We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a rip-off. Do Not Stay Here”
Review of Indian Ocean Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Indian Ocean Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Scarborough
Reviewed January 25, 2007

For a hundred dollars this hotel looks like a backpackers (10 or 20 bucks). Now that I am reviewing prices it looks that after the school holidays it went down to 50 (of course).
The hotel is budget. Only one of the ladies at the reception was very nice (the older blonde lady with hair just above the shoulders. Sorry I couldn't catch the name since me and my wife only saw her when we got there) , but there was one younger, also blonde with glasses very rude. Not a single smile came out of her mouth. (the receptionist should welcome the guests, not the other way around).
The room service was awful. we left the room at 1:00 p.m and the housekeepers were just outside the room and saw us leaving. we overheard when they said " let's come back later". but they never did (ah!! but in the morning they opened the door when there was a sign saying "DO NOT DISTURB" and took the towels before we even showered and it got even worse: they FORGOT to replace them.)
The next day we left the room and made sure that the sign was position correctly : PLEASE MAKE UP MY ROOM. This time nothing happened, they took the towels again (we had to request them the day before) and did not leave any.
The room was never cleaned up during our stay; and also the bed was never made (so we had to do it) and they FORGOT to empty the rubbish during 3 days. how nice!!!
They included breakfast in the rate. Not so bad but they should at least include eggs. There's a good range of hotels in the city a lot better and for less money (city waters, north lodge in the city, etc)
Hopefully this review help you. but please consider a different hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank golg892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
There are newer reviews for Indian Ocean Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

205 - 209 of 209 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Mandurah, Perth, WA
18
Reviewed August 25, 2005

After phoning and booking through my credit card a romantic getaway package for my daughter and her boyfriend as a surprise 21st birthday present for her. I was very explicit about whom the booking was for and also was asked what time they would arrive, and I also asked what time they had to order dinner by, however not once was I informed that I would need to be there when they checked in to verify my signature. Upon arriving having travelled an hour and a half, they were told they could not book in. The person working at reception rang my to tell me he needed my signature. I understand his dilemna however due to living some an hour and a half away this was impossoble. He said he would ring the manager as she took the booking then ring back. I spoke to my daughter shortly afterwards and was told the manager denied ever knowing that I was not the one arriving to book in. My disgust of this treatment was further aggitated when the hotel atfer refusing them entry then cancelled the booking keeping $25.00 of the money paid. I understand their security awareness however I was basically called a liar, when an appology was all that was required!

Stayed: August 2005
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Allison1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016
Thank cheff0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nic_Hotel_Manager, Manager at Indian Ocean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swety2405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
0.2 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough
0.3 mi away
Sunmoon Boutique Resort
Sunmoon Boutique Resort
#4 of 6 in Scarborough
297 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ocean View Motel
Ocean View Motel
#1 of 1 in North Beach
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
West Beach Lagoon
West Beach Lagoon
#3 of 6 in Scarborough
82 reviews
6.5 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel
Ocean Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cottesloe
220 reviews
6.8 mi away
Parmelia Hilton Perth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indian Ocean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indian Ocean Hotel

Address: 23 Hastings St, Scarborough, Stirling, Western Australia 6019, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Stirling > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range: $64 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Indian Ocean Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wifi. Free secure parking. Free continental breakfast, with delicious hot cooked available for a small fee. Free Movie Channels. 24/7 Reception with refreshments and convenience items available for sale. We have an outdoor Swimming pool and heated spa. There is a Bistro and Bar on site for food and refreshment. The Indian Ocean Hotel is a friendly, family owned business one street back from famous Scarborough beach. With family friendly parks, beach walks, cycle tracks and surfing all available to you, it's the perfect place to stay. Come and enjoy some good old fashioned Scarborough hospitality with our team at the Indian Ocean Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Indian Ocean Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indian Ocean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing