We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lost booking but an upgrade to Spa Suite”
Review of Indian Ocean Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Indian Ocean Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Scarborough
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We chose this Hotel as is close to daughters residence. My initial booking over the phone had disappeared but the Admin lady was very apologetic, and after double checking everything we were offered the refurbished Spa Suite at the same price.
The room was very nice, coffee making facilities, well appointed kitchenette, good sized fridge (not a bar fridge), comfortable chairs, king sized bed, A/C, spa bath, new shower, and a table/chairs on the small balcony.
No ocean views, but that was OK.
Cars were locked behind a gate between 12pm and 6am but can organise to get vehicles out if required.
Great location - 2 streets from the Esplanade, beach and Wild Fig Cafe (great for breakfast).
Not 5 star but definitely suitable for us.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the Indi Bar - bands playing Fri/Sat night but was finished by midnight - no traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kabeelya60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 217 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2013

This hotel is relatively cheap, the staff are friendly and helpful and it is close to the beach. It needs an upgrade of its facilities and repairs that have been done are obvious. Foxtel did not work and the double bed was up against a wall allowing access from one side only. I have only seen this in London. The room had a double and a single bed in it, but was really only suitable for a double bed. Car park was locked between 12.00 am and 6.00 am.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngusMcDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

In the land of overpriced accommodation that is Perth, this unpretentious hotel was fine. Look past the dated 80's decor and you get a big comfortable bed, clean large rooms, friendly service and enough of the usual hotel trimmings to justify the tariff. Walking distance to the beach and dining opportunities and a pub and bottle shop on-site if you prefer. Secure car parking (free) and they throw in a continental breakfast as well.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheTravelMeister58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel from 09 Sep to 18 Sep and we stayed on the 2nd floor. The room was really spacious even with a single sized bed and a king sized bed. Even though it was indicated as a smoking room, the hotel only allows smoking in the balcony. Hence, the room was not smelly. The service provided was average as well.

The facade of the room and hotel is really old which really need a facelift to provide a better experience. The "continental" breakfast includes bread, cereals, milk, fruits and hot/cold beverages.

The bar is busiest from Thursday to Sunday. Hence, you will expect loud music till midnight.

For guests who self-drive, you can park your car under private area which the hotel will lock the gates from 12am to 6am.

It takes around 15 mins to get to Perth City and 20 mins to Fremantle area with car.

In general, the stay is pretty ok if you do not mind the "retro" feel. It is one of the cheaper hotel in Perth that we have found.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jas_lyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We booked this hotel through Qantas. When we arrived we were allocated a room facing south at a noisy and dusty building site. To get a room facing north we had to pay an upgrade fee. That room was spacious with a balcony that allowed views to the ocean. The hotel is run down and in need of a face lift. As is the attitude of the staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1relax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I should have been wary when I read that the hotel was described as "Modernistic 70's"

I recently stayed at this "tired" hotel, due to a last minute trip to attend a funeral in WA.

The rating on Wotif seemed OK and it did include breakfast. As I had to stay 3 nights, the "3 night" package seemed just right and the price was OK (it was only me staying - how bad could it be ? ) - yeah right.

I arrived very late (11:30pm after flight and drive from the airport). Check in was Ok as it was all booked on Wotif, but I had to pay a $100 bond / deposit - just in case (not sure what this would be for as there is no Mini Bar (in fact you are prohibited from brining alcohol onto the premises). Anyway I was tired and wanted to go to bed.

Before I slept, I wanted to iron - very hard on a 2 1/2 foot long "ironing board" (see photos). Anyway I managed and crashed for the night.

Bed was comforatable - I will give them that, but he room is stuck well and truly in the 70's - it has been upgraded with new double glazed windows (found out I needed them the next night) but the rest of the room is dark brown wood and bricks (again, see the photos).

Breakfast the next morning was "continental" - cook you own toast (in a VERY old toaster) make your own instant coffee or tea, and some juice. Oh well - breakfast was included.

With the Funeral over, I eventually came back to crash again, only to find that my room overlooks the seating area at the back of the adjoining Tavern / nightspot called the Indi. Very noisy, even with the double glazing, but at least they did stop at a reasonable hour (around midnight I think). However the adjoining room decided to begin love making at 4am - very thin walls in this hotel - did not leave a lot to the imagination or allow for much sleep.

The next morning I decided to make a cup of tea in my room - only to find what looks like pubic hair in the saucer of the cups set in the room - needless to say I did not drink anything in the room for the rest of the stay.

The bathroom is small but functional, as long as you put you knees in your chest to use the loo.

I have read all of the other comments about this hotel and they talk about the friendly staff - apart from checking in and checkin out, I did not speak to anyone (nor did anyone even say hello to me).... strange but true.

They say you get what you pay for - please read this and check the photos before making a decision to stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Gary Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

After staying here a few times now I would go back again and again. I love having the indie bar downstairs with the pool at the back. Also the rooms are clean and functional. The staff are friendly.

I arrived at the hotel one night to find a band playing in the bar after working a 12hour day i needed sleep. The music didn't even bother me/

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Myka B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
Sunmoon Boutique Resort
#4 of 6 in Scarborough
302 reviews
Ocean View Motel
#1 of 1 in North Beach
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Scarborough
Ramada Vetroblu Scarborough Beach
West Beach Lagoon
#3 of 6 in Scarborough
82 reviews
Ocean Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cottesloe
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indian Ocean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indian Ocean Hotel

Address: 23 Hastings St, Scarborough, Stirling, Western Australia 6019, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Stirling > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range: $64 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Indian Ocean Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wifi. Free secure parking. Free continental breakfast, with delicious hot cooked available for a small fee. Free Movie Channels. 24/7 Reception with refreshments and convenience items available for sale. We have an outdoor Swimming pool and heated spa. There is a Bistro and Bar on site for food and refreshment. The Indian Ocean Hotel is a friendly, family owned business one street back from famous Scarborough beach. With family friendly parks, beach walks, cycle tracks and surfing all available to you, it's the perfect place to stay. Come and enjoy some good old fashioned Scarborough hospitality with our team at the Indian Ocean Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Indian Ocean Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indian Ocean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing