We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly and helpful staff, rooms a little dated.”
Review of Indian Ocean Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Indian Ocean Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Scarborough
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
194 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Very friendly and helpful staff, rooms a little dated.”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

A family run hotel and it comes through with very good levels of service. Nothing seemed too much trouble; there is 24 hour reception which was always courteous. There is a lively bar and a restaurant with a good menu. Some of the rooms are dated; the hotel is going through a modernisation so hopefully the older rooms will be improved. Our room had some quirky features, the most notable being that in order to open the bathroom cabinet which had a sliding door it was necessary to take the hairdryer off the wall as it prevented the cabinet door from opening. If arriving late at night there is a chillier opposite reception offering cold beer and wine and if you desire anything more substantial than crisps or chocolates there is a 24 garage selling pies, sandwiches etc. a block down the road.

Room Tip: It is worth paying a little extra to get a room facing the swimming pool as these are larger and bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank putneyhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    62
    64
    24
    31
See reviews for
23
83
35
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Great hotel, the rooms are clean and very comfortable, easy access to all areas surrounding, nice receptionists when you first come to check in. and affordable.
I really liked the coffee corner and the oven in the room.
If you're not into luxury but a comfortable room - this hotel is for you.


Overall - fantastic experience

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zSherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We had a good stay at this hotel. The bed was huge and comfy and the bathroom was clean and okay but there wasn’t much room for knees when sitting on the loo!

There’s a great pub downstairs that plays live music and has a great vibe and your windows are double glazed so not a peep enters your room. The pub shuts at midnight anyway so there’s no issues there.

We could just see the ocean from our room and it was a short walk to the beach.
Great value for money, would recommend to mates.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alicialicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights- major building work on one side of hotel. So paid to upgraded room to other side on 5th floor/pool view (you could see ocean in the distance) Balcony overlooked pool and bar frequented by locals. Live music friday sat sun which surprisingly seemed to finish at a reasonable hour. Due to double glazing in this room could not hear noise when door was shut Hotel in general need of a refurb very dated. Walls thin, could sometimes hear conversations in hall and tv in room across the hall because they had to have it high to hear over the building work.The bar and restaurant dated and dark, pool area needs a tidy up (did not use either) not inviting. All clean though and housekeeping service very good. Huge queen bed very comfy. Bathroom small but newly decorated. Had tea, coffee, micro and brilliant little fridge. Reception/management polite helpful. Also offered locked parking area from midnight to 6 am at side of hotel.
Fairly central location bit weird that hotel entrance being in residential road . Neighbor building is a gaming hall and drive through off License. Nice when it was new I am sure.I was a little sceptical on arrival but enjoyed our stay, we needed a place in that location, would I stay there again?If it was a reasonable cost and not for too long.

Room Tip: Best on 4th 5th floors - with pool view. Get sun all day, our room had air con.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoannW19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 22, 2013

After purchasing online, I read previous comments and thought what am I going to, well im glad I didn't cancel and go elsewhere as upon entry very friendly staff, room was pleasant (bathroom small but new, not like other comments). I was on level 4, right above a bar on a Friday night, it was actually quite, could only hear music with the balcony door open. I most defiantly will stay again for cost appropriation, thank you I.O.Hotel Team

Room Tip: Higher the floor, better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToolmanTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We visited the Indian Ocean Hotel in Scarborough Beach and loved it. The staff couldn't have been friendlier and it was a close walk to the beach. The breakfast was more than enough and they had a machine which actually made hot tea.. So many hotels give you lukewarm water to make tea and the water was very hot.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank krause17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 15, 2013

My partner and i stayed here for 2nights. We stayed in room 504 it had a small balcony and u can see the ocean although it is a distance. Only 3min drive to the main strip so good location. The room although dated was clean and roomy and the bed was comfy, the bathroom is small but clean and not as old as the building. We didn't hear any noise apart from some bass that stopped around 12.30am from the bar down stairs. Over all not a bad stay. If you are after luxury this is not the place for you. And the room service food selection is very limited but they did make a mean omelette.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SariRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
Sunmoon Boutique Resort
#4 of 6 in Scarborough
291 reviews
West Beach Lagoon
#2 of 6 in Scarborough
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean View Motel
#1 of 1 in North Beach
73 reviews
Ocean Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cottesloe
212 reviews
West Perth
Sage Hotel West Perth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indian Ocean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indian Ocean Hotel

Property: Indian Ocean Hotel
Address: 23 Hastings St, Scarborough, Stirling, Western Australia 6019, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Stirling > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Indian Ocean Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wifi. Free secure parking. Free continental breakfast, with delicious hot cooked available for a small fee. Free Movie Channels. 24/7 Reception with refreshments and convenience items available for sale. We have an outdoor Swimming pool and heated spa. There is a Bistro and Bar on site for food and refreshment. The Indian Ocean Hotel is a friendly, family owned business one street back from famous Scarborough beach. With family friendly parks, beach walks, cycle tracks and surfing all available to you, it's the perfect place to stay. Come and enjoy some good old fashioned Scarborough hospitality with our team at the Indian Ocean Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Indian Ocean Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indian Ocean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing