We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (245)
Filter reviews
245 results
Traveler rating
31
82
75
26
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
31
82
75
26
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews indie bar free continental breakfast older style hotel hour reception dated decor movie channels deluxe room the ground floor secure parking single bed within easy walking distance rooms are clean overnight stay nice pool down stairs stayed for one night balcony door
Filter
Updating list...
189 - 194 of 245 reviews
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Stayed at Indian Ocean Hotel in February 2012. Staff don't seem well trained in customer service. We were ignored at check-in whilst 3 staff members served 1 other client at desk. Room was basic but clean. Bath towels included but a hand towel would have been nice. Breakfast was simply but adequate. Staff member on duty was unfriendly, distracted and we had to ask her for cereal bowls. Milk was not very cold. When room was made up next day our used towels had been removed but fresh ones were not left. We had to go down to reception to get more. Staff member didn't seem at all surprised as she made a comment about housekeeping. Bathroom was poor. Shower head was in odd position and it was awkward to use. Plenty of hot water though. Badly dripping tap was annoying in sink. It was actually running constantly. It was so obvious that it should have been reported by cleaning staff. Outdoor swimming pool looked nice but workmen drinking in beer garden in afternoon made it awkward to swim without feeling self conscious. Overall this was extremely dated accommodation. With renovations and better trained staff this could be a much better place to stay.

Room tip: Make sure you don't get a room overlooking car park. The view of a demolition site is dreadful.
Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Likes:
While we booked a King room to fit the family, we found out it faced the pool area and the pub with live music from thursday onwards. We requested for a similar room facing the other side. Even though they were fully booked out, they were kind enough to consider the childrens sleeping time and swap us with another arriving guest.

And because the room we ended up in was a Queen room, they even refunded us the difference.

Queen room is still spacious enough for a family of four.

It faces the quiet car park, so its perfect.

The pool is a good size, with a baby waddling section, and has colourful underwater lights to amuse the kids

Dislikes:
The pub food pricing is abit on the high side especially for the ambience it provides.
We were abit disappointed after ordering the daily pasta special as the item written on the specials menu was different from the one on the blackboard.
We didnt get what we thought we ordered.

Room tip: If you want a quiet room, ask for ones facing the side car park. If you want the pool view, be prepared for noisy thursdays - saturdays. Note the hotel is only 5 storeys high.
Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AAA20102011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

We stayed in a 'Deluxe' room, upon opening the door to our room on the fourth level, I was convinced we had been given a standard room, as it turns out it was the right room. The overall look of the hotel and rooms gives the impression this place hasn't had much done to it since the 80's. However the place isn't all bad, the room and bed was comfortable and the restaurant downstairs does offer some good food & the beach in Scarborough is amazingly beautiful.

However some things should be made clear, public transport is terrible in Scarborough, so if that's important perhaps consider staying in Cottesloe (which has a train station & bus connections), the ocean views the hotel speaks of are virtually non existent apart from a small patch of water if you look in between buildings to your side, the bathrooms are simply awkward due to a lack of a bench, the pool is clean and a great way to relax, but be warned, it is beside an outdoor beer garden which is popular with the locals on a Thursday & Friday nights. As such trying to enjoy the pool on a hot night can be quite intimidating due to the sheer number of people enjoying drinks at the bar and watching people in the pool (not great for families).

Considering the lack of hotel options in Scarborough, this place isn't too bad, just be informed! I would probably stay here again if I had a car as the public transport was terrible (no easy way to get to Cottesloe or Fremantle & about a 40min bus ride to Perth). For the price paid it's not too bad

Room tip: Get a Deluxe room, check out their ad in the '2012 Stay WA' guide for a free upgrade to help achieve this
Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank paulie_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Stayed at the Indian Pacific November 2011. Yes, it is basic but value for money considering the location, however, it appears not much time spent on basics. As you arrive it's untidy appearance, could easily be solved by a broom and basic gardening. The reception area is not inviting and staff were not friendly. Room was a good size and clean, however, toilet in shower would not be suitable for elderly or disabled.

Room tip: Rooms 3rd floor and above as music most nights
Date of stay: November 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2011

I think I need to put the record straight about the Indian Ocean Hotel because it's actually a very reasonable hotel.

My wife, 19month toddler and I flew out from the UK to Perth mid November for a total of 15 nights via Emirates. Having done some research we decided to stay in Scarborough beach due to its excellent beach and relative closeness to Perth city centre.

Reading some of the Trip advisor reviews of the Indian Ocean Hotel we decided to stay initially for 4 nights, figuring that if it was as bad as was being made out by some reviewers that we could move onto a different hotel. However, on our arrival we were pleasantly surprised by the hotel and the staff.

We arrived late in the evening from a gruelling 19 hour flight from the UK and were greeted by one of the reception staff who welcomed us and advised us on breakfast in the morning and gave us the key to our room on the 4th floor.

The room itself was perfectly acceptable having a good sized double bed for us and a single bed for our toddler. The room had coffee and tea making facilities plus a microwave and fridge so was ideal for eating in and cooling the bottled water that we had brought with us. A 32” flat-screen LCD TV was hung on the wall which also had access to a couple of movie channels as well as the normal news channels. A air-conditioning unit with remote control was installed should it become too warm in the room.

The bathroom was clean enough being fully tiled so no complaints there and had a shower fitted - though sadly no bath.

I'm not sure whether this is the norm in Australia, but there was no two pin shaver socket in the bathroom (or anywhere else for that matter) and despite calling down to reception, all the universal worldwide adapters they stocked didn't fit the two pin plug of the Braun shaver cable so unfortunately I did start looking like captain Birds Eye for a few days until I picked up a cheap electric shaver [NOTE: bring along a three pin shaver adapter before visiting Australia].

Aside from this spiky issue, we ventured down to the breakfast area on the ground floor to be greeted by some friendly staff members who made the trip very enjoyable. All the staff we encountered spared a few moments to say hi and assist us whenever necessary. Certainly the staff were kept busy clearing tables in the breakfast area so there were always plenty of clean tables to sit down too and bread and orange juice topped up. The continental breakfast was perfectly acceptable to us, with out toddler having great enjoyment with the toast and marmalade. We made our own coffee or tea and everything worked like clockwork. His 'squeaky' arrival into the breakfast bar was always met with smiles.

We decided to stay for the the remaining ten days in the Indian Ocean Hotel so the receptionists worked hard to allocate empty rooms to allow us to stay longer which must have had them kept busy because the hotel was nearly always fully booked. Our total length of stay was 15 nights of which we tried out four rooms from the most basic to the luxury and I can honestly say that they were all perfectly acceptable for a 3 star hotel. Granted the luxury rooms were bigger, but all the rooms that we stayed in came with kettle, tea, coffee making facilities, fridge and microwave, air-conditioning, LCD TV. It's just that the luxury rooms were slightly bigger, better finished, and came with nicer bathrooms.

I should mention that there is an Indie Bar attached to the hotel which is unbelievably popular in the evenings, so I guess that the noise levels on the lower levels must be quite loud if the balcony door is left open. We personally never noticed it very much after spending our days out sightseeing, once our heads hit the pillows we were out for the count. Most of the rooms were double-glazed so the noise level was minimal.

Contrary to what has been said in some of the earlier posts, from this room we could see the sea from the balcony and the same can be said of several other rooms that we stayed in. Granted the hotel isn't situated right on the beach but nevertheless the beach can be seen in the distance. To anyone interested. The walk to the beach takes approx five minutes.

The hotel itself had a feel of being family owned with all the staff being very friendly and offering advice as and when it was required.

We didn't have a car having travelled over by taxi, but the hotel does have ample free car parking spaces at the front and the side of the hotel so there are no problems on that score.

To anyone considering staying at the Indian Ocean Hotel I can say hand on heart yes do try it. It's not a 5 star establishment and you shouldn't expect that level of service. What it offers is a decent quality, friendly service for a reasonable rate. As a 3 star hotel it is spot-on. Yes there are small areas that need improving, but overall its good value for money.

The only gripe that I can think of is the wifi/broadband access which really ought to be free, though feel that perhaps we have been spoiled in the UK where nearly all wifi in hotels is free and is regarded as a freebie to get sales reps to stay in the hotels. C'mon IOH, do us all a favour and provide free complimentary wifi in the hotel rooms and bar area. I would rather have that than free coffee!

Would we stay again at the Indian Ocean Hotel, well yes we would.

Can I take this opportunity to thank all the members of staff who were so kind to us whilst we stayed at the hotel. Mr Squeaky particularly enjoyed the nearby park which was recommended to us by one of the staff.

Thank you

P.S. As a footnote, when someone asks me what I was doing on the 11/11/11 at 11:11am I can say I was sat on Scarborough beach near Perth with my wife and toddler, enjoying the warmth, the sunshine and listening to the waves crashing down with beautiful clear blue skies overhead. Not many people can say that can they?

Room tip: Higher level rooms will have less noise from the Indy bar - having said that, with the double glazing it is hardly a major issue - we slept through every night we stayed there! UK visitors, don't forget to bring a three pin shaver adapter.
Date of stay: November 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 4027UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews