We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful and peaceful.”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Lismore House

Front view of House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front view of House
Salt water pool view Front view of the property from a drone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Front view of House
Salt water pool view
Front view of the property from a drone
Pond view
Front Deck
Front porch
Pool-vine view
Entrance
Dining room
Kitchen
Kitchen-breakfast room
Kitchen-Breakfast room
Living room
Living room
Outside deck
Landing
Grand turret room
Grand Turret bathroom
Grand Turret Bathroom
Turret room
Turret room nook
Vine room
Pool view room
Veranda view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Martinborough, Wairarapa, Greater Wellington, North Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Miriam M
1 review
“Beautiful and peaceful.”
Reviewed February 23, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We loved our stay at Lismore, such a beautiful house. Very well set up and a great stay overall. Can't wait to come back next year!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 24, 2017
Thank you !
Looking forward to see you again soon
The Lismore team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aitken40
Wellington New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great holiday home”
Reviewed February 3, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We agree with the other reviews , infact everything we would have said they already have .
The house is lovely, the area very peaceful, highly recommend

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 4, 2017
thank you - we love Lismore and are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us !!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruth M
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“The perfect retreat”
Reviewed November 23, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Thank you Lucy for a beautiful few days away from it all. Truly a dellightful place to disconnect from sheer busyness and reconnect to self, family and friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 23, 2016
My pleasure Ruth !
I hope to see you both again soon.
Lucy & the Lismore team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica M
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lismore's Vista”
Reviewed November 22, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Spent the most relaxing weekend here with another family. Walking distance from vineyards and eateries, with a 3 minute drive to Martinborough. However, Lismores aspect meant we had complete privacy.

Games room and swimming pool great for kids, with Lismore being an ideal catch up location for friends or family. Huge kitchen, beautiful formal dining room as well as lovely formal lounge meant we had a ton of space.
Most memorable for me is the privacy of Lismore. Lawns roll down to vineyards, leading towards willows astride a tranquil river where trout were seen. Beyond that is the 'vista' of the beautiful Waiarapa Hills. If you're after an escape which gives you amazing amenities, vineyards and restaurants a stones throw away, with complete privacy-Lismore is for you. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 23, 2016
Thank you for the feedback Erica !
We hope to see you at Lismore again soon.
All the best,
The Lismore team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill C
Victoria, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Incredible”
Reviewed October 16, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Booked this property for 4 days as part of a longer visit to the Wellington area. Should have stayed here for the whole trip - it's incredible! The house is situated on a private vineyard - we spent our days relaxing on the deck looking at the beautiful scenery, walking around the property and visiting the local eateries in town. It is soooooo peaceful.
The house has been recently refurbished with a lot of attention to detail and design flair. Lots of great inclusions - super comfy bed with beautiful linen, coffee machine with pods, games room, high quality speaker for our iPad music, games room, ample wood for the fire, really good wifi and even Netflix included.
We were met a the property by the host, the lovely Lucy, who lives locally and gave us a good rundown on the local area and also ensured we knew where everything in the house was (she even pointed out the switch for the heated towel rail - bliss!!). She insisted we txt or call her if we needed anything (but we didn't need to 'cos nothing was missed!).
Already planning to come here again with a group of friends - we really liked that each bedroom had its own ensuite.
Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sitting on the deck in the October sunshine with a glass of the local Pinot recharging, talking and looking at the beautiful scenery.
Liked least: Having to leave.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 17, 2016
We loved having you stay with us Jill and look forward to seeing you again soon !

Lucy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing