We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very dissappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very dissappointing”
Reviewed November 15, 2009

I took my wife for a weekend away to Observation city and was very dissappointed in the decor and cost for what is supposed to be a 4 star hotel. The decor was very dated and looks like it was fitted out in the early 80's. The service was ok. The beach area of Scarborough was really lovely and have since moved to the area.
the hotel outside was only half painted and now 3 years later I live down the road and still has not been finished.........ITS STILL HALF PAINTED!!!....i will have to attach a pic

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Perthgaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,099
    1,431
    662
    268
    188
See reviews for
592
1,740
203
748
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2009

We stayed at Observation city for 3 nights in early August. While the hotel is very 1980's and the facilities are consequently showing their age, it is immaculately maintained and spotlessly clean. Every room has a view of the fabulous Scarborough beach with a balcony and outdoor furniture to make the most of it.

Service from the staff was very good from the time we arrived until, and after, we left. I accidently left a bag in the room when we left, and received a phone call within an hour to ask did we want it sent to the airport or would we pick it up later. I picked it up 4 days later and the staff on duty were aware I was to be there on that day at approximately that time and had the bag waiting for me, even though we were not staying there again.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank 3146bj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2009

From the moment we checked, it was an absolute disaster. We had a few rooms. No help with bags, took the trolley up to our own room. check in was at 2 could not get keys for 1 room until 3.15 and event started at 3.30. Requested a vase for our room for a bouquet to keep fresh which they didnt bother sending up or advising us otherwise. No friendly faces or smiles at reception. Restaurant manager told us a couple times that we had far too many people for breakfast for the number of rooms we had and did head count on a few occasions, which was not the case. A friend found sand in her bed. Kept bond for 3 days after stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eli71_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2009

We thought the Rendezvous was great and a good deal, but we did stay in the winter.
Breakfast buffet included, very courteous staff, and a great view.

Great location for the beach and would love to return in warmer weather. Since we were there in the winter, really can't review the pool or beach activities. Zanders is across the street and has good food. We'd stay again for sure.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baroda
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2009

On the return journey from Australia, I stayed at Clarion Rendezvous in Perth.

As usual, Australia and Western Australia is vast, wide spread, this hotel is approx 1 hour away from Perth airport. Taxi will cost about A$ 70+ depending on which time of the day you approach.

Location is too good, excellent beach and nice view from the hotel rooms.

Rooms are carpeted, well equipped and has all the facilities which a business traveler / tourist would want.

It has 3 restaurants and also nearby there are little more options for the food.

I like hotel and I enjoyed stay at this hotel. It costs around A$ 200 per night.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Naimish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertLondon
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2009

Stayed for 4 pre-booked nights. The hotel is very 70's and is now very tired and needs an overhaul in the rooms. Also the same for the pool area. Was charged $224 per night. There is a reasonable restaurant ( Zanders ) nearby but nothing else. There is a weatherspoon style pub on the ground floor. The plastic balcony chairs are wired to the floor. Good views of Scarborough beach which is fabulous. Not a venue to smooch your wife or partner if you are looking for something a little special despite the 3-4 star rating. Nice coastal cycle path.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2009

I stay here for business and know this hotel has been used by airlines for decades as a place to put their crew on overnights, which is a pretty good indication of quality but Qantas still put their cabin crew there, poor souls. I think in it's day this would have been a wonderful hotel but it's day is done. The alarm bells ring when "Rendezvous" is part of the name, thats very 1980's. It sounds like some cheap motel, and I must say that is pretty much what this hotel is. The reception area is frightful, I know it's Perth but flying back 3 time zones surely doesn't equate to 3 decades?? In my stays here over the years it's succumbed to it's time. Ok the good things, the beach and view is fabulous, on a great sunny day there is nothing better than looking over the Indian Ocean, walking on the fine white sand at your doorstep. Thats it, the rest is pretty disappointing. The entrance (your first impression) is drab and tired, very spacious but old. Front staff are generally hit and miss, very unkempt uniforms and very unreliable. I know this is not their fault, they are dealing with many complaints and bad management. Concierge is fantastic, he will go out of his way to assist you any way possible, I think he has been there as long as I have been staying there. When the elevator opens up to your floor you know you shouldn't expect much. The carpet is vile and there is a vivid remeberance of that cheap motel from your past. Rooms are quite spacious and there has been an attempt to modernise them. First thing is to open the balcony door to the balcony. Nice to know they trust us here, everything is tied down and a warning that if we throw anything off the balcony we are liable for any injury caused. What?? This is a HOTEL not a HOSTEL, and what do you suggest I would throw? I move inside and find the remote, funnily enough as another poster said, strapped with tape. Try to get tv, no chance. Call maintenance, they are there within 15 minutes, problem solved. Don't they have room supervisors who check the housekeeping? Obviously not. My view is this was once a good hotel, no longer. They haven't kept up to date as most rooms don't have internet access (some do), it's obvious the owners don't care about the future of this hotel, the rooms are very sparse with scratched, outdated furniture, basic televisions, and offer facilities such as bar that your deceased Grandmother may feel comfortable in. The bathrooms are hit and miss. They are large '80's style, enough room to spread around and the water pressure is fantastic. Cheap and nasty supplies. Rooms are extremely noisy from the traffic on the hi-way, all night there are trucks going past.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andyoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
Sunmoon Boutique Resort
#4 of 6 in Scarborough
295 reviews
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
#11 of 64 in Perth
1,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indian Ocean Hotel
#3 of 6 in Scarborough
203 reviews
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#12 of 64 in Perth
1,168 reviews
Perth CBD
Travelodge Hotel Perth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough

Property: Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough
Address: The Esplanade, Scarborough, Stirling, Western Australia 6019, Australia (Formerly Rendezvous Observation City Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Stirling > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough 4.5*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough is the essential beachside destination overlooking the sparkling blue Indian Ocean and beautiful Scarborough Beach with fully renovated guest rooms and suites. Only 30 minutes from the airport and 15 minutes from Perth's central business district, you have the beach at your doorstep and easy access to the area's main attractions. Enjoy one of the 336 luxuriously renovated rooms and suites featuring smart design and modern technology. Our first-rate facilities include wining and dining options in the hotel's restaurant and bar, plus quality leisure facilities including a lagoon-style pool, fully equipped gymnasium and Vanilla face+body spa. If you are planning an event, Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough provides tailor-made packages for up to 680 guests in facilities including 26 event spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rendezvous Observation City Scarborough
Hotel Rendezvous Observation City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing