We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect beach stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Seashells Scarborough
Reviewed March 8, 2011

Having previously stayed at Seashells Serviced Apartments & loving the location across the street from the beach.We thought why not try them again especially since its summer & we have a week’s stay in Perth due to business.

Check-in. – We arrived late after 6pm & were given instructions via SMS on how to obtain our keys which all worked easily without any hiccups. We parked our car underneath the building in a secure car park.

Apartment – Our apartment 204 was located in the main building.We had previously stayed in the Sandcastle building & had not yet experienced this main complex.

The apartment had awesome views overlooking the beach & was extremely spacious with two bedrooms, white plantation shutters, roomy combined lounge & dining room which lead out to a good size balcony with table & chairs.

The kitchen was again spacious but was a little outdated which was in need of a makeover however it did have the absolute essentials needed for self catering.

Seashells serviced apartments are fabulous if just wanting to relax with a touch of homely atmosphere.

There is a Coles Supermarket a few minutes away & the bottle shop across the road. Plus you have the added bonus of having a few cafes & restaurants close by along the esplanade.

Overall – We thoroughly enjoyed our stay & although not a 5* establishment the Seashell serviced apartments represent excellent value, good clean accommodation in an outstanding location.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ellemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (380)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

340 - 346 of 380 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2011

Our room A204 was very clean with all modern facilities.The decor was very beachy with French Shutters and magnificent absolute views of the Indian Ocean.Scarborough beach is truly world class, sporting pristine water, silky powdery sand and consistent beach weather!The Coles Supermarket nearby was a godsend.The only negative I could find is the lack of variety of restaurants.Although we had a delicious meal at the Thai restaurant.We were going to have a buffet dinner at Rendevous Hotel but noticed cobwebs on the windows that had not been cleaned for several years.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Piaric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2011

This hotel is actually three buildings sharing the same reception office. We stayed at the northernmost building, right next to the Coles store. There is also a bottle shop, a bakery and several small restaurants next door.

The good: quiet location, very convenient for basic grocery shopping – you can take the shopping cart right into your unit. Large rooms, good aircon, plenty of parking, high speed internet (bring your Ethernet cable), nice ocean views, very clean and well equipped.

The bad: no ocean view from the first floor. The parking lot is between the hotel and the beach. The swimming pools are tiny and claustrophobic. The beach is not as pretty as Cottesloe.

The surf: forget it. Load your board on the car and drive up to Trigg (about two minutes) or carry your board north on the beach to Trigg (about a 15 minutes brisk walk). If you want to surf right in front of the unit you will be rewarded with uninspiring ankle snappers – not that the surf at Trigg point is that great, but it is better. Locals say that the surf just in front of the hotel can be really good. I’ll believe it when I see it. There’s a small surf shop right across from Coles.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FresnoSurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2011

We stayed in room A101. It had a balcony over looking the sea which when it was cool enough to sit out on was fine. A small pool which was often occupied by children.The kitchen was well equiped, the beds comfortable, useful having our own phone. The staff usually helpful and friendly. may be a bit expensive for being only serviced during your stay if you are staying 7 nights or more and only day time reception but Scarborough was a nice seaside village.
The pescatore restaurant close by was our favourite, Zanders ok and had a good meal at the Thai restaurant. The pub very basic and never really found a nice place to sit and have a drink . The big tower block hotel had a bar which was ok but not always staffed and expensive.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cazhad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2011

We went for the 3 bedroom apartment (ours was located in the Sandcastles Building) although it was only 3.5*. It was 3.5* in terms of the quality of furnishings and was in need of a refurb, but it was extremely spacious with a fabulous balcony and the most amazing view. Yes there is a car park in front of the building, but somehow it pales into insignificance when looking out to the beach, particularly to admire the wonderful sunset. The apartment wasn't well stocked but was spotlessley clean and was serviced halfway through our stay. Reception staff were mixed, some average, some helpful and one extremely unhelpful. The pools are very tiny, I suppose most people use the beach, and 'what a beach'! The Sandcastles pool is in an enclosed courtyard, so not that pleasant to use. The other takes advantage of the view, but with only 3 sunbeds around the pool, it wasn't that easy to enjoy it. Scarborough is a good base to enjoy the surrounding Perth area, a trip to Cottesloe town and beach is a must. It's a beautiful area and we had a lovely time, shame the apartment was a slightly higher quality.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kate234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2010

Everything was clean and modern. Great facilities and right on the beach. A little pricey but worth it. Would come again.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skdsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2010

My husband and I are seasoned travelers and adapt to most situations with ease. It’s very unusual that we criticize anything. We recently spent 3 days at the Seashells Resort in Scarborough. Our room was A201 and it was disgusting. We made a list of deferred maintenance and stopped at 19 items. The most disturbing thing was the smell of mold located in the laundry area. The smell was so bad in the adjacent bedroom that we had to sleep in the lounge to escape it. If you have any sensitivity to mold or allergies BEWARE!
Our first impression of the building was the elevator which was dirty and remained that way for 3 days. As we walked to our room we passed trash bins (the kind used for trash collection) in the hallway. The bins needed to be cleaned as they were stained with rubbish that had been discarded. That remained for 3 days as well. We saw this every time we entered and left our room.
The air conditioning was adequate to cool the lounge but didn’t cool the bedrooms. No staff was available after 5 PM to provide us with fans and we were later told they had none. Our room was so bad that we requested to be moved and we were moved to A 301 which was an improvement inside.
Although we had requested a 2 bedroom apartment it was inadequate for 4 adults. The second bedroom had twin beds and a tiny nightstand. There wasn’t enough room to put our luggage which we had to keep on the floor in the lounge/dining area. We had 5 hangers in the closet and only 2 wash cloths for 4 people. The towels were hard. The spa tub was very small and had 2 jets. I am 5’7” and the tub was too small for me. The shower head was low and I had to bend down to wash my hair.
Before you consider Seashells in Scarborough take heed. There are other apartments and hotels in the area that are in better condition for the same money.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3,522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
Scarborough
Ramada Vetroblu Scarborough Beach
Sunmoon Boutique Resort
#4 of 6 in Scarborough
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Beach Lagoon
#3 of 6 in Scarborough
83 reviews
Indian Ocean Hotel
#2 of 6 in Scarborough
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seashells Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seashells Scarborough

Address: 178 The Esplanade, Scarborough, Stirling, Western Australia 6019, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Stirling > Scarborough
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Scarborough
Price Range: $132 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Seashells Scarborough 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seashells Scarborough is located on Western Australia’s Sunset Coast, only a short 15 minute drive from Perth city centre, Fremantle, Hillary’s Harbour and Challenge Stadium. Directly overlooking Scarborough Beach, each Seashells apartment enjoys stunning ocean views from individual and spacious balconies. Whether you’re watching yachts sail by, or simply enjoying the surf and beach – it’s the ultimate place to relax as the sun slowly sets over the Indian Ocean. A short stroll away there are plenty of shops to explore, beachfront cafes, restaurants and lively bars. Our apartments have been renovated in 2011 to create even more unspoilt beach views and up market furnishings, fixtures and fittings. Seashells Scarborough is the national winner of the 2003/04 Australian Tourism Awards, in the category Deluxe Accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Seashells Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seashells Scarborough Hotel Scarborough
Seashells Serviced Apartments Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing