We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient”
Review of Martinborough Mews

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Martinborough Mews
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We wanted a comfortable and affordable long weekend away in Martinborough, and thats what we got with Bordeaux on Cologne. We booked online but on arrival had to contact the hosts to inform them of our arrival and to meet us and show us in. The units are self contained and look a little bland from the outside, but inside are very modern and comfy. Everything was clean and bright and inviting. each unit has a deck and are very private and quiet. The bathroom has a spa bath with overhead shower but unfortunately was impossible to keep water off the floor when using the shower.
The big plus for this place is the proximity to the town centre and wineries. All within walking or easy cycling distance.
Overall it was an enjoyable weekend. Thanks Terry and Shannon

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank murray c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
There are newer reviews for Martinborough Mews
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 60 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2012


We had the first unit at the front and didn't like having to wait for someone to come by and give us the keys (this is their policy for online bookings).

The suite is spacious but it's a handicap suite (which we didn't ask for). The outdoor, living room and kitchen are fine but the bedroom is rather cramped and the bathroom is a major design failure (at least for non-disabled people). The sink is way too low (mid-thigh height), the toilet is very high, and there are no curtains or enclosures around the shower so the water goes everywhere and the tiles are always wet, all the way into the kitchen. What may have seemed like a cool idea is really more of a design flaw and/or cost-saving measure. 

More annoyances:
There's an electric towel rack within the shower area, which is pretty scary!
There's a panel of switches in the shower area that seems to serve no purpose whatsoever.
There is no area in the bathroom for toiletries - the sink has no countertop and there aren't any shelves or cupboards. Even a small cart or table would be an improvement.

The cleanliness of the overall unit was good, but the bathroom wasn't clean at "hotel standards" - such as toilet grime and spots on the mirror. The gross part was that all the towels supplied were bright red, and not the usual hotel white. White towels can be bleached, red ones can't. Need I say more? Thank god the bed sheets were white though!

The hotel has a cute style and good location, but we should have spent a bit more and stayed at Parehua.  Our friends were there and we found the cottages and grounds to be stunning.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vegangela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

Stayed 3 nights and had a relaxing time
Location good and apartment very compfortable and well appointed.
Facilties provided excellent (but wish current modern apartments would get away from installing Spa Baths in lieu of a decent walk in shower.)
No internet - (Advised this had been stopped due to wireless account being ripped off by occupants down loading movies etc and no control on which unit did this - This is easilly solved like other places by installing subscription to an online service which the user is given password access to and charged back to Unit account for adding to Credit card total. They should try "Vistagate")
Also No Sky TV only Freeview which is very limited.
No room service with our package but that was fine with us
However with these exceptions very comfortable stay and would stay again.

Room Tip: All Apartments are separate with adjacent parking at the door
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank offagain_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BordeauxOnCologne, Owner at Martinborough Mews, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

You will be pleased to know we now offer Wireless Internet :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

My Boyfriend and I planned a last minute trip to Martinborough recently, and rang Bordeaux on Cologne directly to see if they had any availability. We were greeted with a very happy & helpful Shannon, who was so lovely to deal with, and more than willing to help us getting our night away sorted.
The booking was done in a matter of minutes, and we were off to the house the next day.

Upon arriving we realised the photos did it aboslutely no justice, it was beautiful!!
A gorgeous 3 bedroom house, with a sleepout in the back! The Master Bedroom was lovely, and what an amazing bed! The place came stocked with all the little extra's... breakfast included, and a kitchen to work away in with EVERY pot, pan and cooking utensil you could need! Additionally it was free access to the great number of bikes available in the back shed to borrow, which allowed us to leasurely ride around the vineyards all day.

Upon arriving home, we noticed the fireplace with all fireword stacked next to it ready for our use, and a couple of boardgames available to sit infront of the fire & play on the cold winters day.
To top it off, the place came with a gorgeous 8 seater spa pool on the back patio, what a way to top of a day cycling in the Vineyards than to have a relaxing wine that had been purchased in our own private Spa on the patio!

I would highly recommend this place to stay, and couldn't fault a thing about it!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessy_D04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

Close to everything wonderfully set up, a perfect place to stay in Martinborough. Neighbours are close but you would never know as it feels private and the deck with table and chairs is great for an early morning coffee!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kombimorrells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2011

I've got to be honest and say that my first impressions here weren't good. The self-contained suites are in 5 what looked to me like "Nissan Huts" on a hard stone setting a few streets back from the main drag in Martinborough There was a bit of confusion about our arrival but that was all resolved quite quickly and the folks that looked after us were very helpful.

Once you get over the appearance, you realise that each unit offers a large lounge/kitchen, bedroom and bathroom and it was well presented with a great TV system. There was a nice deck with a BBQ ready to go too and you park right alongside your unit.

The address is just a few minutes walk into town with a number of restaurants and the whole area is peppered with wineries. We hired bikes downtown and spent a great day cruising from one to another. We also had an amazing gourmet mean at a local winery that night - they even collected us and dropped us back.

We weren't bothered by noise from the other units although there was a house full of very noisy young ladies just over the wall - hen party, I think.

For me, the real improvement would be wi-fi and air conditioning - it got pretty hot - but apart from that, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hotel Harry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2010

Stayed in apartment five for two nights in November 2010. Lovely presentation, but quite expensive compared to other accommodation available locally. The apartments are located in a residential street and we had issues with significant noise from neighbours who were having a party. The noise started about 4pm on Saturday afternoon and got increasingly noisy with loud music until at around 9.30pm we called the local Council noise control team. They made three visits over three hours and were unable to get the neighbours to turn down the stereo. The music was still being played very loud at 3am in the morning making it difficult to sleep. The noise control team commented that noise from the neighbouring property is a 'frequent' occurance at weekends, so be aware of this and if you value getting to sleep at night, suggest you look elsewhere!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KiwiTraveller72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Martinborough hotels
0.2 mi away
The Martinborough Hotel
The Martinborough Hotel
#2 of 4 in Martinborough
224 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
#3 of 4 in Martinborough
128 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Claremont Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Old Manse
The Old Manse
#1 of 8 in Martinborough
126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pinot Villas
Pinot Villas
#3 of 8 in Martinborough
159 reviews
0.6 mi away
Swan House
Swan House
#3 of 8 in Martinborough
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martinborough Mews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martinborough Mews

Address: 24 Cologne Street, Martinborough 5711, New Zealand (Formerly Bordeaux on Cologne)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Martinborough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Martinborough
Price Range: $71 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Martinborough Mews 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martinborough Mews (formally Bordeaux on Cologne) is comprised of five self-contained one bedroom Cottages. We are nestled in between the Martinborough Square and Puruatanga Rd, also known as 'wine road'. This ideal location allows visitors to walk or cycle to most Martinborough destinations easily.The Cottages have been purpose-built in a residential area, making the location ideal. The exterior has been kept low key, but once inside you will appreciate the modern, functional design with attention to detail, and most importantly a high standard of cleanliness. It's all of the little extras and attention to detail that will ensure your stay at Martinborough Mews is like being at home, away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Martinborough Mews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing