We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nor worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunmoon Boutique Resort
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Scarborough
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
“Nor worth the money”
Reviewed June 18, 2011

I dont like writing bad reviews but this place charged a lot of money for very little. We booked a queen spa room, the walls were very thin, we could hear everything in the rooms either side and above us and we were facing a very busy main road so the traffic noise didnt stop. Only half of the spa baths jets actually worked and our tv had a fuzzy tinge to it so we couldnt watch that either. Our queen bed was actually to king size single mattress' pushed together so we kept falling down in the middle of them. Breakfast was included in the price, it was a self service buffet of a few cereals, toast and some fruit. The coffee was instant and had to be the worst cup i have ever had!
From the outside the place looks really nice and the restaurant serves beautiful dinner meals, but there isn't much else going for it.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller1089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, General Manager at Sunmoon Boutique Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you very much for taking time to review the Hotel following your stay. Whilst I do not propose to offer a reply to your comments some years after you published them, I do wish to express our gratitude for your feedback.

Upon commencement at the Hotel this January 2013, the team and I have set about on a number of new and very exciting initiatives all aimed at ultimately increasing guest satisfaction and loyalty to our brand. Of course both the Sunmoon Boutique Resort and Scarborough Village itself have come a long way since your particular stay.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of your company again, and I am delighted to act as your point of contact for any future stay, you have the teams’ and my personal assurance of an altogether better experience the next time around.

Once again thank you very much for your feedback, should you wish to discuss any aspect of our reply please call me on 08 9245 8000 extension 409.

Yours sincerely
Michael Cheung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    78
    60
    37
    48
See reviews for
47
118
27
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2011

2 years ago I stayed in the Scarborough Backpackers ( Sunmoon hotel is part of the chain of Scarborough apartments) for 2 nights and was given very good service. So good that despite the not so good feedback in this page about Sunmoon, I decided I will try them out. So I booked 3 nights at Sunmoon this time. I arrived at 6pm and asked if I could have a balcony with a seaview. Was told not possible since I did not request it beforehand and the last room facing the sea had been sold. Sensing my disappointment, the male receptionist was really very attentive and thoughtful and deserved to be acknowleged pity i did not ask for his name, took a reasonable amount of time checking room availability and offered me the one with the seaview for the 2nd night and afterwhich the same room for the 3rd. I could tell he was trying his best.

After I checked in I found the room reasonably ok and to avoid the hassle i decided to have the same room for three nights. The balcony that I got faced the back of the other rooms and also plenty of greenery but the only thing was my neighbour smoked out in the balcony, so i make good by only having a coffee in the balcony when she is out in the mornings.

However, i later checked out the room facing the sea but disappointed cos u can only see part of the sea, the other part, blocked by the petrol station. Oh before I forgot, the cups and glasses in the room have marks on them ! a setback... and one of the towels given to me has yellow stain on it and that scared me.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovecoffee2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, General Manager at Sunmoon Boutique Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you very much for taking time to review the Hotel following your stay. Whilst I do not propose to offer a reply to your comments some years after you published them, I do wish to express our gratitude for your feedback.

Upon commencement at the Hotel this January 2013, the team and I have set about on a number of new and very exciting initiatives all aimed at ultimately increasing guest satisfaction and loyalty to our brand. Of course both the Sunmoon Boutique Resort and Scarborough Village itself have come a long way since your particular stay.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of your company again, and I am delighted to act as your point of contact for any future stay, you have the teams’ and my personal assurance of an altogether better experience the next time around.

Once again thank you very much for your feedback, should you wish to discuss any aspect of our reply please call me on 08 9245 8000 extension 409.

Yours sincerely
Michael Cheung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2011

Unfortunately, we had prepaid the accommodation at this "resort" as we travelling with a group of people in Perth for a masters swimming meet. On arrival we were told there was a problem with our 2 bedroom villa unit and we had been upgraded to a 2 bedroom apartment. It turned out to be a grubby, poorly furnished, one bedroom unit with a mazzanine floor with some single beds which was back packer style accommodation. The room was entirely unsuitable for 2 couples. We departed to Observation City across the road for the evening. Next day, given that we had pre-paid the accommodation, we returned to the Sunmoon and the 2 bedroom villa unit was now available. The unit was no better than the apartment. Grubby, poorly furnished and equipped. The hot water service made a loud bang every time you turned on the tap. I tried to negotiate a refund of the first night's accommodation as could not stay in the room provided and was told the manager would get back to me. That didn't happen. Do not stay at the Sunmoon Resort. It is back packers standard or less.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TerryH12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, General Manager at Sunmoon Boutique Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you very much for taking time to review the Hotel following your stay. Whilst I do not propose to offer a reply to your comments some years after you published them, I do wish to express our gratitude for your feedback.

Upon commencement at the Hotel this January 2013, the team and I have set about on a number of new and very exciting initiatives all aimed at ultimately increasing guest satisfaction and loyalty to our brand. Of course both the Sunmoon Boutique Resort and Scarborough Village itself have come a long way since your particular stay.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of your company again, and I am delighted to act as your point of contact for any future stay, you have the teams’ and my personal assurance of an altogether better experience the next time around.

Once again thank you very much for your feedback, should you wish to discuss any aspect of our reply please call me on 08 9245 8000 extension 409.

Yours sincerely
Michael Cheung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Melbourne
1 review
Reviewed April 28, 2011

Rooms are extremely small & simple - & we paid extra for a balcony with view room. Bathrooms are tiny. Restaurant provided poor service and almost half the meals were unavailable. We wanted to order desert but there was nothing available on the evening. We stayed 3 night and were kept awake each night. Level 2 rooms are on top of the carpark so we could hear every car come and go. All rooms are accessed via outdoor balconies (concrete floor). We were woken by every person walking past in thongs (morning & night)! Laundry room backed onto our bedroom. Although the sign on the door stated that it closed at 8pm, guests were still useing dryers at 11:30pm. When we called reception to complain they did nothing! Dryers were used for another hour!! This was not a relaxing "resort" & provided no value for money!! I would sincerely reccomend people against staying here! Pay that little bit extra & stay at the Rendevous!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MegsieMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, General Manager at Sunmoon Boutique Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you very much for taking time to review the Hotel following your stay. Whilst I do not propose to offer a reply to your comments some years after you published them, I do wish to express our gratitude for your feedback.

Upon commencement at the Hotel this January 2013, the team and I have set about on a number of new and very exciting initiatives all aimed at ultimately increasing guest satisfaction and loyalty to our brand. Of course both the Sunmoon Boutique Resort and Scarborough Village itself have come a long way since your particular stay.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of your company again, and I am delighted to act as your point of contact for any future stay, you have the teams’ and my personal assurance of an altogether better experience the next time around.

Once again thank you very much for your feedback, should you wish to discuss any aspect of our reply please call me on 08 9245 8000 extension 409.

Yours sincerely
Michael Cheung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 3, 2011

when we go there parking spaces were tight and were hard to get in and out of the reception was nice and the receptionist was nice, we got out bags up to our room with the hidden elevator but when we got to the room we noticed a few things including the room was not what we paid for we booked the spa queen room with balcony it had no balcony but had spa and there was not a big enough window to get air into the room we went down to reception and explained the room was not what we aSKed but the only way they could fix it was take us to another hotel down the road with balcony but no spa and we could get changed into another room the next day they provided us with a free dinner wine but there was a set menu and there was food on there i had never eaten and was food not suitable for children we the only thing we really ate during dinner was the lamb and potato the rest went to waist as it wasn't very nice even the desert was chocolate cake which was very dry so with little of food i ended up eating chips in the room also the pool was not for use after 6pm the breakfast wasn't what in other hotels i ate bacon eggs toast and more there wasn't much i ate croissants and orange juice which both juices were very diluted we went back up the room went for a swim the pool was nice but no place to put your key that was high so other children wouldn't get them we got changed rooms at 11pm the other room was a lot nicer they had a newer TV there other room had a TV older then my own at home and the balcony was nice except i notice big black stains on the curtains that were very noticeable and u could see every body else on there balcony's through slats and everybody Else's conversations not very private and some hotel guests were very loud with yelling, the spa in the new suite only half of the jets worked and i noticed there was 2 lights in the bathroom and the other room night before a globe was blown and not replaced, we also asked for more towels but the cleaners who i spoke to outside the room knew nothing of our requests so had to ask again, we ended up leaving at 10:30 when we left the lift was closed and we had to pull our bags own flight of stairs not good for guest that are old or in wheelchairs wishing to go out during the night, we were not comfortable and felt better in our own house i felt so bad leaving as it was meant to be a relaxing weekend away and explained to the hotel had to leave due to family matters but i was sick of the continues disappointment i would not recommend this hotel to friends or and especially to family's or people with disabilities, i have stayed in hotels that have been cheaper cleaner nicer and more understanding better food and longer hours of pool use and more equipped for different type of groups and guests also the hotel manger would only refund me $50 for my late departure when in previous times other hotels have given me a full refund and later on a email of apology i personally think this hotel is more interested in making money rather then making there guest happy

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JENNASCOTT1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, General Manager at Sunmoon Boutique Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you very much for taking time to review the Hotel following your stay. Whilst I do not propose to offer a reply to your comments some years after you published them, I do wish to express our gratitude for your feedback.

Upon commencement at the Hotel this January 2013, the team and I have set about on a number of new and very exciting initiatives all aimed at ultimately increasing guest satisfaction and loyalty to our brand. Of course both the Sunmoon Boutique Resort and Scarborough Village itself have come a long way since your particular stay.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of your company again, and I am delighted to act as your point of contact for any future stay, you have the teams’ and my personal assurance of an altogether better experience the next time around.

Once again thank you very much for your feedback, should you wish to discuss any aspect of our reply please call me on 08 9245 8000 extension 409.

Yours sincerely
Michael Cheung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2010

I stayed with my partner at the sunmoon resort in October.
I was concerned reading the reviews.... but once we arrived at the hotel our minds were put at rest.
The reception staff were very friendly and efficient on check in.
The 2 bedroom apartment was spacious and very clean, and the balcony was perfect to watch the sunset!

We dined in the restaurant on the first night and the food and service was great.

The Customer service we recieved was amazing and ive already booked to stay again for our anniversary next month.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amelia060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, General Manager at Sunmoon Boutique Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Amelia

Thank you very much for taking time to review the Hotel following your stay. Whilst I do not propose to offer a reply to your comments some years after you published them, I do wish to express our gratitude for your really nice feedback about both our accommodation and restaurant facilities.

Upon commencement at the Hotel this January 2013, the team and I have set about on a number of new and very exciting initiatives all aimed at ultimately increasing guest satisfaction and loyalty to our brand. Of course both the Sunmoon Boutique Resort and Scarborough Village itself have come a long way since your particular stay.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of your company again, and I am delighted to act as your point of contact for any future stay, you have the teams’ and my personal assurance of an altogether better experience the next time around.

Once again thank you very much for your feedback, should you wish to discuss any aspect of our reply please call me on 08 9245 8000 extension 409.

Yours sincerely
Michael Cheung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2010

Staff at reception very good arranged a extra room for us as we ended up with 2 extra kids , Room at front noisy as expected on edge of highway 2nd room at rear appeared quieter until the 'family from hell' started above us.
Breakfast , what a joke advertised as 2 eggs bacon or sausages fruit juice and coffee, had to help ourselves to cold sliced tomatoes sliced sandwich cheese ,sandwich ham and a bowl of cold eggs which we thought were raw until we saw a guest cut one open to reveal hard boiled.
Check the mini bar as about half the items listed were not in the fridge !

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PerthPedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, General Manager at Sunmoon Boutique Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you very much for taking time to review the Hotel following your stay. Whilst I do not propose to offer a reply to your comments some years after you published them, I do wish to express our gratitude for your feedback.

Upon commencement at the Hotel this January 2013, the team and I have set about on a number of new and very exciting initiatives all aimed at ultimately increasing guest satisfaction and loyalty to our brand. Of course both the Sunmoon Boutique Resort and Scarborough Village itself have come a long way since your particular stay.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of your company again, and I am delighted to act as your point of contact for any future stay, you have the teams’ and my personal assurance of an altogether better experience the next time around.

Once again thank you very much for your feedback, should you wish to discuss any aspect of our reply please call me on 08 9245 8000 extension 409.

Yours sincerely
Michael Cheung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
0.1 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough
0.3 mi away
Indian Ocean Hotel
Indian Ocean Hotel
#2 of 6 in Scarborough
205 reviews
0.3 mi away
West Beach Lagoon
West Beach Lagoon
#3 of 6 in Scarborough
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Ocean View Motel
Ocean View Motel
#1 of 1 in North Beach
74 reviews
6.7 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel
Ocean Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cottesloe
217 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Richardson Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunmoon Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunmoon Boutique Resort

Property: Sunmoon Boutique Resort
Address: 200 West Coast Hwy, Scarborough, Stirling, Western Australia 6019, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Stirling > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunmoon Boutique Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunmoon Boutique Resort is a 4 star resort located just a minutes walk from Perth's beautiful Sunset Coast and Scarborough Beach. Located only 15 min drive to Perth CBD, the Sunmoon offers a great option for Northern Suburbs Corporate guests with offices in Osborne Park, Innaloo and Balcatta. Holiday guests will enjoy the environmentally friendly design with water features, lush tropical gardens, fish ponds, swimming pool, licensed restaurant open for breakfast and dinner with function & conference facilities available. With 45 hotel style or self contained rooms, some with spas or balconies the Sunmoon is suitable for both the holiday maker & business traveller and offers a resort style outdoor swimming pool, gym and full hotel facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Sunmoon Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunmoon Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing