We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just what the doctor ordered!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aylstone Boutique Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Martinborough
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just what the doctor ordered!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

This stay was a spur of the moment thing, we got the voucher from groupon.

We'd had a really busy week and needed a break. Denise was so welcoming when we arrived our room was beautiful overlooking the vineyards.mthe location of Aylstone was the best, right next to the Margrain vineyards.

We ate on site last night at Cornucopia, what an awesome place to eat. Tony the owner was so helpful and the meal & service was Devine as was the breakfast this morning, fresh made pastries.

Would HIGHLY recommend a stay here to anyone and will certainly visit again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaD1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    26
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
99
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga
Level Contributor
113 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed sadly only one night and were delighted to be upgraded to Room 6. We were spoilt with the room size and taseful elegant decor. We thought the invitation to enjoy the reading room with a wee brandy should we so desire was a lovely touch. We are thankful we stayed on site and dined at the Cornacopia Restaurant - what a treat as Tony helped match local wines with our dinner selections.
A good reminder one does not need to travel overseas to have a delghtful holiday.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

We absolutelly love this place, we've been there twice and we'll be going back. Peacefull, nice with an excellent restaurant... a winner.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julipi98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

My partner and I recently stayed at this delightful boutique hotel. The room adjoining the main house was spacious and tastefully decorated in the French style, all we needed was there, views, lovely outside seating, private courtyard, bliss. My partner was celebrating her 40th birthday and the owners gave her flowers- over and above the call!! Though we were on a package ( breakfast not included) we enjoyed the stroll to town where we enjoyed a stunning breakfast at Medici cafe. If staying in Martinborough this comes highly recommended, thanks for a lovely 40th stay.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tallypop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

I feel totally ripped for the $189 we paid.

Room 6 is attached to the owners house, and is like staying in someone's spare bedroom. We arrived on a beautiful sunny day. The main frenchdoors did not let in sun and only overlooked a gravel courtyard. The only sun and outlook was at the end of a long passage that ran next to the bathroom . . . the veranda on this side seemed nice until we realised that the owners two large dogs had free access to the veranda.

There was not even anywhere to sit and read a book. Besides the bed, there were just two occasional chairs that were not comfortable for reading. The guest lounge was a joke. It was 4 couches in a blank room like a waiting room. When we were there, half the room was filled with trolleys with linen on them.

The final insult was that because we got this disappointing room through wotif, we were then not allowed the breakfast that was stated to be part of the room rate on their website and in their compendium. We also didn’t the morning paper like the other rooms. We did get a bottle of wine, but that didn’t make the room worth $189.

The restaurant was not open the night we were there.

So for our $189 we got a pretty small room that was not even comfortable enough to read in. The linen was nice, the décor tasteful and the place was clean but that was it. It was worth about $130.

Room Tip: Do NOT allow them to book you into room 6 - it is part of the owners house. Ask carefully about the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RachelBeeNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylstone, Owner at Aylstone Boutique Retreat, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your booking.

We endeavour and take pride in making sure our guests stay is a relaxing, comfortable one and to date, have had great reviews for our efforts.

We do not advertise falsly and do our best to make our guests fully aware of any quirky, unforeseen inconsistencies that may occur.

For any future guests that book WOTIF or any other deals online. We respectfully advise you to please check the inclusions and exclusions of the deal you are purchasing. This will negate any uncomfortable misunderstandings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012 via mobile

We had a lovely and spacious room with all the amenities. Our hosts were very helpful and gracious. The Aylstone is in the middle of several wineries and we had a great dinner just down the road. Breakfasts were delicious. We highly recommend a stay -- we were there 3 days and loved it.

Pete and Di -- Houston, TX

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pete and Dianne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012 via mobile

We loved the accommodation, our room #2 and gracious host Danielle. Short and easy walk into town plus most of day cycling to local wineries and olive groves. On site restaurant, Cornicopia also fantastic....

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marshalor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martinborough
0.6 mi away
The Martinborough Hotel
The Martinborough Hotel
#2 of 4 in Martinborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
21.6 mi away
Wharekauhau Country Estate
Wharekauhau Country Estate
#1 of 1 in Featherston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
9.0 mi away
The White Swan
The White Swan
#1 of 3 in Greytown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa
1.2 mi away
The Claremont Motel & Apartments
0.6 mi away
Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Peppers Parehua Martinborough
#1 of 8 in Martinborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aylstone Boutique Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aylstone Boutique Retreat

Property: Aylstone Boutique Retreat
Address: 19 Huangarua Road, Martinborough 5711, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Martinborough
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Martinborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aylstone Boutique Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aylstone Boutique Retreat in Martinborough, just 1 hour from Wellington, offers six boutique rooms with lovely views, classic furnishings and ensuite bathrooms. Aylstone is set among world class Martinborough vineyards offering peace and tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Aylstone Boutique Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing