We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old but cheapy for Scarborough”
Review of Indian Ocean Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Indian Ocean Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Scarborough
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Have stayed here before, basic 2/3 star hotel, check in was good. We requested room on south side due to late night bands in bar below which we received. Clean room, slighly noisy old air con. Its a case of you get what you pay for, which suited us fine for this trip.
The Indi Bar downstairs had couple good bands on, good older crowd with easy blues style music.
happy to recommend but be aware of what you are getting.

Room Tip: Pick south facing rooms if you dont like live music
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kimberleybloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 217 reviews

Reviewed February 29, 2012

Stayed at Indian Ocean Hotel in February 2012. Staff don't seem well trained in customer service. We were ignored at check-in whilst 3 staff members served 1 other client at desk. Room was basic but clean. Bath towels included but a hand towel would have been nice. Breakfast was simply but adequate. Staff member on duty was unfriendly, distracted and we had to ask her for cereal bowls. Milk was not very cold. When room was made up next day our used towels had been removed but fresh ones were not left. We had to go down to reception to get more. Staff member didn't seem at all surprised as she made a comment about housekeeping. Bathroom was poor. Shower head was in odd position and it was awkward to use. Plenty of hot water though. Badly dripping tap was annoying in sink. It was actually running constantly. It was so obvious that it should have been reported by cleaning staff. Outdoor swimming pool looked nice but workmen drinking in beer garden in afternoon made it awkward to swim without feeling self conscious. Overall this was extremely dated accommodation. With renovations and better trained staff this could be a much better place to stay.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get a room overlooking car park. The view of a demolition site is dreadful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Likes:
While we booked a King room to fit the family, we found out it faced the pool area and the pub with live music from thursday onwards. We requested for a similar room facing the other side. Even though they were fully booked out, they were kind enough to consider the childrens sleeping time and swap us with another arriving guest.

And because the room we ended up in was a Queen room, they even refunded us the difference.

Queen room is still spacious enough for a family of four.

It faces the quiet car park, so its perfect.

The pool is a good size, with a baby waddling section, and has colourful underwater lights to amuse the kids

Dislikes:
The pub food pricing is abit on the high side especially for the ambience it provides.
We were abit disappointed after ordering the daily pasta special as the item written on the specials menu was different from the one on the blackboard.
We didnt get what we thought we ordered.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, ask for ones facing the side car park. If you want the pool view, be prep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AAA20102011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

We stayed in a 'Deluxe' room, upon opening the door to our room on the fourth level, I was convinced we had been given a standard room, as it turns out it was the right room. The overall look of the hotel and rooms gives the impression this place hasn't had much done to it since the 80's. However the place isn't all bad, the room and bed was comfortable and the restaurant downstairs does offer some good food & the beach in Scarborough is amazingly beautiful.

However some things should be made clear, public transport is terrible in Scarborough, so if that's important perhaps consider staying in Cottesloe (which has a train station & bus connections), the ocean views the hotel speaks of are virtually non existent apart from a small patch of water if you look in between buildings to your side, the bathrooms are simply awkward due to a lack of a bench, the pool is clean and a great way to relax, but be warned, it is beside an outdoor beer garden which is popular with the locals on a Thursday & Friday nights. As such trying to enjoy the pool on a hot night can be quite intimidating due to the sheer number of people enjoying drinks at the bar and watching people in the pool (not great for families).

Considering the lack of hotel options in Scarborough, this place isn't too bad, just be informed! I would probably stay here again if I had a car as the public transport was terrible (no easy way to get to Cottesloe or Fremantle & about a 40min bus ride to Perth). For the price paid it's not too bad

Room Tip: Get a Deluxe room, check out their ad in the '2012 Stay WA' guide for a free upgrade to help...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank paulie_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Stayed at the Indian Pacific November 2011. Yes, it is basic but value for money considering the location, however, it appears not much time spent on basics. As you arrive it's untidy appearance, could easily be solved by a broom and basic gardening. The reception area is not inviting and staff were not friendly. Room was a good size and clean, however, toilet in shower would not be suitable for elderly or disabled.

Room Tip: Rooms 3rd floor and above as music most nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2011

I think I need to put the record straight about the Indian Ocean Hotel because it's actually a very reasonable hotel.

My wife, 19month toddler and I flew out from the UK to Perth mid November for a total of 15 nights via Emirates. Having done some research we decided to stay in Scarborough beach due to its excellent beach and relative closeness to Perth city centre.

Reading some of the Trip advisor reviews of the Indian Ocean Hotel we decided to stay initially for 4 nights, figuring that if it was as bad as was being made out by some reviewers that we could move onto a different hotel. However, on our arrival we were pleasantly surprised by the hotel and the staff.

We arrived late in the evening from a gruelling 19 hour flight from the UK and were greeted by one of the reception staff who welcomed us and advised us on breakfast in the morning and gave us the key to our room on the 4th floor.

The room itself was perfectly acceptable having a good sized double bed for us and a single bed for our toddler. The room had coffee and tea making facilities plus a microwave and fridge so was ideal for eating in and cooling the bottled water that we had brought with us. A 32” flat-screen LCD TV was hung on the wall which also had access to a couple of movie channels as well as the normal news channels. A air-conditioning unit with remote control was installed should it become too warm in the room.

The bathroom was clean enough being fully tiled so no complaints there and had a shower fitted - though sadly no bath.

I'm not sure whether this is the norm in Australia, but there was no two pin shaver socket in the bathroom (or anywhere else for that matter) and despite calling down to reception, all the universal worldwide adapters they stocked didn't fit the two pin plug of the Braun shaver cable so unfortunately I did start looking like captain Birds Eye for a few days until I picked up a cheap electric shaver [NOTE: bring along a three pin shaver adapter before visiting Australia].

Aside from this spiky issue, we ventured down to the breakfast area on the ground floor to be greeted by some friendly staff members who made the trip very enjoyable. All the staff we encountered spared a few moments to say hi and assist us whenever necessary. Certainly the staff were kept busy clearing tables in the breakfast area so there were always plenty of clean tables to sit down too and bread and orange juice topped up. The continental breakfast was perfectly acceptable to us, with out toddler having great enjoyment with the toast and marmalade. We made our own coffee or tea and everything worked like clockwork. His 'squeaky' arrival into the breakfast bar was always met with smiles.

We decided to stay for the the remaining ten days in the Indian Ocean Hotel so the receptionists worked hard to allocate empty rooms to allow us to stay longer which must have had them kept busy because the hotel was nearly always fully booked. Our total length of stay was 15 nights of which we tried out four rooms from the most basic to the luxury and I can honestly say that they were all perfectly acceptable for a 3 star hotel. Granted the luxury rooms were bigger, but all the rooms that we stayed in came with kettle, tea, coffee making facilities, fridge and microwave, air-conditioning, LCD TV. It's just that the luxury rooms were slightly bigger, better finished, and came with nicer bathrooms.

I should mention that there is an Indie Bar attached to the hotel which is unbelievably popular in the evenings, so I guess that the noise levels on the lower levels must be quite loud if the balcony door is left open. We personally never noticed it very much after spending our days out sightseeing, once our heads hit the pillows we were out for the count. Most of the rooms were double-glazed so the noise level was minimal.

Contrary to what has been said in some of the earlier posts, from this room we could see the sea from the balcony and the same can be said of several other rooms that we stayed in. Granted the hotel isn't situated right on the beach but nevertheless the beach can be seen in the distance. To anyone interested. The walk to the beach takes approx five minutes.

The hotel itself had a feel of being family owned with all the staff being very friendly and offering advice as and when it was required.

We didn't have a car having travelled over by taxi, but the hotel does have ample free car parking spaces at the front and the side of the hotel so there are no problems on that score.

To anyone considering staying at the Indian Ocean Hotel I can say hand on heart yes do try it. It's not a 5 star establishment and you shouldn't expect that level of service. What it offers is a decent quality, friendly service for a reasonable rate. As a 3 star hotel it is spot-on. Yes there are small areas that need improving, but overall its good value for money.

The only gripe that I can think of is the wifi/broadband access which really ought to be free, though feel that perhaps we have been spoiled in the UK where nearly all wifi in hotels is free and is regarded as a freebie to get sales reps to stay in the hotels. C'mon IOH, do us all a favour and provide free complimentary wifi in the hotel rooms and bar area. I would rather have that than free coffee!

Would we stay again at the Indian Ocean Hotel, well yes we would.

Can I take this opportunity to thank all the members of staff who were so kind to us whilst we stayed at the hotel. Mr Squeaky particularly enjoyed the nearby park which was recommended to us by one of the staff.

Thank you

P.S. As a footnote, when someone asks me what I was doing on the 11/11/11 at 11:11am I can say I was sat on Scarborough beach near Perth with my wife and toddler, enjoying the warmth, the sunshine and listening to the waves crashing down with beautiful clear blue skies overhead. Not many people can say that can they?

Room Tip: Higher level rooms will have less noise from the Indy bar - having said that, with the double glazin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 4027UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2011

It really is like stepping back to the late 70's/80's when you get to the IOH. It's certainly not where you'd take a loved one hoping on some romance. It's clean and basic and 5 mins from Scarbs beach. Location wise it's perfect for Scarborough. It's great value for money especially given PErth's hotels are horrifically overpriced. So if you're like me a just want somewhere clean to lay your head, go for it. If you want the wow factor best you stay elsewhere. There's live music on most nights at the hotel but you'd hardly know it from the 3rd floor rooms, we didn't hear a thing. The locked/security parking was a good touch. Breakfast was included and was again, like the hotel, basic but did the job. Staff were friendly and helpful. Pool was out of order for the 2 days we were there which was annoying. Definetely consider it if you want to spend your money on better things rather than accom.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shari F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
Sunmoon Boutique Resort
#4 of 6 in Scarborough
302 reviews
Ocean View Motel
#1 of 1 in North Beach
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Scarborough
Ramada Vetroblu Scarborough Beach
West Beach Lagoon
#3 of 6 in Scarborough
82 reviews
Ocean Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cottesloe
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indian Ocean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indian Ocean Hotel

Address: 23 Hastings St, Scarborough, Stirling, Western Australia 6019, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Stirling > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range: $64 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Indian Ocean Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wifi. Free secure parking. Free continental breakfast, with delicious hot cooked available for a small fee. Free Movie Channels. 24/7 Reception with refreshments and convenience items available for sale. We have an outdoor Swimming pool and heated spa. There is a Bistro and Bar on site for food and refreshment. The Indian Ocean Hotel is a friendly, family owned business one street back from famous Scarborough beach. With family friendly parks, beach walks, cycle tracks and surfing all available to you, it's the perfect place to stay. Come and enjoy some good old fashioned Scarborough hospitality with our team at the Indian Ocean Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Indian Ocean Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indian Ocean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing