We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just short of the mark”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We were given a very nice room with great views. This rating could have beeen five, however because we booked one night and then later booked an extra night, our room was almost not serviced and our key card wouldn't work the second day as we were only staying for one night! All easily rectified, just takes the shine off. I also don't know why staff needed to check the mini bar at 3 pm. each day either. Just a short rap on door and in. Never had that happen before.
As stated, just short of the mark.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sueandjim78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin P, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear sueandjim78,

I am so glad to hear that your stay with us was a positive experience and that you appreciated the newly refurbished rooms and views. I apologize that a simple request such as staying an extra night caused such an issue; and I will take this up with the team. I will also take up your comment about the way the team went about checking the mini-bar as they certainly should have waited between knocking on the door and entering the room. I apologize for this slip up in service and we shall endeavor to make this process smoother.

Again, thank you for your kind words and we hope to have you with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,854)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,278 - 3,284 of 3,854 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2013

My wife and I just a couple week ago had a overnight stay with breakfast.We were not impress with the room as the room that we received was for disable,and we don't really understand the reason except that maybe they so a young couple and they choose to give us a cheep room of their list. ,As was already later afternoon we did'not want go downstairs again and explain cos we already had not much time to go the the pool but especially the spa we were looking for,unfortunately didn't work so we just decide to have dinner at some local restaurant ABSOLUTELY STAY AWAY FROM THE THAI ONE.Over all we will not go back in this condition.The breakfast was good and rich may i will go only for breakfast.Hope this will help you to choose a better place cheers

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Venturo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin P, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear JesusLovesYou2013,

Thank you for your feedback, and our apologies that the room was not to your satisfaction. As with most hotels a percentage of our rooms are designed for our accessible guests which does mean that when the Hotel is fully booked these rooms are sometimes allocated to other customers. The main difference is these rooms offer facilities that are able to accommodate guests with a range of disabilities.

An abundance of dining options will be made available to the public in the very near future with the opening of The Esplanade precinct, which shall add tremendously to the choices our guests have. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast, and for your future reference, Straits Cafe is open for dinner and lunch, as well there being all day dining options for all in-house guests, and tapas at the Lobby Bar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Large rooms with fantastic views. Told that hotel had finished major refurbishment but really only rooms and lobby complete.
The car park was a nightmare with confusing or non-existent signage. Rusty water leaked on our car and we were lucky it didn't damage the paintwork!
The pool itself was lovely but the surrounding pergola and gardens need significant work. The pergola timbers were rotten & most of the plants were dead or dying.
Asked staff when the pool would be upgraded and was told it will be some time as the refurb ahead run over budget
We had a 3- night deal so overall it was reasonable value for money. Would stay there again if the rate was reasonable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juutan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin P, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear Juutan,
Thank you for your feedback. The Hotel has in fact undergone a total refurbishment of rooms, the bar, the restaurant, the Club Lounge, the Lobby and the 25 meeting spaces we now offer. I am delighted to hear that you appreciated your room and the views we offer.

In regards to the issues you have raised about the parking lot and the swimming pool, we are that these areas are not yet the same level as the rest of the Hotel and we are working on a plan to bring them up to this standard. I apologize for any inconvenience that this caused you during your stay with us, and we hope to greatly improve these areas before your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

This was our first trip to Perth and so glad we chose to stay at this hotel. The staff were very welcoming and hospitality during our 7 night stay was very satisfactory. Very comfy room on the 20th floor overlooking the pool and ocean. The buffett breakfast was a perfect start to the day with a great selection to choose from. The location of the hotel was great and easy access to the freeways to get around.
I don't know why some of the past reviews have been so negative. We will definitely stay here again in the future. No complaints :) Carol

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarolGatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Very comfortable hotel, great lobby lounge, great breakfast. Beach only 1 minute walk away. Will be back! Restuarants are near by but not a massive variety, make sure you grab a cab to City Beach to Clancys Fish & Chips, most amazing view of the sunset!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zeina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin P, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Dear Zeina N,

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are so happy to hear that your stay with us met your expectations and that you appreciated our unique location. We hope that your all round positive experience will see you staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I recently visited this hotel on a business trip and decided to take the family. This hotel is excellent value for money, it is relatively cheap compared to the quality of hotel you get. There is some minor outdated furnishing, but other than that the hotel has loads of dining options, a great bar, and obviously great location on the beach. The hotel and rooms are clean, and well presented. The pool area on the 10th floor was a hit with the kids. I would recommend having a reant-a-car if you want to get around to other parts of the city when staying at this hotel due to accessibility and some dodgy transport planning in and around the city.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daz_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin P, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Dear Daz_8,

I am so glad to hear that you found the Hotel to your liking and that our service and value for money exceeded your expectations. We are delighted to know that our facilities were enjoyed by your family and that the overall presentation is pleasing to our guests.

We hope that your positive experience with us encourages a return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Been going to this hotel for 24 years as we got married there First of all arrived at the 4.5 star hotel no one to take bags from car there where international guests in front of us no help took our own bags to our room

Then we where meant to get ocean view room but didn't breakfast was meant to be booked in but it wasn't

Meant to be 4.5 star serve coffee in paper cups

Restaurant in the complex been there 3 times windows have not be cleaned

Then next we go to the pool not heated spa not working

In our room cupboard not working my husband had to fix it

Air conditioning not working

The only thing that was good in downstairs bar very nice barmaid that served us

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Gaye47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin P, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Dear gaye47,

I am deeply disappointed to hear that one of our loyal and valued guests has had such a troubled stay with us. I apologise that more care was not taken in providing you with the standard of service we strive to offer our guests.

If you could please contact me directly on j.philip@rendezvoushotels.com so that we can resolve the specific issues you have identified.

I would also like to thank you for your kind words about our team members; I shall ensure they are passed on.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
Sunmoon Boutique Resort
#4 of 6 in Scarborough
300 reviews
Indian Ocean Hotel
#2 of 6 in Scarborough
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
#13 of 66 in Perth
1,608 reviews
Perth CBD
Travelodge Hotel Perth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough

Address: The Esplanade, Scarborough, Stirling, Western Australia 6019, Australia (Formerly Rendezvous Observation City Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Stirling > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range: $115 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough 4.5*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough is the essential beachside destination overlooking the sparkling blue Indian Ocean and beautiful Scarborough Beach with fully renovated guest rooms and suites. Only 30 minutes from the airport and 15 minutes from Perth's central business district, you have the beach at your doorstep and easy access to the area's main attractions. Enjoy one of the 336 luxuriously renovated rooms and suites featuring smart design and modern technology. Our first-rate facilities include wining and dining options in the hotel's restaurant and bar, plus quality leisure facilities including a lagoon-style pool, fully equipped gymnasium and Vanilla face+body spa. If you are planning an event, Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough provides tailor-made packages for up to 680 guests in facilities including 26 event spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rendezvous Observation City Scarborough
Hotel Rendezvous Observation City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing