We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a couple of night's rest”
Review of Indian Ocean Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Indian Ocean Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Scarborough
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good for a couple of night's rest”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Stayed here at the end of May for a couple of nights (Mon and Tues night), and I must say, it's really not too bad a hotel. Yes, it's old, with a cranky air-conditioner, and tiny bathroom, very old style, but some of the terrible reviews seem abit exaggerating to me. The free continental buffet breakfast was good enough for my husband and me, you could help yourself to as much breakfast cereals (about 6 different types of variety, if I remembered correctly), milk, toast and fruit as you wish. Coffee and tea as well. Yes the free breakfast doesn't include any hot items like omelettes and so on, but doesn't bother us much. Room was pretty clean, just that the bed may have been abit too soft for us (hence many other customers review that the bed's comfy), but it may just be that the husband and I have abit of a bad back and would prefer something firmer. Rooms were good-sized for a couple in my opinion though (stayed in a room with a queen bed and a single bed)!

All in all, for the price, I guess it was quite a good stay!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grace K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    64
    65
    24
    31
See reviews for
26
83
35
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

I had booked a deluxe double with what was described on the web as 'amazing ocean views'. True - if I hung over the edge of my balcony to peer at a slither of an ocean to my right. Very misleading advertising.

Yes, it's old. Not quaint old but rather 'I need TLC' old. Refurb badly needed. My 'deluxe' room on the fourth floor was brown, dark and uninviting. It was, however, clean with crisp linen, decent bed and great TV. Although microwave is fitted, there is no cutlery or crockery other than 3 coffee cups, 2 saucers and 1 teaspoon. Strange. Bathroom very small but in good condition.

Personally, I didn't feel that the location was as great as some others have commented. The hotel adjoins a drive through bottle shop and parking lot. Awkward (ugly) walk about 500m to get to beach. I would not stay there again - not at those rates anyway.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gogo6gogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark, Western Australia, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

The hotel might be old but the owners and staff really look after the place. The staff are so helpful and friendly, nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are basic but all you need when you're only staying a couple of nights. They are clean & well looked after and the staff are in the 'best of the best league' (which includes alternative 5 star hotels/motels/resorts). The owners and staff really seem like they "love the place" and have made us feel so welcome. Excellent, affordable accommodation .... right near the beach!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Stayed at this hotel in Feb 2012 as I was on a budget.
The only good things there was in my room was the lovely big LCD flat screen and a comfy bed.
As for the rest....................well, here goes.
Cobwebs all over the ceiling, huge spider found at the side of the bed (alive), air con 1980's addition, shower was gruby and never any hot water in the evenings.
You couldnt bring in your own beer, you had to buy from there reception of the hotel, to which the price wasnt too bad $15 for 6 bottles of VB.
The noise was herendous when they had live bands on......public running up and down the corridor (ground floor) staff could not control this, they even had trouble at the hotel with fights and people jumping the fences and throwing glass bottles over the street, i asked to be moved to a room on a higher level, that was refused, if you want an early night, from tues-sun you got no chance, the only night you can sleep soundly is mondays.
I wanted to get up in the mornings to go to the beach to watch the sunrise, that didnt happen as i was too knackered to get out of bed because id been kept awake till early hours.
I have never stayed in a hotel and made to feel so uncomfortable as a solo traveller like i did. My first night in the dining area was so uncomfortable i abandoned my food. I had travelled from port lincoln i was knackered and hungary so i went into the dining area to get a drink and something to eat, i was starred at continously by other guests, i didnt even eat all my soup i just wanted to get out and go to my room.
Other hotels i have stayed in around australia I have always been made to feel welcome, and can even sit in the bar on my own. However, the Indian Ocean did not make me feel like that, I stayed in my room when i wasnt down the beach. It was a regretable decision staying at the Indian ocean hotel.
Ahhh my balcony...............BALCONY more like a rabbit hutch. Was set right by the car park it was 3ft by 7 or 8ft with a table and 2 chairs, which you couldnt even turn them around.
Scarborough has a beautiful beach but be warned sharks are sighted in these waters as one day i was at the beach and the shark siren did go off. But as for scarborough itself, it lacks australian lifestyle, I had to keep reminding myself i was in australia and not england. Scarborough has too many chippys/burger bars..............its all junk food sold in this town, too many english and irish folk, i dont recall hearing the ozzy accent from anyone one the hotel staff.
SO, the answer to my title: would I stay again......................................NO !

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank westlennox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Kiwi
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

This is an old style hotel but is staffed by a great team of young people, it is clean and located real close to Scarborough beach. The room was big with a bed the size of a football field but the bathroom was an after thought. Small and difficult to access the loo. The downstairs bistro was jumping and served the best steak sarnie I have ever had.

Room Tip: Need to be a few floors up from the bistro
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank airbus0320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Was there for a week in May, excellent food at the Indi Bar (Do try the Beef burgers). Happy hours are outstanding, bands playing, service, I loved it ALL! If your looking for a get away from the tourist sceanery this is the perfect place, yet your only blocks (walking distance) from the beach other bars,clubs etc. WiFi Internet service was Exteremly expensive ($40 USD 2day package) and very poor quality, worked great early in the morning and late at night though (low user volume I guess). Rooms are comfy and definately worth the price but could use a facial. All staff members overall were great but my hats off to the Indi bar staff.

Highly recomend the Leederville Hotel (Not a Hotel) its a Huge Club, Bar, Lounge a bit of everything if you want something more up beat than the laid back local sceanery of the Indi. About a $30USD cab ride from the Indian Ocean Hotel

Room Tip: Nothing that faces the pool if you want something quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 568WIllieS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights. As others have noted the hotel is old and in desperate need of some serious refurb work. The carpets are well worn and different patterns on each floor, the walls and doors don't keep out the noise of neighbours. Saying all that the rooms are clean and tidy for their age. The bed was comfortable and sheets clean and crisp. There are flat screen TV's with 2 free movie channels and the usual free TV programmes. The shower tiling is well passed it's use by date but the cleaning crew obviously try their hardest to keep it as clean as possible. All of the staff I came across were very friendly and happy. Breakfast was OK with a good selection of cereals, toast, fruit salad and fresh fruit. Alright for a night or 2.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 5KiwisinOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
0.2 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough
0.3 mi away
Sunmoon Boutique Resort
Sunmoon Boutique Resort
#4 of 6 in Scarborough
296 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ocean View Motel
Ocean View Motel
#1 of 1 in North Beach
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
West Beach Lagoon
West Beach Lagoon
#3 of 6 in Scarborough
82 reviews
6.8 mi away
Parmelia Hilton Perth
6.5 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel
Ocean Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cottesloe
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indian Ocean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indian Ocean Hotel

Property: Indian Ocean Hotel
Address: 23 Hastings St, Scarborough, Stirling, Western Australia 6019, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Stirling > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Indian Ocean Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wifi. Free secure parking. Free continental breakfast, with delicious hot cooked available for a small fee. Free Movie Channels. 24/7 Reception with refreshments and convenience items available for sale. We have an outdoor Swimming pool and heated spa. There is a Bistro and Bar on site for food and refreshment. The Indian Ocean Hotel is a friendly, family owned business one street back from famous Scarborough beach. With family friendly parks, beach walks, cycle tracks and surfing all available to you, it's the perfect place to stay. Come and enjoy some good old fashioned Scarborough hospitality with our team at the Indian Ocean Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Indian Ocean Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indian Ocean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing