We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“country-style place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aylstone Boutique Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Martinborough
Certificate of Excellence
New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“country-style place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

Nice place, like a country-style homestead. Very pretty garden surroundings. The bathroom is ultra small, but clean and modern. The room was really nice with lovely furnishings.

Bikes could be more comfortable, and with a total of 6 rooms, it would be nice if there were more than 2 bikes available.

The restaurant was very nice.

We booked through wotif.com which offered a rate of $210 per room. I was a bit annoyed when I found out that breakfast costs at least $16 per person and that if we had booked through the alystone website our room including breakfast would have been $230, thus we actually spent more money going through wotif.com....

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Enduring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    26
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
99
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2011

Stayed here for two nights in December. Had a fab time. Would definitly recommend stayng here. We had dinner at the restaurant but I would NOT recommend. Other tan tt excellent place to stay!!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelinladyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

aylstone is very cute boutique retreat in the middle of the vine, they re is just 5 cellars that you can reach by foot and all the others are just minutes away by car
very cute deauville beachy decor very clean and extremely quiet
i 'm glad we stayed there very good value for money
we stayed in room 2 but but 1 is also very good as you have the garden and the vines at 5 metres from your bedroom door
we went for dinner at cool change, very good food and and good ambiance in fromt of martinborought hotel, i recommender the beer chicken, just superbe

Room Tip: room 1 and 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmherbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

Loved everything about our stay. Host were gracious, rooms were beautiful, food was fantastic. Will book here again. Loved it.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MRSBBNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChCh
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2011

This is a wonderful retreat.
I don't give an "excellent" easily, something needs to be special, not perfect, just special.
We found this here.
The house is very charming, clean and very well kept. Thumbs up to the housekeper.
The room was spacious, comfortable and clean. The decor was very french chic.
The owners, Denise and Bruce are fantastic hosts who truly care about your well being.
The restaurant has beautiful and honest food, very fairly priced.
Tony, the chef patron, is charming and clearly wants you to have a great eating experience.
The cooked breakfast is the best I have had in years.
Overall the property is great but its the team that make it special.
We loved it so much that we stayed an extra night.
The hotel and the restaurant are great value for money.
Do try it and you will not be disappointed.
Well done Aylstone.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrHulotetlesKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

Thank you so much for the wonderful stay. The rooms were magnificent, staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We stayed 2 nights and could have easily stayed more. I would highly recommend the Aylstone Retreat to anyone who wants to visit Martinborough. Thank you so much for making our stay so enjoyable!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kdrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

The Aylstone is absolutely perfect for a get-away-from it all break. The management are incredibly considerate of their guests' needs - when the lady owner showed us to our room she hovered at the door saying she "didn't want to invade our space". We loved the French rustic style decor, our room was warm, spotlessly clean, the beds were luxuriously comfortable and the complimentary cookies and chocolates were deluxe and you could help yourself to a nip of brandy in the reading room - all incredible value for money. It was sooo peaceful and we loved having coffee in the morning on our little deck overlooking the charming gardens and vineyards with a family of quail ambling past. The hotel restaurant was closed for the winter and it would have been good to know that in advance - but there are many good restaurants minutes away - including in neighbouring vineyards. The Aylstone gave us vouchers for a very generous and absolutely delicious breakfast at the Medici cafe in the town centre. Can't recommend it highly enough - we'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pmt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martinborough
0.6 mi away
The Martinborough Hotel
The Martinborough Hotel
#2 of 4 in Martinborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
21.6 mi away
Wharekauhau Country Estate
Wharekauhau Country Estate
#1 of 1 in Featherston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
9.0 mi away
The White Swan
The White Swan
#1 of 3 in Greytown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa
1.2 mi away
The Claremont Motel & Apartments
0.6 mi away
Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Peppers Parehua Martinborough
#1 of 8 in Martinborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aylstone Boutique Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aylstone Boutique Retreat

Property: Aylstone Boutique Retreat
Address: 19 Huangarua Road, Martinborough 5711, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Martinborough
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Martinborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aylstone Boutique Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aylstone Boutique Retreat in Martinborough, just 1 hour from Wellington, offers six boutique rooms with lovely views, classic furnishings and ensuite bathrooms. Aylstone is set among world class Martinborough vineyards offering peace and tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Aylstone Boutique Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing