We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxurious vineyard setting B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Martinborough
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Luxurious vineyard setting B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2010

Best place to stay in the region, for sure. Check out wotif.com for their 'stay 2 for the price of 1' special. We got the room with the queen size bed (others have king), room was still perfect.

Alystone is currently for sale, a great buy in my mind!

PROS:
- Lovely hosts.
- French provincial designed rooms.
- Free wireless internet.
- Private outdoor area.

CONS:
- Design of restaurant needs to be updated to match the rooms. The chef and food are amazing, just update the chairs/art/etc.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    27
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
99
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
180 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2010

Husband & I made a last minute decision to go to Martinborough for a long weekend. We thought it would be a busy weekend being the last of the school holidays but we managed to take advantage of someone elses cancellation. We somehow managed to pick the best weather...calm, sunny and clear.

Aylstone was great. Booked due to the reviews on TA. It didnt disappoint. We stayed in Room 1 with a great view out over the neighbouring vineyard. Big comfy bed with great bed linen. If I was picky I would say the bathroom wasnt the same great standard as the rest of the room but was clean and functional. I think it was the wheelchair accessible room.

We dined in the restaurant attached to this property-Brasserie One. Our meal was delicious. The duck trifle was yummy.

We borrowed the bikes and cycled around some of the local vineyards tasting wine. On a great day as we had this was fun. Finished up with a beer sitting outside at Margrain which is right next door to Aylstone. Best view there. On a personal note we tasted our best wines at Margrain. Their Pinot was as we like it and at $50 somewhat cheaper than a lot of the others.

Although Aylstone is somewhat on the outskirts of town, having a good restuarant on site and in close proximity to the wineries we wanted to visit, made it a perfect location for us.

My only gripe would be that the rooms would be greatly impvoed by having their own fridges. When in a wine growing region, people often end up buying cheeses and other nibbly bits to enjoy with wine later in the day and we did not expect to have to put it in a communal fridge. Also,if each room had a fridge, you could have 'real' milk in your tea or coffee in the morning rather than having to make a dash outside to the communal room or resorting to using UHT milk in your plunger coffee.

My other suggestion would be to offer a cooked breakfast option. Continental is included with your room. Great selection of fresh fruits with a couple of cereals, juice and toast with tea and coffee. Great for one day but we would have liked a cooked option on our second morning and would have been very happy to pay for it.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay here and look forward to coming back to sample some more great food and wine.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank micsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level Contributor
198 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2010

Aylestone Retreat sits at the edge of Martinborough, a 10 minute easy walk into town. It looks out over adjacent vineyards and is associated with an excellent restaurant. Each room has an outdoor seating area; ours looked out at the vineyards. The room was quite comfortable, with an exceptionally comfortable and huge bed and fluffy pillows and duvet. Strangely, there was no place in the room to hang up your clothes, but each room contained tea and coffee making supplies; there is a refrigerator available in a common lounge room, wifi is available, and a newspaper is delivered each morning. Chocolates are placed on your pillows and in the common room, port and cookies are available. The lodge only offers a continental breakfast which is not available until 8:30 in the morning. Alternatively, it would be quick and easy to drive 2 minutes or take a nice walk to town for a more substantial breakfast. I would highly recommend having dinner at the restaurant which offers excellent and inventive food--duck trifle for example, which consisted of layers of onion marmalade, parfait, duck confit, corn custard, and corn kernels. This restaurant was one of the best we ate in during our trip.

Be aware that a notice in the room at the lodge stated that at certain times of the year, one might hear gunshot noise to keep birds away from the grapes, or helicopters or windmills to keep the frost off the grapes (ear plugs are provided). This situation would be true of any accommodation located in or near the vines. You might want to inquire about this prior to booking, if it would be of concern to you.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ssgtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co.Meath, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2010

We stayed two nights at the Aylstone Boutique Retreat and we were delighted with our stay there. 

The room was spacious, complete with all the accoutrements one could want and had a wonderful view from
the room onto the vineyard which adjoined the accommodation.

Aylstone Retreat is located just outside Martinborough and on one of the main roads which comprises the Wine Trail. Bicycles were available at Aylstone and we spent a delightful afternoon cycling to the wineries close-by and sampling the "fare" available at a number of them. 

However, the "icing in the cake" for us was the restaurant associated with Aylstone - it was fantastic. 
Run by Jurgen, it is a gem of a restaurant with a quality of cuisine that is world-class. We dined there on two successive nights and the meals will rank amongst the best we have had anywhere. The value for money was exceptional. 
However, I would note that the wine list is on the expensive-side based on our experience in other restaurants to that time in New Zealand.
 
Notwithstanding that, the Alystone Boutique Retreat is THE place to stay in Martinborough and the restaurant a MUST for anyone with an interest in fine dining.      

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daoshaug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novato, CA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2010

how can this place only have three reviews? are they trying to remain martinborough's best kept secret? we often use tripadvisor for guidance on where we want to stay on our various trips. sometimes we get great advice (campton place in san francisco), other times it can be a bit misleading (no specifics here...). aylstone was a place we found after looking at pepper's martinborough hotel (where we had stayed before but they were full) and it is absolutely beautiful here. our room backs right onto a lawn and vineyard. it is a very good sized room with tasteful decoration and a comfortable bed. also, the restaurant (brasserie one) attached to the b & b is excellent. we had wonderful lamb and a cheese souffle there in addition to seafood and duck appetizers (we were so full we couldn't order dessert). anyway, we want people to know that this is a great place and a great deal in martinborough.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wellingtontraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2009

My husband and I were looking for somewhere special to stay for our 19th wedding anniversary. As Jimmy Barnes was playing at Alana Estate, we decided Martinborough would be special - AND IT WAS!! What an amazing place..... We also wanted the accommodation to be special as well - and at Aylstone we were not disappointed. The room we had was private with it's own courtyard - the linen was crisp and clean - the decor stylish and fresh, and the extra little touches like the chocolates on the pillows, the full cookie jar and even the free port for a tipple after dinner! Sharon and her chef partner who manage the restaurant were amazing - 5 stars for the food, better than the food at a local renown restaurant that had just got an award for its beef and lamb!!! Rob and Penny went the extra mile (even ferrying us and some friends we'd made on the wine trail!) down to Alana Estate for the concert. This truely is an amazing retreat that not only went the extra mile but GAVE the extra mile as well..... We're already planning our next stay!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwis732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2009

We debated about whether to stay at the main hotel in Martinborough or choose Aylstone. We made the right choice. The rooms overlook the Vineyard. They are decorated in a clean modern style. You feel right at home. Robb met us as we arrived with a warm New Zealand greeting. You can walk to the other wineries or ride the bikes which are available for use. There is also a common room for use by the guests. A continental breakfast is served at the restaurant. We were there the day after the wine festival ended and so the hotel had only a few guests and yet the breakfast was still displayed beautifully with a wide choice of fruit, breads and juices. We envy the people in Wellington who can come out and spend a weekend at Aylstone.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingNan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martinborough
0.6 mi away
The Martinborough Hotel
The Martinborough Hotel
#2 of 4 in Martinborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
23.4 mi away
Wharekauhau Country Estate
Wharekauhau Country Estate
#1 of 1 in Featherston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
9.0 mi away
The White Swan
The White Swan
#1 of 3 in Greytown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Claremont Motel & Apartments
0.5 mi away
Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Peppers Parehua Martinborough
#1 of 8 in Martinborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Old Manse
The Old Manse
#1 of 8 in Martinborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aylstone Boutique Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aylstone Boutique Retreat

Property: Aylstone Boutique Retreat
Address: 19 Huangarua Road, Martinborough 5711, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Martinborough
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Martinborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aylstone Boutique Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aylstone Boutique Retreat in Martinborough, just 1 hour from Wellington, offers six boutique rooms with lovely views, classic furnishings and ensuite bathrooms. Aylstone is set among world class Martinborough vineyards offering peace and tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aylstone Boutique Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing