We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional in every way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Martinborough
Reviewed February 28, 2014

I booked a surprise weekend away for my husband and I on our first anniversary, and we absolutely loved Aylstone Retreat. The host was friendly and happily gave us advice on things to do and see in Martinborough; the room was gorgeous and comfortable; and we had a lovely private courtyard to drink our local pinot noir in. We had a fantastic time, and thanks for making our special weekend exceptional.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AshleighBY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 128 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2014

In the Aylstone we found an excellent boutique retreat experience in Martinborough.. An idyllic setting amongst the various vineyards in an already stunning area and within very short walking distance from the town square this little gem is a true winner.. Not only does it look picture perfect with a colonial feel and spacious bedrooms, which are bright and immaculately clean, but the owners Bruce and Denise are also fabulous hosts with a genuine passion for what they do and the area.. Nothing is too much trouble for their guests and having followed several of their recommendations regrading wine tours, restaurants and bars within the area it really made our trip very special.. I know the owners have exciting plans for making their oasis amongst the vines even better than it already is and I cannot recommend this venue highly enough... I look forward to my return and a longer stay..

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Every accommodation was made to ensure we had a lovely visit. It's all in the personal touch and Denise and Bruce get it all right! From the immaculate, quiet room, delicious breakfast, sweet room finishes and great conversation, it was all perfect. As we ventured out to dinner, we were sent off on bikes and given recommendations to Micro Wine Cafe and Hotel Martinborough for an evening of fun and food. They made it all so easy - the perfect level of engagement and also gave us our space. Enjoy!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MK1Chicago_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We stayed 2 nights in this beautiful B&B. We were met by the owner Denise who made us very welcome and showed us round. We had a lovely large room which was immaculately clean. There was complementary tea, coffee and lovely toiletries,the room was very well appointed . It had a private court yard with table and chairs that over looked the vines.
At breakfast we met Bruce, Denise's husband both these hosts were charming and very helpful suggesting where to eat and what to do. The location of this B&B was perfect for visiting the wineries . We also drove to the coast to see the seal colony.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KKgatrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We stayed at Aylestone Boutique Retreat for two nights as part of our five week NZ trip. Bruce met us on arrival and was absolutely lovely. He showed us round and because he and Denise had decided to close for a few days, told us we were the only ones there and gave us a room upgrade! They are justifiably proud of what they have to offer guests at Aylestone and are determined that everyone should have a wonderful time. The rooms are beautifully furnished and appointed. This place is exceptional and sitting on the patio overlooking the vines while having breakfast was just perfection. Bruce also recommended a superb restaurant called Tirohana Estate. It was a great meal and Toby is the perfect maître d'! This is a wonderful area of NZ; Martinborough is delightful and if you like history, we thoroughly recommend 'The Cobblestones Museum' at Greytown. We shall be recommending Aylestone to all our friends and hope to return some day.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Bruce and Denise were lovely hosts.Beautifull B and B in the heart of wine country. We found a couple of other things to do that we would really recommend. Drive to Cape palliser to see the fur seals and from there to the Lake Ferry hotel for the fish and chips, beer, and the view.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richard h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stayed here as a couple beautifully appointed. Bruce was a lovely host and full of helpful information. The room was spacious and clean however the only negative was being in having a room above us which you could hear every footstep. We would definitely book again but request a room without the upstairs facility for quietness. The breakfast was a bit late starting at 8.30am which we did not have time to enjoy due to other commitments would like the option for earlier start.

Room Tip: Ask for the room without the upstairs facilities ours was the regency.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharonsos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylst0ne, Owner at Aylstone Boutique Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Thankyou very much for spending the time to write your review of Aylstone. For guests touring our beautiful country and other commitments that take them away early in the morning we supply a breakfast tray to the rooms the night before on request. It was a pleasure hosting you and hopefully, as you say, we will see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martinborough
0.6 mi away
The Martinborough Hotel
The Martinborough Hotel
#2 of 4 in Martinborough
232 reviews
19.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa
23.4 mi away
Wharekauhau Country Estate
Wharekauhau Country Estate
#1 of 1 in Featherston
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
The White Swan
The White Swan
#1 of 3 in Greytown
171 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Claremont Motel & Apartments
0.5 mi away
Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Peppers Parehua Martinborough
#1 of 8 in Martinborough
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aylstone Boutique Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aylstone Boutique Retreat

Address: 19 Huangarua Road, Martinborough 5711, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Martinborough
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Martinborough
Price Range: $177 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aylstone Boutique Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aylstone Boutique Retreat in Martinborough, just 1 hour from Wellington, offers six boutique rooms with lovely views, classic furnishings and ensuite bathrooms. Aylstone is set among world class Martinborough vineyards offering peace and tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aylstone Boutique Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing