We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Depressing & disappointing!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Indian Ocean Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Indian Ocean Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Scarborough
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Depressing & disappointing!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

What a let down...first holiday in 5 years & first visit to WA...had been looking forward to this week long holiday for ages & imagine our disappointment as we drove into the carpark of one of the most run down, unappealing looking hotels we'd seen in a long time....oh, I'm sure it will be nice inside I said...WRONG! Equally unappealing & run down inside. Talk about caught in a '70s timewarp, but in the worst possible way! The room was dingy & the little outdoor section was the tiniest imaginable & with trellis separating it from the car park...it was much like a prison exercise yard. $950 for 6 nights at this place was far from good value...needless to say we won't be returning to this hotel in a hurry!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    59
    61
    23
    30
See reviews for
19
80
34
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

I stayed here for one night when I first arrived in Perth from Canada. I was backpacking but arrived late on the flight from Sydney. Indian Ocean Hotel was the only place i had heard of so I phoned ahead at the airport and booked a room. It was very dated and a bit dingy, but the bed was comfortable and the room was secure. The location was great withing walking distance to scarborough beach. I think the hotel was very overpriced for how dated the rooms were but all in all it was a ok last minute place to stay. The bar downstairs has great live music though, after finding a place to live in the area we frequented the bar on some great nights out

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flipflopyyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowra, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

The hotel opened in the mid 1970s and hasn't had much improvement since then; that being said, the rooms are clean, functional and the staff were very friendly. The hotel is in a good location and has both a bistro and club / bar attached.

My experience with the bistro was not as positive; our order somehow got missed and was not discovered until after 40 minutes we still had not got our starters. Once this was pointed out, they did arrive but with a very lethargic attempt at an apology. The starter had only just arrived when the main did so as well, which was not appreciated. Both were only of average - but acceptable - standard.

Bistro aside, I would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Evan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
136 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

Stayed for 5 nights. At first glance I thought "oh oh" as the property has a worn and dated 70s look about it. I've never stayed anywhere before that required a "bond" on top of paying for the room in advance. However while not the most aesthetically pleasing, my room was quiet and comfortable with a great bed. Housekeeping was immaculate. Staff were very helpful and friendly. The included breakfast was simple but sufficient. The pub attracted an "interesting" and entertaining crowd Friday and Saturday nights. It is close walking distance to the beach and a few restaurants. For what it cost (especially compared to other Perth hotels) it was good value for money.

Room Tip: My room was on the 5th floor and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oskar_Baxter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thalwil, Switzerland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

We hat to stay a last night in west australia before flying home to Switzerland. We decided to stay near the ocean. The Indian Ocean hotel is not real close to the ocean and is rather old but ok. The best thing is the local pub with live music. Breakfast is rather simple, building noise from a new hotel nearby can disturb, if your room is on the rong side of the hotel

Room Tip: Rooms on the right side are not that noisy, becaus on the left side a new hotel is builing built.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HPGiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

Stayed for two nights - early December 2012 and was 'disappointed' to say the least.
Reception staff were very friendly, but that was about the best thing I could say about this hotel.
Had a dingy ground floor room located along a dingy corridor within a few feet of the reception desk.
The problems really started when the "music" started. I call it music, but it was just a very loud noise in my opinion, and boy was it loud. No chance of sleeping until it was all over. The hotel bar (where the bands play) attracts some rough people - I mean Rough with a capital R...and I witnessed a number of unfortunate incidents, with Police being called to the car park, and various other issues going on. Not good at all.
During the night I was woken by people talking loudly in the corridor and at the reception desk....that's how close I was to the reception desk!
Breakfast was basic to say the least.....some old cereal, and bland coffee and bread.....
All in all..I wouldn't stay here again.....

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor......it's very noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SBTJOHNNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

Came to Perth for a couple of days before joining ship for work and chose this hotel.
Close to the beach in Scarborough, about 5 minutes walk.
Stayed in a spa room which was a good size. Nice shower and comfortable bed.
Had dinner the first night and it was OK.
Breakfast is a little uninspiring with little fresh fruit on offer. Just instant coffee as well.
Good transport links to the city and a lot to do around the beach

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobS_67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
0.3 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough
0.3 mi away
Sunmoon Boutique Resort
Sunmoon Boutique Resort
#2 of 6 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.1 mi away
West Beach Lagoon
West Beach Lagoon
#3 of 6 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Ocean View Motel
Ocean View Motel
#1 of 1 in North Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
6.5 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel
Ocean Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cottesloe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Richardson Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indian Ocean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indian Ocean Hotel

Property: Indian Ocean Hotel
Address: 23 Hastings St, Scarborough, Stirling, Western Australia 6019, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Stirling > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Indian Ocean Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wifi. Free secure parking. Free continental breakfast, with delicious hot cooked available for a small fee. Free Movie Channels. 24/7 Reception with refreshments and convenience items available for sale. We have an outdoor Swimming pool and heated spa. There is a Bistro and Bar on site for food and refreshment. The Indian Ocean Hotel is a friendly, family owned business one street back from famous Scarborough beach. With family friendly parks, beach walks, cycle tracks and surfing all available to you, it's the perfect place to stay. Come and enjoy some good old fashioned Scarborough hospitality with our team at the Indian Ocean Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Indian Ocean Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indian Ocean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing