We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was ok....but they misled us”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2006

We found the observation City hotel to be fine. The problem was that we went there to look at a room at the beginning of our trip to Perth when we were staying elsewhere. We were shown room 1717 which had a lovely view of the sea and the pool.

We booked a spa room, but ended up changing on arrival, as it overlooked the petrol station, the curtains were dirty, and the spa bath wasn't very new looking, so I wouldn't have went in it. It was a bit grimy looking.

We got an ok price, so not that bad. Just a shame that we were misled by being shown a huge room with a great balcony, and we didn't get anything like that!

Furniture and general standards were good, pretty much normal 4*. The surrounding area was too quiet for us. The beach was nice (but poor by Perth standards) and it was bustling with young people during the day. There weren't enough shops for my liking, and not enough restaurants. Bit of a shame about that. There's a pub downstairs in the hotel (an English style one), so best to ask for a North facing room so that you're not above the pub!

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lesley1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,166)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4,098 - 4,104 of 4,167 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Arosa, Switzerland
12
Reviewed February 4, 2006

Arrival by car very unpleasant. Driveway crammed and jammed. No-one to take care of your bags. The American Suite at 990.00 AUS, grimy, spots on carpets and furniture.Furniture cheap, badly appointed, not even bathrobes or slippers as one might expect at this price. The parking in the lower level smelled urine.
Breakfast-room looks like a canteen. General impression - outdated in style, atmosphere like in a railway-station.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
portsmouth england
214
Reviewed September 4, 2005

i cant believe the reviews i've just read. we were meant to stay at seashells down the road from the rendezvous but left in discust at the state of them, they were more like 2 star budget accomadation we were horrified. the rendezvous came to our rescue and we had lovely rooms the hotel staff were really friendly and it was like being pampered for 9 days. breakfast was unbelievable we couldn't believe our eyes at so much lovely food.the pool was like a warm bath and every one was just so friendly .it was great the kids could wander about and feel totally safe,the staff even knew them by name. cant write enough good things about this hotel hopefully one day i'll get to go back.

  • Stayed: December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2005

Room was dirty and furniture was broken, horrible customer service, air con didn't work properly, and WAY TO EXPENSIVE.

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chelsea123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Middlesbrough, England
16
Reviewed May 23, 2005

we stayed at the Rebdezvous for 6 nights at the end of a 5 week gruelling schedule around Oz and wanted somewhere to end our holiday chilling out. The hotel is advertised as 5 stars, but we had stayed in some fantastic hotels around Oz and there was no way this was 5 stars. The good points - room was o.k. with a fab view ( t.v. did not have any sports channels) Al la carte restaurant was pretty decent and we were quite impressed. Piano bar not bad good range of cocktails, nice atmosphere. Pool - small cramped and no where near enough sunbeds but the worst part of all was the 'english' pub - this was horrible. the pub is frequented by the local youth and the atmosphere is quite threatening. It is loud and dirty and not a pleasant experince at all. The hotel itself looked past its best and you walked out onto a shopping mall that was all closed down. All in all a disappointment!!

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2005

Look i will be real honest with this hotel - its a real tricky one.

It's in a beautiful location being on the beach and it has always been such a high star hotel however it is getting on and is in need of a real vamp - mainly just the rooms!

The pool area is fantastic - tropical - kids would love.

The restaurants also a credit and breakfast is very nice.

What i love about this hotel is obviously the location and the views plus the balcony to enjoy them- it really is beautiful! Each time i have stayed here the rooms have always been very clean.

In Perth - this hotel is one of a few that are located on the beach.

The last time we stayed was in jan 05 on a fri night. One thing we noticed was the noise at night! the windows are not sound proofed and you can hear the cars and there hooning around late at night, which seems quite silly considering that we were over 10 floors up? This did wake me up a few times during the night.

If you want to have fun espicially at night this hotel is great for you. The place comes alive at night and not too mention the beach during the day.

There are plenty of choices of food places in walking distance around the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank leanne_pearc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Melbourne,Australia
12
Reviewed April 20, 2005

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon, We loved every minute that we stayed friendly staff, fantastic view, rooms were cosy and the atmoshere of the hotel was fantastic. I would highly recommend this hotel too anyone. We plan on going back again. Well done to all the staff and thankyou for a fantastic stay. Mrs & Mr Bognar.

  • Stayed: June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
Scarborough
Ramada Vetroblu Scarborough Beach
Sunmoon Boutique Resort
#4 of 6 in Scarborough
312 reviews
Indian Ocean Hotel
#2 of 6 in Scarborough
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean View Motel
#1 of 1 in North Beach
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough

Address: The Esplanade, Scarborough, Stirling, Western Australia 6019, Australia (Formerly Rendezvous Observation City Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Stirling > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range: $131 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough 4.5*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough is the essential beachside destination overlooking the sparkling blue Indian Ocean and beautiful Scarborough Beach with fully renovated guest rooms and suites. Only 30 minutes from the airport and 15 minutes from Perth's central business district, you have the beach at your doorstep and easy access to the area's main attractions. Enjoy one of the 336 luxuriously renovated rooms and suites featuring smart design and modern technology. Our first-rate facilities include wining and dining options in the hotel's restaurant and bar, plus quality leisure facilities including a lagoon-style pool, fully equipped gymnasium and Vanilla face+body spa. If you are planning an event, Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough provides tailor-made packages for up to 680 guests in facilities including 26 event spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Toga Hotels, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rendezvous Observation City Scarborough
Hotel Rendezvous Observation City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing