus is not traveling. Wendy said he normally tends to the guests. But because of the above and beyond communication from Wendy before our arrival, I rate this stay as five stars.

Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
Thank Calwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

This was a return visit to Akrotiri and Martinborough.

The combination of great hosts (thanks for the dinner suggestions Wendy!) and a beautiful home really helped us unwind after a stressful period in our life.

The spa is a delight - we had clear skies and it was like drinking wine under an upturned bowl of stars - thousands of them! We saw shooting stars too which was a treat.

Brilliant beds gave a much needed rest and it is so quiet there that anyone who lives in a city might well find themselves wondering where everyone has vanished to! You can almost hear a pin drop at night - nothing to hear but the sounds of sheep and cows in the fields around.

Great place to get away from it all - highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AA_Gull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

We loved our stay in Martinborough. One of our favourite parts of our tour of NZ. So relaxing a perfect place for couples needing to unwind.

Wendy and Marcus were fabulous hosts. We had the perfect combination of attentiveness when we asked for it and privacy the rest of the time. We totally agree with other guests who have voted Akrotiri Estate as excellent.

Wendy and Marcus have an in-depth knowledge of NZ and were very helpful with our trip planning. Marcus runs photography tours through his company Travelling Light Photography - his input on how to use our new camera was also greatly appreciated!! Wendy and Marcus went over and beyond the call of duty. We highly recommend Akrotiri Estate and will be telling all of our friends and family to stay when they come to New Zealand!

Room Tip: Spa Pool room opens directly to the patio and spa - fabulous!
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoxyCustard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews