We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't do it!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Scarborough
2 reviews
“Don't do it!!!!”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed here as a present from our friends and received the worst service ever (and we've stayed at a lot of places around the world).
We first got checked into a room that someone else was already in (awkward) then into a room that had 2 single beds not a king bed. After a few hours of phone calls to reception and waiting we went for dinner, then back up to our room to find the bed still as singles.

We were eventually changed into another room at 9.30pm that was at the back of the hotel with a view of coles supermarket (yay!).

The only good part was the food and drinks at the restaurant that was supposed to be discounted but wasn't.

We would never stay here ever again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickandbrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin P, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear nickandbrie,

Please accept our apologies for what was clearly a less than acceptable experience during your stay with us.

I am extremely disappointed that our arrival processes broke down to this degree and caused such inconvenience. If you could contact me directly on j.philip@rendezvoushotels.com I would be happy to go through this with you in more detail.

Kind Regards
Justin Philip
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,035
    1,361
    639
    258
    183
See reviews for
555
1,664
193
708
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (502)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Queue for the lift from basement to lobby, q for the lift from lobby to room.

An indifferent restaraunt where frozen Atlantic salmon is grilled but still raw and raised eyebrows from the staff when asked why...that also took 40 minutes to arrive.

Indifferent staff at the front desk to boot..and they like to charge top $

Room Tip: Look around, Perth is OK but many hotel charge more than inetrnational prices for a less than local...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baggywrinkle75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin P, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Baggywrinkle75,

Thank you very much for your invaluable feedback; I am disappointed to hear that your stay was below what we expect of our guest service. I apologize for the wait that you endured, we are endeavouring to improve our efficiency during busy times with staff training and with better understanding of peak hours at the Hotel.

All of your comments shall be passed on to the relevant departments and we shall ensure that these issues do no arise again.

Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Beautiful room will balcony overlooking the ocean. Our room wasn't the best in terms of soundproofing - we could hear our neighbours opening and closing their doors but thankfully they weren't in and out too late/early. Breakfast was nice and I loved the freshly squeezed juices in glass bottles as well as the iced coffee. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nozndaneo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Didn't stay here only met up with friends who were staying there. After a week spent in Europe and England trying many hotel room breakfasts I baulked at the price of this buffet $29?! A third of the items were empty, the staff were miserable and not very helpful. The food was average and definitely not worth the price, no decent coffee maker, just a push button machine, which I find unacceptable in a city that provides good coffee. Would not recommend it, there was a Dome cafe in the lobby, I wish we had gone there at least you know what you get and it's a lot cheaper.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Madelyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin P, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Maddysmithnz,

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on your experience with us at Straits Cafe, I am disappointed to hear that it was not up to the standard we strive to provide for our guests. Our staff shall be informed of these issues and we shall endeavour to improve our service. Our full buffet breakfast offers an extensive amount of options, and our Lobby Bar, just across from the Restaurant, provides barrister coffee; should you dine with us again, our staff are more than happy to provide this for you on request.

Thank you again for your valued feedback.

Kind Regards
Justin Philip
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

was so looking forward to our stay having booked on line and lead to believe would be staying in a room over looking the ocean but instead got a room next door to the laundry mat and the pool which meant people in and out at all times asked about a change of room but not interested and meet a honeymoon couple who had plenty of complaints with the service - also when checking in there was a line of at least 15 people but only two on the desk so the wait was long - would be looking elsewhere to stay if ever I was in Perth again.

Room Tip: try and book in later in the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Judi43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin P, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Judi43,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and experience. The management team and I were disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay.

Please accept our apologies for the delay in check-in time and the inconvenience experienced. We are addressing these issues with our front office team.

From your description it like you stayed in one of our Superior Rooms on the Pool level. Please note that ocean and coastal views are not guaranteed for these rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I ended up getting this stay on a Wotif Mystery deal and could not have been happier. The location is second to none right across the path from the Ocean. Great for early morning walks. Looks like the renovations are nearly complete and the standard of rooms was very impressive. Definitely recommend to stay there when visiting Perth.

Room Tip: I guess you could ask for a direct Ocean View, I think they all have a balcony as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank REM999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin P, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear REM999

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and our newly refurbished rooms and facilities.

We hope that we can welcome you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Was not overly impressed with our visit this weekend. The food is no where near anything to rave about, in fact, subway did a better job. It was flavorless and lacked life.
The elevators were iffy, and we weren't given much info about the place when we arrived. If we wanted to know some thing we had to pry it out of them.
There is hardly anything around the hotel to do and go too besides the beach, and they could've made the club lounge look and feel nicer than just relying on the view of the ocean.

I for one was glad to get out of there, i wouldn't go back if you paid me. Oh, and the fact that you HAVE TO HAVE a credit card is complete bull twaddle!!! What a disappointment! Will never return.

Room Tip: Try to get ones facing the ocean... as all you will see is rubbish
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin P, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Tracey R,

Thank you for your feedback. We are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us here at Rendezvous, as our aim, always, is to surpass guest expectations.

In regards to needing a credit card, this is not in fact the case. We do require either a debit card or a credit card for pre-authorization, which is standard in nearly all hotels. I apologize for the miscommunication that gave you this impression.

In each room a compendium is provided to assist guests with ideas of places to go to and things to do within the area; Hillary's Boat Harbor and Karrinyup shopping center are very near to the Hotel, and our staff are quite well versed in this information too. I apologize that this was not relayed to you as you felt it should be.

All of the issues that you have raised shall be discussed with the necessary department so that the same experiences do not arise again. Thank you for your time in letting us know of your experiences and we hope to improve in the future.

Kind Regards
Justin Philip
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
Sunmoon Boutique Resort
#4 of 6 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Travelodge Hotel Perth
Indian Ocean Hotel
#3 of 6 in Scarborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough

Property: Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough
Address: The Esplanade, Scarborough, Stirling, Western Australia 6019, Australia (Formerly Rendezvous Observation City Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Stirling > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough 4.5*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough is the essential beachside destination overlooking the sparkling blue Indian Ocean and beautiful Scarborough Beach with fully renovated guest rooms and suites. Only 30 minutes from the airport and 15 minutes from Perth's central business district, you have the beach at your doorstep and easy access to the area's main attractions. Enjoy one of the 336 luxuriously renovated rooms and suites featuring smart design and modern technology. Our first-rate facilities include wining and dining options in the hotel's restaurant and bar, plus quality leisure facilities including a lagoon-style pool, fully equipped gymnasium and Vanilla face+body spa. If you are planning an event, Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough provides tailor-made packages for up to 680 guests in facilities including 26 event spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Toga Hotels, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rendezvous Observation City Scarborough
Hotel Rendezvous Observation City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing