We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, yet very central”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Martinborough Experience B&B
Wellington
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Peaceful, yet very central”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We had a midweek 3 night stay in Jan 2013. Great & easy communication when booking. Room was spotless, bright & airy. Had a huge comfortable bed, also a huge double spa bath, which was a welcome after cycling the wineries. Owners are friendly & very helpful. Breakfast was delicous & served in your room, which you can eat on the patio if preferred. Excellent value & location perfect. We have already booked our next stay.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the spa bath, it was such a treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
30
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Twizel, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2011

We had one night in this bed and breakfast. We were greeted with a friendly face and the room was great.
Very clean and a relaxing place to stay. Comfortable bed. Quiet and peaceful.
The breakfast was absolutely fantastic! We had the cooked breakfast option and it was delicious and very well presented. Fresh fruit as well as the cooked eggs and omelette was a wonderful start to the day! Felt like a real treat to be delivered to our room.
This is very good value.
Would love to go back there one day!
Would thoroughly recommend!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twizelites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble, France
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2011

We loved this bed and breakfast. It is very conveniently located, and the owners were so very lovely. The rooms are well appointed, and there is free wifi. It is such a peaceful surrounding that sleeping is terrific! One of the most special attributes is that breakfast is served to your room, and it is delicious!!!! Homemade jams and jellies...the orange had the slices already cut for easy eating. We really enjoyed how the owners ran this place. Top notch and highly recommended. A must stay in the wine country.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aandskern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

We stayed here recently on a trip with my father. We toured up the East Coast of the North Island and Martinborough was our first stop. This B&B was extremely clean and well apportioned. The location was easy walking distance to the town and very quiet and relaxing. Our hosts Dawn and Bob were extremely friendly, welcoming and helpful. The cooked breakfast was sensational and we would not hesitate recommending this Motel/B&B to anyone looking for good quality accommodation at a reasonable price in lovely Martinborough.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank syder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Close to the Square, very clean rooms, lovely bed, sunny, quiet and what a breakfast!

Bob & Dawn were very friendly and so helpful. Made us feel pampered. Had a wonderful break.

Feel we made the right choice.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxine1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2011

Had a very relaxing night there. Comfortable bed and great spa bath. Thoroughly enjoyed our fresh breakfast which was beautifully presented. Friendly and helpful hosts. Very accommodating and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misskbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2011

We were in Wellington for a wedding and had a couple of spare days, Martinborough was recommended so we headed over the hill and found the perfect place to stay.
We couldn’t believe the difference in weather compared to Wellington, it was overcast when we left and excellent blue sky when we arrived, only about an hour away.
The room was private, plenty of space and the bed was excellent (better than home!), parking was right outside our door, not that we needed the car because the Square and restaurants were only a few minutes walk.
Our hosts, Bob & Dawn were great, they got us settled, offered suggestions for places to eat and things to do. Nice personal touch.
They made a fantastic breakfast for us the next morning (large choice and at the time we requested it), just the thing for slight overindulgence the night before! What a great way to start the day.
Martinborough Experience was great value for money in a very peaceful location, we will be returning next time we are over and will be recommending it to others.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abbott70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Martinborough hotels
0.3 mi away
The Martinborough Hotel
The Martinborough Hotel
#2 of 4 in Martinborough
220 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
#3 of 4 in Martinborough
128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Swan House
Swan House
#3 of 8 in Martinborough
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Old Manse
The Old Manse
#1 of 8 in Martinborough
125 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pinot Villas
Pinot Villas
#3 of 8 in Martinborough
159 reviews
1.0 mi away
Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Peppers Parehua Martinborough
#1 of 8 in Martinborough
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martinborough Experience B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martinborough Experience B&B

Property: Martinborough Experience B&B
Address: 84 Venice Street, Martinborough 5711, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Martinborough
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Martinborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Martinborough Experience B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing