We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forgot I came here 4 years ago. Never again”
Review of Indian Ocean Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Indian Ocean Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Scarborough
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Four years I stayd in this hotel and one room burnt. We've been evacuated. It was already terrible before. When I booked it last week I forgot about it. Everything came back when I faced the building. I thought after the fire they would have renovated, changed the carpets, make proper refit... NOTHING!!!! The hotel rooms are as old fashioned, badly furnished not taking about the bathroom as it was before the fire.

Never again.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jcqmorin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 218 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2013

Business trip, so only needed a bed and breakfast for overnight. What can I say, horrible experience. Noisy bar downstairs, noisy people outside, room really tatty. Ended up staying here before due to travel agent mistake made, but never again. They should change this building into serviced apartments and get rid of the bottle shop next door and noise bar.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

What a let down...first holiday in 5 years & first visit to WA...had been looking forward to this week long holiday for ages & imagine our disappointment as we drove into the carpark of one of the most run down, unappealing looking hotels we'd seen in a long time....oh, I'm sure it will be nice inside I said...WRONG! Equally unappealing & run down inside. Talk about caught in a '70s timewarp, but in the worst possible way! The room was dingy & the little outdoor section was the tiniest imaginable & with trellis separating it from the car park...it was much like a prison exercise yard. $950 for 6 nights at this place was far from good value...needless to say we won't be returning to this hotel in a hurry!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I stayed here for one night when I first arrived in Perth from Canada. I was backpacking but arrived late on the flight from Sydney. Indian Ocean Hotel was the only place i had heard of so I phoned ahead at the airport and booked a room. It was very dated and a bit dingy, but the bed was comfortable and the room was secure. The location was great withing walking distance to scarborough beach. I think the hotel was very overpriced for how dated the rooms were but all in all it was a ok last minute place to stay. The bar downstairs has great live music though, after finding a place to live in the area we frequented the bar on some great nights out

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flipflopyyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The hotel opened in the mid 1970s and hasn't had much improvement since then; that being said, the rooms are clean, functional and the staff were very friendly. The hotel is in a good location and has both a bistro and club / bar attached.

My experience with the bistro was not as positive; our order somehow got missed and was not discovered until after 40 minutes we still had not got our starters. Once this was pointed out, they did arrive but with a very lethargic attempt at an apology. The starter had only just arrived when the main did so as well, which was not appreciated. Both were only of average - but acceptable - standard.

Bistro aside, I would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Stayed for 5 nights. At first glance I thought "oh oh" as the property has a worn and dated 70s look about it. I've never stayed anywhere before that required a "bond" on top of paying for the room in advance. However while not the most aesthetically pleasing, my room was quiet and comfortable with a great bed. Housekeeping was immaculate. Staff were very helpful and friendly. The included breakfast was simple but sufficient. The pub attracted an "interesting" and entertaining crowd Friday and Saturday nights. It is close walking distance to the beach and a few restaurants. For what it cost (especially compared to other Perth hotels) it was good value for money.

Room Tip: My room was on the 5th floor and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oskar_Baxter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We hat to stay a last night in west australia before flying home to Switzerland. We decided to stay near the ocean. The Indian Ocean hotel is not real close to the ocean and is rather old but ok. The best thing is the local pub with live music. Breakfast is rather simple, building noise from a new hotel nearby can disturb, if your room is on the rong side of the hotel

Room Tip: Rooms on the right side are not that noisy, becaus on the left side a new hotel is builing built.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HPGiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
Sunmoon Boutique Resort
#4 of 6 in Scarborough
302 reviews
Ocean View Motel
#1 of 1 in North Beach
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Scarborough
Ramada Vetroblu Scarborough Beach
West Beach Lagoon
#3 of 6 in Scarborough
82 reviews
Ocean Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cottesloe
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indian Ocean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indian Ocean Hotel

Address: 23 Hastings St, Scarborough, Stirling, Western Australia 6019, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Stirling > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range: $64 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Indian Ocean Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wifi. Free secure parking. Free continental breakfast, with delicious hot cooked available for a small fee. Free Movie Channels. 24/7 Reception with refreshments and convenience items available for sale. We have an outdoor Swimming pool and heated spa. There is a Bistro and Bar on site for food and refreshment. The Indian Ocean Hotel is a friendly, family owned business one street back from famous Scarborough beach. With family friendly parks, beach walks, cycle tracks and surfing all available to you, it's the perfect place to stay. Come and enjoy some good old fashioned Scarborough hospitality with our team at the Indian Ocean Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Indian Ocean Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indian Ocean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing